We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Piccola Fontana

La Piccola Fontana
6063 Isla Verda Avenue | in Wyndham El San Juan Hotel, Carolina, Puerto Rico
787-791-0966
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 116 Restaurants in Carolina
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
NJ
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Ok, this may be the most overrated Italian restaurant in all of San Juan. The prices here are simply ridiculous!! $39.00 for Eggplant Parmesan. Completely overpriced. The food here is just average. The service is very good as is the atmosphere but that certainly does not make up for costly menu. If you don't mind spending your money for a good meal, at least get your money's worth and walk down to the Ritz. The Italian restaurant in there is well worth your money and the walk.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    31
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Such great food we had to dine there twice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband and I loved this place. We had the cheese and meat plate, carpaccio, and split the gnocci. Amazing. So good. The next night, we came back to get creme brulee and cheese for dessert. I would recommend this restaurant to everyone.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Valentines Day Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

On a recent trip to San Juan, we were searching Trip Advisor for a nice place to have a special dinner for Valentines Day. Due to the reviews and proximity to where we were staying, we decided on this restaurant located in the El San Juan Resort and Casino. It was perfect. We did consider changing our plans during the week before due to the price but in the end we agreed, it was the right choice. The ambiance, service and most especially the food was fantastic. We thoroughly enjoyed the evening!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN JUAN, PR
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Food!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

By all means make sure you reserve and that you arte on time. Food is amazing, try tho Potato Gnochi with Ossobuco Ragout. The service is great, not cheap but well worth it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Good service, average food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We were tired after a long day of travel so decided to eat in the hotel and gave this a try. The host was wonderful, friendly and welcoming. The prices are steep and my gnocchi was so full of garlic I was still tasting it the next morning. I think others in our group were happier with their food. The service was good and attentive but overall disappointed with the quality of the food for the price. Might try again on a future visit before making a final decision.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Piccola Fontana also viewed

Carolina, Puerto Rico
Isla Verde, Carolina
 

Been to La Piccola Fontana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Piccola Fontana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.