We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome, average rooms / food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Nethybridge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Nethybridge Hotel to your Saves list
The Nethybridge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nethy Bridge PH25 3DP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Nethy Bridge
Epsom, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A warm welcome, average rooms / food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on the second night of our tour of Scotland. Received a very warm welcome from all the staff and the front of the building is very imposing and impressive. Rooms are a bit tired and functional and wifi only worked downstairs in the lobby / lounge area. The evening meal was ok, breakfast average.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise H, Director of Sales at The Nethybridge Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay with us. Feedback is very important to us and we take all your points on board, good and not so good. I hope you had a nice tour of Scotland and you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    93
    40
    38
    33
See reviews for
65
101
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Hotel built in 1899, you can feel that there is a lot of history, this is the only good thing about this hotel.

negative points : food absolutely horrible, I never ate such bad food for a very expensive price, the restaurant wall was dirty. We had 2 cup of coffee in the salon, we paid 25€ !!!

This is the kind of hotel when you checked out you really feel being ripped off.

Room Tip: rooms are really old
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise H, Director of Sales at The Nethybridge Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for posting your recent review but I must say we are all a bit confused by the high costs you are quoting. A tea/coffee in the hotel costs only £2 or 2.4 Euros and our Bar and Restaurant food is very competitively priced. If you were incorrectly charged 25 Euros for 2 coffees, could you please send us your details with a copy of your receipt and we will of course refund you? With kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We really loved this hotel, one of the best we stayed at on our road trip. Huge rooms, rambling corridors, old-fashioned decor, lashings of personality and charm. Everyone was friendly and helpful, and the beds were lovely. A treat for us that we had a separate room for the twin beds and loads of space.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise H, Director of Sales at The Nethybridge Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Dorothy, thank you for taking the time to post some very kind words about your recent stay. You sound well-travelled and therefore we are very pleased to have rated so highly on your trip. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope we can welcome you back again soon. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The first impression of this hotel is an old, possibly run-down building but inside it was far from this. Our room was modern and clean and the bathroom looked new. The restaurant was good and service good and fast. The large lounge where coffee was served after dinner was comfortable. All staff were friendly and helpful. The price on our 4-day break was extremely good value. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise H, Director of Sales at The Nethybridge Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for posting such a lovely review of your stay and I am so pleased you noted, and were able to enjoy, one of our many recently refurbished bedrooms and bathrooms. We do state that we are spending money on refurbishments but sometimes this is not believed until a fellow guests notes this - so thank you. We cannot wait to welcome you back again in the near future. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Went to this hotel for a meal as the Boat Hotel was fully booked.
Very tired looking hotel. Waiter needs to visit a dentist ...not a good look for front of house staff
Asked for water for the table and received a pint glass full of water!! not the waitress's fault obv. no training. Food was reasonably priced and edible . Was not asked if we wanted a sweet/coffee/or another wine .

Room Tip: Only ate here one night so cannot comment on rooms but would not reccomend
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise H, Director of Sales at The Nethybridge Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for posting a review and I am sorry to hear you did not receive an acceptable level of service on your visit. I can assure you we review all comments to see where we can improve however I cannot condone unnecessary personal comments being made about our employees. I do hope you will try us again in the future when I am sure you will experience the level of service and kind hospitality our hotel strives for. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Staff at this hotel are wonderful ,from reception to waiters ,cleaners. etc all are very pleasant and can't do enough for you .dogs are very welcome at this hotel seems all staff are dog lovers too and make a fuss of all the dogs that come through the door .It is an old hotel but very clean ,the surrounding area is fab for walkers ,lovely scenery .

Room Tip: Ask for front facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona S, Public Relations Manager at The Nethybridge Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review praising our staff. We do try an ensure that all guests are made to feel special. We do welcome dogs, and just as long as we know in advance, we will always try and accommodate our canine guests. Thank you again for taking the time to post a few lines and we hope to see you again soon. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Spent a weekend here accompanying a friend who had came to the area to snowboard, we arrived late evening had a quick shower and change then downstairs for a drink before bed,the hotel has two bars,the first I thought was more suited to families with a large room a dj playing music and one or two of the guests having a go at singing themselves,after a short while we made our way through to the smaller room which had a few of the local people drinking and one or two colourful characters! Most definitely not suited for families but still very friendly people.The room I had was en suite,very spacious and clean, breakfast in the morning was very adequate traditional English breakfast with choice of continental also,the dining room was lovely and the hotel had a lot of character, the staff were always friendly and helpful.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona S, Public Relations Manager at The Nethybridge Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I am pleased that you found the staff friendly, room clean and breakfast excellent. These are all important aspects of a holiday and we do try our best. Once again many thanks for your "perfect" review. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Nethybridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nethybridge Hotel

Address: Nethy Bridge PH25 3DP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Nethy Bridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Nethy Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Nethybridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Nethybridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nethybridge Hotel Nethy Bridge
The Nethybridge Hotel Nethy Bridge, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nethybridge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.