We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 beautiful days in Guadeloupe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Creole Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added La Creole Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Creole Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   BP 61, Gosier 97190, Guadeloupe   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 hotels in Gosier
Gyor, Hungary
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“10 beautiful days in Guadeloupe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

Last year we spent a wonderful holiday with my boyfriend in this island. We managed to book an apartment in the Mahogany section of the La Creole Hotel with a last minute price. It was a great choice because the hotel has a perfect location: it is at the seaside with a nice park . From Gosier it is easy to reach all parts of Guadeloupe. The apartment was clean and it had a small openair kitchen at the balcony where during the warm 'summer' nights we were drinking perfect rum cocktails/punch. I would definitely recommend this place to stay. (Only the bad in the room was not so comfortable.) Photos about the accomodation and our trip can be seen at: http://ongo.hu/kepek/194451

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    220
    105
    50
    28
See reviews for
153
163
23
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Domazlice, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

Stayed 2 nights. In general, there is nothing bad in this hotel. But for me has no charm. Hotel is quite expensive. Positive: nice spacious rooms. Negatives: bad location, beach in the front of hotel is not very nice, better is city beach, most of public computers for internet access were damaged.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

We were two pilots island hopping around the Caribbean so on arriving in Gaudeloupe we booked this hotel from the tourist guide at the airport. When we got there our rooms were not ready so we had to wait have a drink etc, the pool and reception area looked great, when one room was ready we went to put our baggage in the room until both rooms were available. When we went to the room we could not believe how bad it was, dirty smelly and not fit to house my dog !! When we complained they tried to offer us better rooms at a huge discount but by then we were totally disgusted and went elsewhere.

You have been warned !!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crested Butte, Colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2008

After two weeks on Basse Terre and Ile des Saintes, we spent our last two nights on Guadeloupe at the Creole Beach Hotel. We'd been staying in small inns with character, so the Creole Beach Hotel - huge, sterile, resortish - was quite a change. For what it was, though, it worked.
Our room had zero personality, but it was very clean and quiet with a miniscule ocean view. There was a big jam-packed pool which our kids enjoyed, and pretty landscaping to walk through. The artificial beach was nicer than we'd expected with white sand and clean water. For our one full day, we took a water taxi to a small island a short distance away where we could snorkel (mediocre snorkeling at best), swim in the clear water and where the kids caught dozens of hermit crabs.
We thought the breakfast, which came with the room and included an enormous buffet and things like omelettes made to order and crepes, was very good. We also had a decent dinner at one of the hotel restaurants.
The staff was friendly and helpful and one thing we liked was that even at this big resort, all of the other guests seemed to be European. We never once heard English spoken.
Yes, it was expensive, but so was everything else on Guadeloupe, given the US exchange rate. It didn't seem more outrageous than anything else on the island. It did bother me, though, that the room rate had we just arrived at the hotel and asked for a room was significantly lower than the price we paid by booking on-line.
All this said, we would have not been particularly enamored of Guadeloupe, had we only stayed at the Creole Beach Hotel. The Gosier area wasn't particularly attractive and the resort wasn't particularly memorable. For a couple of days though, the Creole Beach Hotel was fine. I wouldn't go out of my way to stay there again, but if I returned to Guadeloupe and needed a room for a night or two near the airport, I'd probably go back to the Creole Beach.

  • Liked — Clean, quiet, near airport
  • Disliked — not much characater
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, CT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2007

My stay at La Creole Beach Hotel turned out to be pleasant, although the hotel does have a few defects. The rooms are nice, but that is not an excuse for the cost of this hotel. I could hardly believe how much this hotel cost.
The location is great, though. The hotel has a beach, as well as a nice pool. The rooms have good views of the ocean, as well as views of the area. Most nights down at the bar, they have either a music party or a fashion show. Don't try sleeping through the party, though - either the music is too loud, or flashing lights prevent you from going to sleep. The hotel is also in a great area in Guadeloupe called Le Gosier, which is convenient to Pointe-a-Pitre and the best beaches on the island.
Overall, my experience was fairly good, with a few defects. I may stay there again (if I can afford it).

  • Liked — The private beach, pool, and the location
  • Disliked — The cost
  • Stayed March 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, England
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2007

Rooms:
Our room was very poor for a so-called 4 star hotel. The beds were good, but the sheets were thin and grey. Other than the beds there was little other furniture, other than a poor quality unpainted wood low table, and a single chair. The entrance area to the room had badly chipped paintwork.
The bathroom was extremely poor. The toilet discharge joint was coated in brown glue, which looked like fungus (but was not). The bath soap basin was broken and had sharp points. The bath bottom enamel was broken off in several places, exposing the bare metal. We were given two sachets of cheap shampoo each day only, and two pieces of the cheapest soap. The plastic drink cups were never replaced. Some days we had none.
Food:
Supposedly there was a "multi cuisine" buffet evening meal. The Italian part consisted of spaghetti bolognaise only, night after night. The Chinese part consisted of chop suey only every night. The Indian part consisted of fish or chicken curry, with rice only (no pappadoms, chutneys/yoghurts, etc.). The rotisserie/roast items were good, but the broccoli was stewed and not worth eating.
The desserts were poor: pastry tarts; cakes; etc. One night per week there was banana and pineapple flambee which was good.
We went to the Zwag restaurant : I waited 20 mins. for my soup to be served (they had forgotten!). My wife had a steak which was utterly uneatable. She could not even cut it with her steak knife. On complaining, we were not charged for this appalling steak.
Also:
Also, during our stay, there were several utility failures in the hotel. When we arrived, very tired and thirsty, there was no water. Nothing was done to help us. We had to use mineral water from the minibar, which was charged to us. The water failed twice more during our stay. There is ony one lift in the hotel, and this broke down several times during our stay, the last during the afternoon of our departure, resulting in my carrying our bags down three flights of stairs.
Theft:
Two days before we left, an old lady (93 years) and on her own, on her last night, had all her jewelry and money stolen from her room. She did not even wake up. She reported the theft to the manager, and he advised her that he would not involve the police, as this was a hotel matter!
Positive side:
The location is superb, with a fantastic sea view. The grounds are well kept with lots of palm trees. The pool and beach were excellent , although the sun chairs were uncomfortable, without matresses.
Summary:
Bearing in mind the supposedly four star rating, and the cost (£2,000 for two people, 13 nights, demipension) the superb location is utterly spoiled by the shoddy rooms/bathrooms, and the mediocre food. It appears that the management are trying to extract maximum profit with minimum investment.

  • Liked — The beach location.
  • Disliked — The room quality and the mediocre food.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2007

I traveled to Le Creole Beach with my two children (2 and 4 years old) and my mother. To begin with our rooms were not ready when we arrived (4:30pm), we had to wait over an hour for them. There was no place for us to get food, not even a snack at the bar. The staff was not very accomodatingn and did not go out of their way to help, which remained the case the rest of our stay. When we finally got in our room, it was a big disappointment. Our garden view was of a parking lot. The rooms were in shabby condition and the bathroom smelled bad. We only went to the main restaurant that serves breakfast and dinner. Breakfast was great. The dinner was a buffet and very expensive but the food was not so great. Also, something that was bad for us was the timing. Dinner was not served until 7 and for my kids that was late. The beach was a bit rocky so we walked over to the beach next door. The grounds were nice with lots of grassy lawns shaded by palm trees.

  • Liked — The landscaped property
  • Disliked — The restaurant
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Creole Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Creole Beach Hotel

Address: BP 61, Gosier 97190, Guadeloupe
Location: Caribbean > Guadeloupe > Grande-Terre Island > Gosier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 hotels in Gosier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Creole Beach Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION In the heart of a tropical garden the hotel is located at Pointe de la Verdure:1 km from Gosier, 7 km from Pointe à Pitre center and 12 km from International Airport Pôle Caraïbes.ACCOMMODATIONRooms :211 rooms in 6 buildings of 1 or 2 floors and 1 building of 5 floors “Les Palmes” with elevators. Categories :55 Classic (garden view), 99 sea view rooms, 42 Corail (beach front) rooms and 15 Junior suites.Occupation :2 adults + 2 children + 1 infant OR 3 adults + 1 child + 1 infant max. Surface area ≈ 28sqmAmenities : Satellite flat TV, refrigerator, international direct phone, air conditioning, 220 alternative current. bathrooms & toilets with furniture wood and lavatory from designer P. Starck, hair-drier, safety box, dressing.2 large double beds (140 cm) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your La Creole Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Creole Beach Gosier
Hotel La Creole Beach
La Creole Beach Hotel Guadeloupe/Gosier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Creole Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.