We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cononut Sangria..I love you” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Platos Restaurant & Bar

Platos Restaurant & Bar
2 Rosa Street | Coral By The Sea Hotel, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
787-791-7474
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 106 restaurants in Carolina
Cuisines: Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Sterling, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Cononut Sangria..I love you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I stopped in here as I was walking back to my hotel. I thought I would try a drink in several of the nearby bars. It was sometime in the afternoon, people in there, but not packed. I asked if they had a speciality and the bartender recommended the coconut sangria. Although I'm not a huge wine drinker I thought I'd try it and OHMYGOD am I glad I did. It's absolutely(!!) fantastic. I was in love. I asked if it had rum in it (I didn't taste wine) but there is white wine and about 8 other liquors haha...which is the reason it is so fantasic.
I went back later that night and got another one (much more crowded on a friday night) but I got a spot at the bar. It was just as tasty as the first.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    182
    119
    55
    28
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best authentic PR good in Isla Verde”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Since the restaurants in courtyard Marriott were bad, we found ourselves here. Husband is PR & we know good PR food ..lobster mofongo amazing & alcapurrias. Little over priced.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City/ Big Apple
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Gastronomical Experience x 100!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Las Chicas de Nueve York (Alma y Jill) & Chef Julio Borges of "Platos" Puerto Rican Cuisine, an overwhelming positively delicious Gastronomical experience, in Carolina, Puerto Rico. We were visiting for 8 days and ate dinner EVERY nite at Platos and took home some Monfongo de Yuca back to NYC. We are making plans for a long weekend just to go back to PR and EAT @ Platos! If he'd only come to NYC, the wait would be months and around the block to get into his restaurant! Thank you Chef Julio, Gabrielle (Restaurant Manager) & Leonardo, the Artist de Platos!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Disappointed dinner experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Crab Fritter is extremely salty. It was over cooked, and tastes nothing but salt.
Mahimahi fish dish was also very disappointing. Fish was dry and tasteless. Overall it was not even close to a regular standards restaurant. Definitely a disappointing dinner experience.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Over cooked rice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I expected more because it's a local restaurant specializing in Puerto Rican food. The rice was over-cooked and the chicken was hard as a rock. The staff was nice and friendly. I guess I came on a bad night?!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Platos Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Isla Verde, Carolina
Isla Verde, Carolina
 

Been to Platos Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Platos Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.