We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Family vacation 2013” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Piccola Fontana

La Piccola Fontana
6063 Isla Verda Avenue | in Wyndham El San Juan Hotel, Carolina, Puerto Rico
787-791-0966
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 116 Restaurants in Carolina
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My Family vacation 2013”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

thought it was way overpriced for the quality of food. Not very flavorful. I guess coming from NYC where we have great italian food this just didn't cut it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    31
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
912 reviews 912 reviews
598 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 211 cities Reviews in 211 cities
303 helpful votes 303 helpful votes
“Good food, very overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had dinner here the first night we arrived due to not really being interested in going out of the hotel for dinner. Service was very good at the start, having 3 people wait on the table, but slowly as it filled up the servers became vacant. We had 2 starters and 2 mains, for $197, which is absurded for pasta. The food was good, cooked well, but not worth the expense at all.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesville, Louisiana
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Elegant Italian restaurant, very authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I was quite surprised....I am italian and have lived in Italy...and miss true italian cooking..which means the portions are not huge and full of sauce...
The tuna was excellent, delicately spiced, perfectly cooked. The pastas , al dente...my goodness, the chef is so intuitive! I loved this beautiful restaurant, the serving staff, the wine list, the atmosphere! I was so happy ....the dinner was well done and I do hope you also enjoy dinner at Piccola Fontana.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food .......... issues with bill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We visited this restaurant as a group of 8 people 4 couples.

Overall our experience was great everyone at out table absolutely loved the food. I had the $35 fixed menu the soup, filet mignon and creme brule and they were all to die for.

One thing to note there are advertisements for various specials outside the restaurant you have to ask specifically to get these menus, if you don't know about them the staff will not mention this or provide the other menu. We had to ask for the $35 fixed meal menu and when we asked about the pastas that start at $15 as advertised outside the waiter did not know anything about it. In the end there were no pastas starting at $15 on the menu and we were told by the waiter it was probably a basic spaghetti dish.

As well the other issue we had was when it came to the bill, we had so much difficulty that we had to finally ask for a manager to deal with the situation. We asked to have 4 separate bills but were told we could only do 2 per table. No problem we told them which couples would be on which bill we were told they can't do that they could only split the bill exactly 50% on each as the waiters didn't know what drinks and what meals each person had. Even after we told them we could tell them what each person had it was still an issue. In the end we had to call a manager as it was just a bit ridiculous that they told us they could split the bill into 2 but didn't know what each person ordered.

Another issue with the bill were also charged for 2 items which we were told were complimentary the soda water and bruschetta. When we started dinner we were told there was no cost to soda water and the bruschetta we didn't even order it but it was brought over compliments of the chef. We ended up paying for both as there was just so much difficulty with the bill it wasn't worth the hassle.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We visit here for an anniversary dinner with friends. There is nothing negative we can say, everything was excellent. The cuisine quality and wine selection was tremendous, the service was impeccable and the romantic atmosphere all made the evening extremely gratifying. Located in the El San Juan hotel also helps, as this is a vibrant and elegant location. We plan to visit again soon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Piccola Fontana also viewed

Isla Verde, Carolina
Carolina, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to La Piccola Fontana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Piccola Fontana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.