We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barefoot Travelers Rooms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Humacao
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barefoot Travelers Rooms
Save
You added Barefoot Travelers Rooms to your Saves list
Humacao | Punta Santiago, Humacao 00741, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Humacao B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
quebec city
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2009

Keishya and Bob are fabulous!

Our stay with them was the same as staying with friends. We had such a great time, the best moments of our trip in PR.

First, Bob and Keishya are very hospitable and generous hosts. Their guest house is located in a nice and quiet neighbourhood and has all the facilities a visitor may need.

Awesome activities !!!

The highlight of our trip was hanggliding. It was an amazing experience – totally stunning!! Bob is a professional and we both felt confident to fly with him. There is a nice hanggliding spot close to their guest house in Cubuy with one of the best sceneries of the island.

The day after, Bob took us to Monkey Island as a personal kayak guide. It’s a must!! The island is located really close to their place; we kayaked around the island in beautiful water, we saw many monkeys, even one swimming just beside us… The panorama of PR from this island is wonderful.

We highly recommend to any adventurers and outdoor lovers to meet Keish and Bob !!

They gave us good advices and were kind to us.

  • Liked — hosts and proximity of outdoor activities
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    18
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
54
127
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, MT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

If you are looking for clean, comfortable and extremely reasonably priced accomodations in Puerto Rico look no further as you won't beat this place. This B&B specializes in eco tours including hang gliding in the rain forest and kayaking. It is located right next to a beautiful nature preserve with miles of trails and within a block of the beach. The bedrooms are comfortable and have A/C; guests have access to a great private pool as well as a full kitchen, living and dining room. Keishya and Bob were great hosts and their island tips were very helpful. Their love for sharing adventures and the island is apparent. Our 16 year old son went tandem hang gliding with Bob, this was the highlight of his two week trip to the island. As formal gliding instructors they are very safety conscious which I appreciated greatly! You will want a rental car but the price you save on rooms will more than pay for the car plus give you the freedom to really see the island.

  • Liked — Price, accomodating hosts
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2008

We had a wonderful 3-night stay at Barefoot Traveler Rooms. The bedrooms are in a large house with a pool in a quiet residential area just off the beach in Punto Santiago. Our room was comfortable and we lacked nothing. We had access to the kitchen and dining room and the wireless internet service never failed.

Our hosts, Keishya and Bob, not only offer rooms but adventures as well. We took two kayak trips: Keishya took us to see Cayo Santiago (Monkey Island)--visitors cannot actually walk on the island, but it is possible to watch the free-ranging monkeys from kayaks just off the island. Keishya's husband Bob took us on an evening kayak trip through the bioluminescent waters in Fajardo. Both Keishya and Bob took care of everything and were wonderful hosts.

For a real adventure, Bob is an expert hang-gliding instructor and offers tandem flights. My husband (65 years old!) soared over us for almost a half-hour. Very exciting! Our stay there was the best combination of relaxation and adventure and I would recommend these accomodations to anyone.

  • Liked — Combination of comfortable accomodation and activities offered
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2008

Spotlessly clean, friendly, an all around pleasant experience. The location is not perfect but it is however a great location to reach out to things. The beach is four or five houses away. There is a nature park the same distance. Ocean kayaking to "Monkey Island" is about a mile. (They can provide the kayak and the guide) Hang gliding and paragliding sites are within 30 min drive (They rent equipment, provide instruction, do tandem flights) Your hosts are actually world famous in the hang gliding community so you are in very professional hands with them in this area. P.S. These are some of the most beautiful flying sites in the world. Is a much more laid back world than the tourist locations. Go around the corner have a Medallia and some Mufongo meet the people of Puerto Rico, it will be as good a vacation experience as you can find.

  • Liked — Available activities
  • Disliked — The air conditioner
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed one night at Barefoot Travelers. (We definitely wished we stayed longer!) The stay there was the best decision of our trip! Keishya, our host at the guesthouse was amazing! She was very kind and accommodating. Although we only stayed one night, we were still able to see and do a lot in the area. The trip to Monkey Island is a MUST! Trust us! Keishya kindly guided us on a kayak tour out to Monkey Island which is just off the shore and we ended up having perfect timing to see hundreds of monkeys! They were crossing the isthmus just as we arrived in our kayaks. We got to float in our kayaks and watch them for the next half hour! Truly amazing! During out kayak trip Keishya showed us where to snorkel which was near a shipwreck. This kayak trip was one of the most memorable things of our entire Puerto Rico trip!

Not only are the rooms and kayak trip amazing, there is a whole nature reserve nearby that we wandered through. Wishing we had more time, we still got to see a little of it and spotted an iguana! Overall we highly recommend this place to stay IF you are easygoing, looking for a little adventure and culture.

  • Liked — the surrounding activities, the host, the amenities, everything!
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwolle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

If you prefer to blend in instead of being a stereotype tourist, if you want to avoid the commercial hotels and are looking for a relaxed, small scale, home away from home place to stay with terrific hosts, this is the place to be!! Barefoot Travelers offers a variety of activities (see other reviews) and thanks to Bob & Keishya we learned alot about the island/area . This was the perfect beginning of our 3 week holiday in Puerto Rico and we certainly recommend this place to all our friends.

  • Liked — personal approach, easygoing atmosphere, variety of things to do, pool
  • Disliked — nothing not to like
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2008

We were looking for a good central location to adventure type experiences in Puerto Rico. Barefoot Traveler gave us that as well as nice rooms that were attractive, clean and well worth the price. We swam in a great pool, it was a safe location and the hosts are knowledgeable and professional about what and how to have adventures. My son went hang-gliding,(for me to agree with that was an indicator of how confident they made me feel) our boys went kayaking out to Monkey Island, we did a biobay trip and hiked through the nearby rain forest. The village life down the road is fun to observe and walking along the sidewalk through the small town on Sunday night was great fun.This is not a real resort-y place, if you are looking for that, but the advantage of staying here is that you are staying with the owners who want you to have a good experience and are willing to go out of their way to make that happen. If you are traveling with teenagers, prepare them to be attentive to the house rules, ie. water usage, electricity, etc. good for all of us to remember!
Have fun in Puerto Rico. It was an amazing vacation.

  • Liked — great rooms for a good price
  • Disliked — It got pretty hot at night.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KayakerPuertoRico, keishya/owner at Barefoot Travelers Rooms, responded to this review, July 20, 2008
Thanks for staying with us with your whole family this past week. We are glad you enjoyed the tours and activities we offer plus the general ambiance of barefoot travelers and of course the pool!
We have had several other families stay here and book into all three rooms so we knew you guys would enjoy it. I am so surprised to hear that you were too warm at night and wish you would have mentioned it sooner as we could have remedied that easily. You and your family were a pleasure and we were happy to allow you a lower then normal rate as a family discount in consideration to your stated budget constraints. That is part of why we did need to make mention to remember when you leave the guesthouse for the day to shut off the lights and fans and to close the window when using the ac. Common sense stuff like that which helps us keep our utilities at a reasonable cost so that we can in turn allow you the amazing low discounted rate you enjoyed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barefoot Travelers Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Travelers Rooms

Address: Humacao | Punta Santiago, Humacao 00741, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Humacao
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Humacao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to barefoot travelers rooms off the beaten track here on the southeastern coast of Puerto Rico. We welcome you to our guestrooms with private bath, use of full kitchen, large swimming pool all just 5 houses from a very gentle coastline of the Caribbean. We provide towels, linens, boogie boards, kayaks, guide assistance and a clean spacious guest home for your vacation enjoyment. We recycle here and welcome you to enjoy Puerto Rico off the beaten path. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barefoot Travelers Rooms Hotel Humacao
Barefoot Travelers Rooms Puerto Rico/Humacao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barefoot Travelers Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.