We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and mediocre” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Karibea Beach Resort Gosier

Save Saved
You added Karibea Beach Resort Gosier to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Karibea Beach Resort Gosier
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Pointe de la Verdure, Gosier 97190, Guadeloupe   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 19 hotels in Gosier
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Expensive and mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Sorry but I've traveled in the Caribbean and this hotel is just too expensive for the service they provide. To start they don´t have bell boys so if you need help with your luggage forget about it. The staff speak very little english or other languages besides French. Breakfast is boring and the glasses for the juice are so small you better not be thristy in the morning. The rooms are clean but if you ask for a double, one will get a double bed and the other person a roll away bed, too small. No toiletries in the bathroom just a regular shampoo/bath gel. The bath tub looks old and the enamel was broken. Dinners are a bit better but nothing to brag about. The swimming pool is small and there´s nothing to see (marine life) in the sea in front of the hotel. They requiere a 30.00 Euro deposit for a pool towel and I can keep going on an on. For this type of money you are better in an all inclusive resort in Mexico, Belize, Honduras or Dominican Republic.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    48
    42
    33
    16
See reviews for
25
42
5
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

If you are going to Guadeloupe (and you probably aren't unless you are French) don't stay @ this place! It's overpriced, the food is just weird, and the beach is MAN MADE. Not to mention they LOCK THE GATE to the beach between 6 and 7pm every evening. I'm not sure why as the are does not seem unsafe.
Also the staff is rude - especially if "tu ne parle pas Francais!" And don't expect to be able to sleep w/o earplugs before 10pm because they play obnoxious club music or have karoke every night in the main bar area.
If you are headed to Guadelope, try to stay near Saint Anne's beach - it's much nicer over there - at least the nice, natural beach will make up for anything else :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

I wanted to be on the water without spending a lot a money and I wanted to see Guadeloupe. I had a big room with twin beds and a balcony with a view of the sea. The beach was pleasant, the water calm for good swimming. There is no barrier that keeps one from walking the beach in front of other resorts. A buffet breakfast with plenty of choices is included with the room.
I did not realize that there are three different hotels that are part of this complex so I was confused at first. I checked in in a separate building. Then they just turned me loose to find my room. I ended up in the wrong hotel for fifteen minutes dragging my luggage.
Guadeloupe turned out to be much larger than I expected so I saw only the southeastern end of Grande Terre. It is not as easy to get along without French as it is on other French islands like St. Bart's and St. Martin.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

NEGATIVES
*Its a bit overpriced for the amenities they offer. The jaccuzzi is NOT hot enough...
*They dont leave your dirty towels and hang them as if they were clean.
*The reception is understaffed. They only have 2 people for the whole 3 sections of the hotel.
*The room I got was very small. I stayed at the clipper.

POSITIVES
•Breakfast was very good. Its 12 euro and they give you eggs, coffee, bread, fruit. Its worth your money.
*Dinner is good as well. its 25 euro with dessert, 20 euro w no dessert, and 12 euro if you just get the salad buffet.
*The view is amazing.
*Great location in Gosier

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

This hotel, physically, has seen better days and looks nowhere near as good as it does on its website. The breakfast area has a bird infestation problem and they freely feed on the buffet contents despite the little efforts of the staff. Though relatively clean the Salako "suites" are quite small and poor value for all their expensiveness. The hotel mainly trades on cheap budget package holidays from France, that includes fairly naff in-house "entertainment". The wi-fi network is patchy and slow. The receptionist couldn't produce any map of the locality with an attitude more to discourage people from wandering off from using the hotels "services" which were non-existant after 11pm. The nearby lagoon (read: open sewer) smelled if the wind blew the wrong way. Do you still really want to go here? I don't think so!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2008

We had a very pleasant stay at the Karibea Salako. The room was quite nice, although not fancy. Nice beach/sea view. The shower was wonderful and hot! The people were friendly and went out of their way to help us when we arrived late for dinner and came down late for breakfast. There were no "hidden" charges to surprise us at the end of the visit. There was no loud noise at night and no problem getting food at breakfast; perhaps it helped that we traveled in April just past the "high" season, or, perhaps the hotel has taken notice of previous complaints and changed their practices. The one thing we were a tad disappointed with was that the beach bar wasn't open late in the afternoon, but this did not mar our overall experience.

Guadeloupe is two islands in one, one part beautiful, traditional Caribbean beaches and the other part lush vegetation, mountains, rugged coastline, waterfalls, even a volcano! There is much to see and do. Speaking a little French helps, but if you make an effort you are amply rewarded. People are helpful without being obsequious.

  • Liked — Friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — Food was okay, but not gourmet quality
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2008

This was a terrific family hotel. We stayed in the Salako portion of the hotel. There are also suites and more basic accomodations at the Karibea. Our room had a lovely view of the Caribbean and was very quiet.
The buffet dinner (26 Euro/person) was excellent and a good choice especially if you do not speak French.
Gosier is well located for seeing all the sites on Guadeloupe and the beaches are great for kids, well protected.
We didn't have children with us, but didn't mind all the guests with children.
Each evening there was entertainment in the lounge and many of the staff spoke English.
To find the hotel, follow signs for "Pointe de la Verdure"

  • Liked — Relaxed Atmosphere
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Karibea Beach Resort Gosier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karibea Beach Resort Gosier

Address: Pointe de la Verdure, Gosier 97190, Guadeloupe
Location: Caribbean > Guadeloupe > Grande-Terre Island > Gosier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 hotels in Gosier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Karibea Beach Resort Gosier 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Karibea Beach Resort Gosier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karibea Beach Resort Gosier Hotel Gosier
Hotel Karibea Salako Beach
Resort Karibea Salako Beach
Karibea Beach Resort Gosier Guadeloupe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karibea Beach Resort Gosier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.