We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, meticulously clean, comfortable with honest, helpful and friendly hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barefoot Travelers Rooms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Humacao
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barefoot Travelers Rooms
Save
You added Barefoot Travelers Rooms to your Saves list
Humacao | Punta Santiago, Humacao 00741, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Humacao B&B and Inns
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cozy, meticulously clean, comfortable with honest, helpful and friendly hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2009

We had a lovely time at Keishya and Bob's house for two nights and days that we spent there in late November. Had a comfortable stay, as well as wonderful company.

Keishya and Bob rent out rooms in the downstairs apartment, while staying in the apartment above. We stayed in the larger room that has a private bath. The whole downstairs apartment is meticulously clean, cozy and well decorated. In fact it looks much lovelier than on some of the pictures that are posted here.

We used the kitchen to make sandwiches, coffee, and salads, and ate at the large dining room table. We felt like we were staying the entire apartment, rather than just the room, as we didn't encounter any other guests that time. (Someone stayed one night in the other room, but they left before we woke up).

The room where we stayed doesn't get much light, and that was perfect as it helped us sleep in more. That's not a room, however, where you are likely to spend much time just hanging out. The bed was comfy and Keishya tidied up the room after we left on the first day, replaced towels, etc. She also let us have towels for the pool/beach.

The bedroom's window faces the porch with a small, clean and refreshing pool, which our 4-year-old loved. She also adored the four dogs, which didn't bark very much. Though we kept the AC on at night to help block out any morning noise (wanted to sleep in a little).

Keishya gave us very detailed directions on how to get to the less touristy part of the rainforest, as well as how to get to Old San Juan for the last leg of our trip. She also told us where we could get some shopping done, which was helpful as we had a short time in between our rainforest excursion and the biobay. Having a light dinner at home was a great idea.

Keishya and Bob also shared stories about their lives both here and back home and it felt great to connect with people quickly and be able to find even old New York connections.

We went to the biobay with Bob and were so happy that we opted for going out there with him rather than joining those huge kayaking tours that we met there. We went all the way out to the middle of the biobay and spent a good time trying to scare up some fish to see them alight under water. My husband, daughter and I were in awe and it was great to be so unrushed and relaxed and move a bit away from the flocks of tour-group kayakers.

Overall, I would highly recommend staying at Barfoot Travelers Rooms. Don't spend a lot of time looking for a Web site -- Keishya is planning on creating one, but didn't get around to it yet. Also, be sure to get your directions ahead of time. We procrastinated with getting specific directions and then it turned out that the rooms are in a gated area before the main town starts, which we didn't realize right away and got lost a little, thankfully in daylight.

As for the area, the food and the beach couldn't compare to the loveliness and remoteness of Culebra where we first went (and which Keishya also recommended when we were planning the trip. She took a lot of time talking on the phone with me about our itinerary before our arrival to Barefoot.) But the area is great for other interesting excursions, as the rainforest and the biobay.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    14
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
47
119
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2009

A friend and I stayed here in mid-Dec for only one night. We met up Bob in Fajardo for a personal tour of the bioluminescent bay - this experience was easily the highlight of my Puerto Rico vacation. I am glad we didn't go with a eco-tour company because going in the biobay with a gang of kayaks wouldn't have been the same experience. Instead there were only two kayaks - Bob's and ours. It was much more of a surreal, tranquil experience kayaking in the pitch dark mangroves and in the biobay. Because we were the only 2 kayaks in the water, you can really enjoy serenity of the waters and it's glowing dinoflagellates. I highly recommend doing the biobay kayak tour with Bob rather than the Eco-tour companies. After 2 hrs of kayaking in the biobay, we drive back from Fajardo to Humacao (~35-40 min drive) and stayed at Bob's and Keisha's place. Their accommodation is very comfortable and clean - I just wish it was closer to Fajardo so we didn't have to wake up so early to catch the Ferry to Culebra Island. But all-in-all, I recommend staying with Bob and Keisha to share their love of Puerto Rico.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

We booked a room at Barefoot Travelers with high expectations based on so many excellent reviews. My wife and I were surprised at how far Keishya and Bob went over and above to make our stay enjoyable. Their guesthouse was clean and comfortable with a beautiful pool. Their tips made if very easy to explore the local area and make the most of our stay. We had a great time kayaking to Monkey Island with Keishya's help and had fun learning cribbage from Bob over beers in the evening. Making us dinner and washing a load of laundry for us was way above and beyond! It was obvious to us that they simply love being around people and would do anything reasonable to make sure their guest have the best experience possible. Our time there was worth well more than double what we paid; far more fun than a hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2009

We recently spent five days at Barefoot Travelers Rooms on our second trip to Puerto Rico. Prior to arriving at BT, we had stayed at accommodations in three other locations: a large hotel on the beach at Isle Verde, a condo in Palmas del Mar and an oceanfront apartment in Isabella. Barefoot Travelers was by far the best part of our trip. We wished we could have stayed longer.

All of the accolades on this site about the owners Keishya and Bob are absolutely true. We are former innkeepers ourselves from New England, so we had much to share. As everyone says, they are such great hosts -- energetic, gracious, kind, and informative about what to see and do. The immaculate guest quarters are very convenient for making yourself at home, and there is a patio with a refreshing pool complete with a beautiful view of the moon at night. We fell in love, too, with their four dogs which Keishya rescued from the streets -- Panda, Sammy, Honey, and Opal.

There is much that sets Barefoot Traveler apart from other accommodations. For one, their winning combination of great hospitality and the chance to live in a lovely guest house in an authentically Puerto Rican area. They are in close proximity to a local barrio, the quaint sleepy town of Punta Santiage, Humacao, where we bought our groceries and ate local food. There were outdoor adventure opportunities at our fingertips -- kayaking, hiking, snorkeling and handgliding, and easy trips by car to interesting sites such as El Yunque, Playa Luquillo and Fajardo. The natural beauty of the area included a pristine beach a 3-minute walk away (we were the only ones there) where we understand leatherback turtles lay their eggs in season. We saw 3-foot iguanas and beautiful birds on nature trails in the Humacao Nature Reserve, a 3-minute walk from the guesthouse along their beach. And close by is the back side of El Yunque rain forest where the flora and fauna are magnificent. As if all that isn't enough, their rates are a bargain!

We can't recommend them highly enough to individuals seeking outdoor adventure, a small, personal guesthouse, an opportunity to view Puerto Rican life and to revel in the great natural beauty of the island, all at an affordable price. A last note, in daylight we didn't have any problem finding the guesthouse.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

The goal: to fly paragliders as much as possible. Secondary goal: have fun and relax.
Mission: Accomplished!
4 days of paragliding, and when the conditions weren't right for more flying, the weather was still great for hiking, kayaking, beaching, and just plain relaxing!
The house has a pool, and is just a couple of blocks from hiking and beaching.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

I found this place while searching for an alternative location to stay. Making the reservation was a breeze and already an excellent experience. And the personal attention continued throughout my 4 day stay. Bob and Keishya make you feel at home immediately. And kayaking to the bio fluorescent bay was a very special experience. The guesthouse is situated within minutes walking of the ocean, where you can see the sunrise in the morning.
Whenever I have the chance I will return.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twentynine Palms
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

Bob and Keishya treated us like family from the minute we arrived. My friend and I had been at a "spa" for the first half of our trip and both of us agree that we should have just gone straight to Barefoot Travelers. Their home was clean and comfortable giving us our best nights' sleep and the most relaxing time of our entire trip. Keishya gave awesome suggestions for what to do and where to eat. The bio bay was simply amazing. Next time - Monkey Island and hang gliding! My family and I will definitely return to the Barefoot Travelers when we visit PR from now on. Thank you Bob and Keishya for making this the best part of our vacation!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barefoot Travelers Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Travelers Rooms

Address: Humacao | Punta Santiago, Humacao 00741, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Humacao
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Humacao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to barefoot travelers rooms off the beaten track here on the southeastern coast of Puerto Rico. We welcome you to our guestrooms with private bath, use of full kitchen, large swimming pool all just 5 houses from a very gentle coastline of the Caribbean. We provide towels, linens, boogie boards, kayaks, guide assistance and a clean spacious guest home for your vacation enjoyment. We recycle here and welcome you to enjoy Puerto Rico off the beaten path. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barefoot Travelers Rooms Hotel Humacao
Barefoot Travelers Rooms Puerto Rico/Humacao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barefoot Travelers Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.