We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lack of Security” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Karibea Beach Resort Gosier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Karibea Beach Resort Gosier to your Saves list
Karibea Beach Resort Gosier
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Pointe de la Verdure, Le Gosier 97190, Guadeloupe   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Le Gosier
Miami, Florida, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lack of Security”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

Adequate hotel for the monies, with a buffet breakfast. The hotel will be closing for renovations and has issues with the security consistency. We observed 'homeless' person roaming the hotel at breakfast time. Service and grounds otherwise good and all staff is bi-lingual.

Room Tip: Check for room location and security update
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    73
    75
    52
    32
See reviews for
40
76
6
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

Terrible experience!
today I had more than 28 hours without water here in my room. Every day , I had a lack of water , however, it is for a maximum of 5 hours.

In addition, my room has an AC leaking .

The bathroom and the rooms are basic and old...
and about the breakfast, it is a normal continental breakfast included in the price (120 € )

The only good thing about this hotel is the sea view and easy access to the beach.

Because other things, this hotel is very bad..
Definitely I wouldn't be back.

Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

Terrible. First the decor is dated and there is no attempt to make the room beautiful or appealing. Although one can accept this, one cannot accept no water at a hotel! There is a water strike in Guadeloupe and the hotel staff would make you think that it is something new that will be sorted out the next day. But as I learned the strike has been happening on and off for 3 years. There was no water in the 2 days I stayed at the hotel (I checked in for 3 nights but after a disgusting day a half I had to leave). My toilet remained the same after 2 days even though I tried to get water from the pool to flush it. The staff (they were great and helpful, really the best thing about the hotel) would just give you two, 2-litres bottles of water each morning. The hotel smelled of pee. I didn't trust the breakfast as I wasn't sure how the dishes were cleaned. Honestly, no water is unsanitary and I'm sure against health and safety standards. The worst part is that when I was checking out I was told that the hotel next to me had water, because they have tanks! So its just Karibea that refuses to invest some money in tanks and good preparation to ensure their guests are happy. They would prefer to just take our money upfront, say sorry about the water, hand us 2 bottles of water and hope we make the best of it. Never, ever, again! P.S. and sometimes the wifi didn't work in the rooms!

Room Tip: Get a room with water! IN fact, get a hotel with water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bialystok, Poland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

Very nice hotel with very hospitalable staff. There are few bars and restaurants inside the complex as well as close to the hotel. Food very, very good and the drinka too. Beaches around are really beautiful. Rooms with saparete sleepingroom and two bathrooms! Small kitchen on tarrace. We had very good time. Wi-fi in the rooms working correctly.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Okay;
Rundown, noisy, ants, breakfast in the birdcage, only French "preferred", internet connection etc.. They are all valid and good comments. No exaggerations. I returned from there yeasterday. If it is meant to be french cheep package holiday destination, let it be. I stayed there because my work, I would be very disappointed if paid as my holiday. Before booking ask them if they have addressed these issues? By the way nice maid's. Beach and water very nice.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseau, Dominica
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

This hotel was very quiet; it felt like the entire hotel was dedicated to your piece of mind. However this does has the draw back of leaving you to feel that you're in an abandoned hotel.

In going around the hotel, the only interactions that we had was with the breakfast station staff and the Sunday night bar tender staff. Other than that, the hotel felt like a ghost town. Furthermore, in our 2 nights at the hotel, we did not spot any security personnel on the compound.

The bedroom was fitted for three persons and was comfortable. However the fridge did not work. The hotel should also provide guests with adapters for the electricity sockets as they should realise that international guests need to be catered for. The bathroom also was a mess. The blockage for the shower was inadequate and the floor kept turning into a pool every time we bathed.

All in all, it's a good hotel that will surely provide you with the tranquility that you may need on a vacation.

Room Tip: Walk with a 2-round pin adapter or you surely will be out of touch with your gadgets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
294 reviews 294 reviews
219 hotel reviews
Reviews in 192 cities Reviews in 192 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

The rooms really are in need of a proper make-over from top to toe, the location is beautiful. Buffet service average to sad, restaurant good but overpriced for the actual food quality. Was there on business out of season so perhaps it's better in season, but unless you are young and the price is decent for you I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Karibea Beach Resort Gosier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karibea Beach Resort Gosier

Address: Pointe de la Verdure, Le Gosier 97190, Guadeloupe
Location: Caribbean > Guadeloupe > Grande-Terre Island > Le Gosier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Le Gosier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Karibea Beach Resort Gosier 3*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Guadeloupe Riviera of the Pointe de la Verdure, the Karibea Salako Hotel sits on the edge of the most beautiful sandy beach in Gosier. The hotel has all the ingredients for both an active and relaxing holiday: turquoise sea, spacious and well equipped rooms, kid's club and nautical center which allows you to explore the nearby islands (Petite Terre, Les Saintes, and Marie Galante).ActivitiesLa Pointe de la Verdure has numerous restaurants and shops within walking distance of the hotel. Casino Gosier also has, in addition to the slot machines and casino games, a cinema and theater. Gosier is ideally situated in the heart of Guadeloupe making it the starting point for many day or half-day trips.This large hotel has 116 comfortable rooms (28m ²), all with a balcony providing a wonderful view of the luscious green hotel gardens or the turquoise blue sea.Furnished in colonial style, each air-conditioned room is equipped with safe, refrigerator, telephone, cable TV and free wifi.Complimentary servicesThe two pools and beaches in the resort are ideal for relaxing -- with sun beds, parasols and beach towel service.The beach is also equipped for beach volleyball, football, tennis and rugby. There is also a petanque area, table tennis and two tennis courts for you to use.Your children will really enjoy the weekly entertainment program organized by our staff, and there is also diving equipment (for the pool) and board games available for them.Paid ServicesOur nautical center, located on the Salako hotel's beach in Gosier, is open every day from 8.30 Am to 6.00 Pm.From Jet skiing to scuba diving, hiking, excursions, or even the sensational "Flyboarding" -- we offer a multitude of safe activities and water sports, supervised by professionals.For your evening entertainment, we have a rich and amusing program that varies with the seasons. You can, for example, unwind and listen to a folk group, or have some fun with our karaoke, games and dance evenings.Treat yourself and try out our new wellness and massage centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Karibea Beach Resort Gosier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karibea Beach Resort Gosier Hotel Gosier
Hotel Karibea Salako Beach
Resort Karibea Salako Beach
Karibea Beach Resort Gosier Guadeloupe/Le Gosier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karibea Beach Resort Gosier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.