We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best places on isla verde” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Armando's

Armando's
76 Condado Ave. | San Juan, Puerto Rico, Carolina 00907, Puerto Rico
7879985848
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 106 restaurants in Carolina
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: http://bing.com/maps/default.aspx?v=2&pc=FACEBK&mid=8100&where1=4070+Ave.+Isla+Verde%2C+00979+Carolina%2C+Puerto+Rico&FORM=FBKPL0&name=ArmandoS+Mexican+Cuisine&mkt=en-US
Restaurant details
Description: http://bing.com/maps/default.aspx?v=2&pc=FACEBK&mid=8100&where1=4070+Ave.+Isla+Verde%2C+00979+Carolina%2C+Puerto+Rico&FORM=FBKPL0&name=ArmandoS+Mexican+Cuisine&mkt=en-US
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One of the best places on isla verde”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

During our stay we tried a lot of places - and this one was one of best ones - all food was very tasty!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    5
    6
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Low quality mexican food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Nothing real about this mexican rest , not even the margaritas wich i love were good . Got to work a lot service poor too and the owners was there .

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Great Family Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

i had an excellent experience here. they treated us like home and the food was delicious!!!
we got there at closing time but regardless we were treated with excellent care and the food was delicious, i would personally recommend this restaurant to anybody

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Get the tacos pastor!!!!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

Awesome food and strong margaritas!!!!! And inexpensive. Just go there trust me

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Solid tex-mex option in Carolina.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

A group of 25 of us came here. I told them in advance we were coming, and they set up a nice big table for us. We knew the food was going to take a while, but it was extremely slow. The dinner took us 3.5 hours to finish. Apparently they ran out of propane, so people who ordered chicken dishes got their food after others were already completely done eating. Fortunately they comped a few of the dishes.

The food was solid. I tried chicken sopas for the first time and they were excellent. Those who ordered enchiladas also liked them. If you like spicy food, ask for the fresh jalapenos, which are killer.

Food prices are on the high end for Mexican- entrees start at around $14. They also have live music playing, which can get quite loud.

Overall, this is a solid choice if you are looking for Mexican food in San Juan.

One note- the Google Maps location is wrong. It told us the restaurant was within 3 blocks of the Ritz Carlton, but we ended up walking one mile to get there.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Armando's also viewed

 
Carolina, Puerto Rico
Carolina, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Armando's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Armando's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.