We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great PR burrito!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lupi's Mexican Grill & Sports Cantina

Lupi's Mexican Grill & Sports Cantina
6369 Ave Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
+1 787-253-2198
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 116 Restaurants in Carolina
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Latin, Mexican, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Located next to the San Juan Hotel and Casino, Lupi's offers the best mexican food on town combined with all kinds of sports. We offer every sport event available, plus daily happy hours.
Nashville, TN
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great PR burrito!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

The drinks were okay, and expensive. Salsa was very good--bit sweet. Chips excellent. I had burrito, but real standout was wife's PR burrito. It was a burrito wrapped in plantains! Wonderful!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    67
    48
    34
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Mojitos and Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This was a luck-of-draw find while we were stranded in San Juan for a couple days after missing a flight out. We spent a week on the west side of the island and searched high and low for mint to make Mojitos and couldn't find any anywhere. After we missed a flight out and were tired and hungry we happened onto this place and they had Mojito....and they were awesome. I think we may of had four or five each. The food was also pretty damn good. It was very much an American style sports bar so if you're looking for that off the beaten path place this isn't it...but the Mojitos were awesome.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Many visits”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Have been to Lupi's at least 10 times We are from Texas so we know something of TEX-MEX food .Drinks are good and good price compared to hotel.Lupi atmosphere also a big plus adult children love the place as well as us old fogies.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beware of the "Veggie" burger.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Beautifully described as a blend of fresh vegetables, this "thing" came out flat, round and white. Not a hint of a carrot or a shred of something green...pure white!! It looked less like food than a chicken mcnugget. The guacamole was watery and tasted like it came from a package that says just add water. I'd rather starve...

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“average...food...servers need training”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed in San Juan on March 16, 2013 before boarding a cruise ship. We stopped by here because it looked like a place locals go...and we wanted to get a regular meal...local people usually know where to go. Anyway...reviews are basically true. The food is only average mexican you would get in a lower end restaurant. The servers need training. The are watching out the door at who is going by..talking on their cell phones. We had to keep asking for drinks...the food was ok...we were lucky that we ordered simple things. The cost of beer was cheaper than we had paid elsewhere...so that was good. I really can't recommend this place...its has air conditioning...drinks are cheaper...but service is lousy and food is average.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lupi's Mexican Grill & Sports Cantina also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Lupi's Mexican Grill & Sports Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lupi's Mexican Grill & Sports Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.