We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as the pictures show...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Plaza Imperial

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Hotel Plaza Imperial to your Saves list
Gran Hotel Plaza Imperial
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 57.5 Carretera | Toluca, Toluca 52170, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Toluca
Barrie, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not as the pictures show...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

This Hotel appears to be in a never ending state of construction. The photos they display are only the lobby and pool building, the actual hotel is behind that building, and is a dumpy not so clean, run down mess. The parking lot is a disaster as well.
My room was barely OK , but the window frame was falling apart, making it a challenge to open or close the window, something necessary as the room had no AC. In the hallway outside my room was a supposed "emergancy exit / security door" which was so damaged it would not close properly and would slam open and closed in the wind.( all night long ) This did not give me any sense of security at all. I checked out the next morning two days early, and found another place to stay.

Room Tip: Go to the Holiday Inn Express near the Airport in Toluca, it's excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Hotel Plaza Imperial, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
Rocket455,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    11
    7
    8
See reviews for
4
6
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

This hotel had very attentive staff who helped make my stay comfortable as possible. I am very grateful to them for their hospitality and wonderful customer-oriented service. There is an indoor pool which was mainly empty and a gym, too. The only downside is that there is nothing to see/do in the area, and one has to take a taxi to get anywhere. This did not bother me as I was only visiting for work purposes. The airconditioner did not work for the entire week that I was there and when I requested a fan I was provided with one.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
142 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
484 helpful votes 484 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

We pulled intl the hotel entrance and took our parking lot ticket and there were traffic cones set up to our right which was clearly the hotel entrance. It seemed like we should have gone straight into what looked like (and was) an area closed and under construction. It is a real safety hazard. The lazy person who was supposed to be there to direct people was gossiping with his friends at the exit of the parkng area. Not a good start - bad supervision of this employee risks guest safety.

Then, we checked in - nothing extraordinary and went to our 2nd floor room and left for an event. Nothing bad or good. Oddly the desk phone in room missing and the hotel services guide mentions a Dataport on the phone and nothing about Intrenet. I turned on my computer and was pleased to get a wireless signal for hotel. It needed a password and I called and got one and it is free. That is a plus.

I will toss my breakfast coupons - the place is just not the type of place I like - but am happy I did not drag my laptop here for nothing. Will sleep, shower and leave - hotel is ot good for much else.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guanajuato
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

I stayed at Holiday inn Toluca last Tuesday whit my husband, and we were very pleased with all the service and kindness of the staff there. even that the hotel is in a remodelation process, all the staff treat us as kings, and try very hard to asist in time all the requests we had. also they have a beautiful back yard in wich we can relax and walk, they have a climatized pool, so that was an extra for us because the weather there is cold. We recommed this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLORIDA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

I stayed in Holiday inn toluca the last week and raelly i surprised the warmth that the people have for the guest in front desk an the restaurant, everybody ask me if i required something, please just tell us, also the pool is really warm and big. but in general everithing was well

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

Last week iwas staying in Holiday Inn Toluca it was great the hotel is really huge it has a beautifull fild and heated indoor pool also it has a kind staff.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2009

With this being my 3rd trip to Toluca for business I thought I'd try a new hotel...all of the on-line pics looked good, and hey, Holiday Inn right? Basically my main issues were w/basics...heat was OK, but the AC is NONE-a 3 speed fan was it. Basic room/bath was from 70's with some kind of redo to bring it up a little(key word) bit. Breakfast Buffet was not where it needs to be-did not bother to check out lun/din. Front desk seemed indifferent to any thing I asked about-again, basics-internet and taxi. Last issue was that they cranked up the remodeling noise early...doing some kind of add on and scraping/filling/painting? Bottom line became I checked out after 2 days of an eight day stay...avoid this one until they bring it up to where it NEEDS to be and what you expect from Holiday Inn...even in Mexico!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Hotel Plaza Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Plaza Imperial

Address: Km 57.5 Carretera | Toluca, Toluca 52170, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Estado de Mexico > Toluca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Toluca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Hotel Plaza Imperial 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Gran Hotel Plaza Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Toluca
Toluca Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Plaza Imperial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.