We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Humacao Nature Reserve

Humacao Nature Reserve
Road #3 Km 74. 3 | Bo. Rio Abajo, Humacao 00792, Puerto Rico
787-852-6058
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 8 attractions in Humacao
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Attraction Details
Demotte, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

It is so beautiful to walk through the Reserve. We went on a day when it was empty and again when there were many people there. The trails are so spacious that you do not feel crowded. We had a great time looking for iguanas and lizards. The little lizards are everywhere. The view of the Sea for the Fort is so beautiful!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    18
    3
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowmanville, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great for birdwatching”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Great opportunities for water and shore bird watching. The trails are wide and mostly flat -so not a great place to go if you are into hiking. On the Friday morning we went, the place was empty. It's not well signed, and we ended up getting mixed up about where to park -but they had put up portable signs by mid morning to direct people (they open at 7:30a). I didn't see any english pamphlets/ information. They also rent Kayaks ($12) but only certain days and not until 9:30. They have a kayak "trail" you can follow that takes roughly an hour. You baisically go up stream about 5-10 min to a lagoon and follow the bouys around to each interpretive sign (which has spanish and english). The sun is hot by then, so a lot of the birds are off into the mangrove edges, but it was a nice change, and I could still find a variety of species.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford,Pa
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
94 attraction reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Great Wildlife Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I spent a couple of hours here during a recent trip to Puerto Rico. We walked on a trail. And saw several birds including hummingbirds. They have a lagoon where you can rent a kayak and add a bicycle ride for $20.00. The staff was very helpful to me in identifying the birds we saw. They spoke English and Spanish so spend time with them because they were very helpful. My wife and I can,t wait to bring our grandchildren back for a nature experience.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Florida
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Quiet nature”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This reserve had several trails leading to various places--lagoons, river, ocean. We saw many iquanas and birds on our walk. You can rent kayacks or bikes. Not much parking though. Free, nice walk, nice views of ocean, but no real beach.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Indiana
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Nature at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

...We stayed at Villa Palmira which is within walking distance of the Reserva Natural de Humacao (which may be called Reserva Natural de Punta Santiago). This 3000 acre natural reserve is magnificent. At one time, the land was drained using pumps so that sugar cane could be planted. A hurricane re-flooded the land which was then allowed to revert to its former self. Part of a pumping station remains and you can see it soon after entering the reserve.
...On the east side of Hwy 3 are lakes created by the flooded land. Also in this area is an observation bunker occupied by soldiers during WWII. The bunker is kept in reasonably good condition and you can climb into it. You can also see the barracks used by the soldiers although these have been allowed to be grown over. Between the lakes and near the ocean are well maintained paths allowing you to easily walk around and view the plants and wildlife of the reserve. The climb up to the bunker takes a bit more doing but is worth the view.
...There are many birds in the trees and on the lakes. You might also be surprised by an iguana either watching you or moving from tree to tree. You can also walk right up to the ocean. Since we were living right next door, we walked to this ocean area to enter the reserve.
...All of this is without charge and is available every day. There are restrooms and viewing platforms for all to use. From Wed through Sun, there are tours as well as kayak and bicycle rentals. You can kayak on the area to the west of HWY 3. To get there, you simply paddle under a bridge. I took 2 of my grandchildren with me and we kayaked up to iguanas that sometimes just stared at us and sometimes went for a swim.
...The Dept. of Natural Resources has put out signs along a prescribed route which describe various aspects of the area. You can follow these signs or go your own way around the large lake. We did that (by mistake) and found an area full of birds. After a bit, we paddled our way to the prescribed route and completed it back to the beginning point. However you do it, take the time to go kayaking. It is fun, good exercise and puts you in touch with nature. All this and you are only a few kilometers away from Humacao.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Humacao Nature Reserve also viewed

 

Been to Humacao Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Humacao Nature Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Humacao Nature Reserve to your Saves list