We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for people who like bad service.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Nethybridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Nethybridge Hotel to your Saves list
The Nethybridge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nethy Bridge PH25 3DP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Nethy Bridge
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good hotel for people who like bad service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

As soon as my group of five friends arrived through the revolving door into the main restaurant, the hotel manager ushered us back out the same door we had just came through. Without asking us what we were in for, he explained that the set menu in the restaurant was out of our price range at £22. He then helpfully pointed us back outside to the bar.
In the bar we were greeted by a lady behind the bar who - tragically - was unable to smile. After taking drinks orders, which we had to collect from the bar ourselves, she took our food order. Feeling like chastised children, we made our mumbled orders and tried to relax in the overly-warm and otherwise empty bar.
The food arrived promptly and without a smile.
Myself and the rest of the group all agreed that the food itself was good value and tasty. The menu was somewhat limited, general pub grub, but fair sized portions.
We chatted to a young chap behind the bar who told us how terrible he was at his job and how he didn't know how to work the till. He was nice, though he did swear a lot.
Thanks to a miracle of modern science, Mrs Permanent Scowl was cured of her affliction and did seem to cheer a bit about halfway through the meal. She got warmer as the food got colder and she collected the plates away with a blink-and-you'd-miss-it smile.
After the mains, some of us had desserts. A request to substitute ice-cream for custard was met by a blank, "no", from our newly cured waitress. I had a coffee which was made fresh by a machine and brought over to my table also by a machine. That last part is pure conjecture, but I can't blame a robot for not smiling.
The decor in the hotel was somewhat outdated, not so much in a charming way, but in a "that wallpaper was fine for 1976, a classic never dies."
Since we had the sheer brass neck to request for the bill to be split into 4 and the aformentioned young chap behind the bar had no idea how to use the till, we waited for some time while he hand-wrote us a receipt which we neither wanted nor asked for. He did have very nice handwriting though. We were then asked to individually go up to the bar, rhyme off what we had just consumed and pay. Due to a genuine error on my part, my friend ended up getting a free sticky toffee pudding, so the already very affordable meal, became even better value.

All in all, I would highly recommend this place to anyone within a fifty mile radius. The service was awful, the staff were rude, the food was tasty and cheap and the decor outdated.

Hilarious.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona S, Public Relations Manager at The Nethybridge Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Upon speaking to the Manager and staff on duty, it is my understanding you did advise the manager that you and your group were looking for something to eat and were offered the choice of a Restaurant meal at £21.95 or a Bar meal ranging from £5.50 per person and you elected to take a bar meal. Yes the menu in the Bar is more limited than in the Restaurant but we are proud to offer traditional ‘pub grub’ and I am glad you found it tasty and good value.

Regarding your bill, unfortunately our till is unable to split bills after all the meals and drinks have been put through the system but it could have been done had this been requested at the onset. The barman was able to do this though manually for your party and of course, in order to do this, he needed to know what members of your group were paying for what and a receipt is standard practice with all goods and services that are purchased.

I do sincerely apologise though if you felt the staff were rude and the service awful. This will be investigated more fully to see what happened on the day as your account is very unusual - the two employees you mentioned are normally very highly praised.

I am pleased though that you found the food tasty and would still highly recommend us.

With kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    77
    36
    32
    27
See reviews for
56
85
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Took a weekend break at the Nethy Bridge and loved it. Staff were excellent the hotel was lovely and warm and we had a terrific room. The food was good and wholesome. I would recommend this hotel too anyone looking for a pleasant stay in the central highlands as it punches well above its weight.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona S, Public Relations Manager at The Nethybridge Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you so much for such a superb review Janet.

I am so pleased to hear your praise for the Nethybridge Hotel, the staff, your room, and the food - all the factors we recognise that should be great in order to make our guests breaks enjoyable.

We hope to see you again soon and thank you for the recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crieff, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

A building full of character, but with horrendously draughty old sash windows. It was exceedingly good value for money, and was full of families at the week-end using the local skiing facilities. The buffet breakfasts provided plenty and varied food - "full Scottish" and "continental". The bar meal "soup & sandwich" was great, but their fish & chips a bit tasteless. I enjoyed my 3 nights there, and would go again.

Room Tip: I could not get the antique lift to function, so if you have a lot of heavy luggage, try to avoid th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona S, Public Relations Manager at The Nethybridge Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Many thanks for taking a few minutes to post some nice words about your recent stay. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your breakfasts and bar meal. Apologies if you found the windows draughty and we would appreciate it if you could contact us directly and let us know what room you stayed in so we can take a look.

The atmosphere in the hotel is great at the moment as ski-season is in full swing! We welcome all guests though, regardless of the reason for their stay, and we are glad you chose us and hopefully we will see you again soon.

Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Lots of people on here have been very critical (and rude) about the Nethybridge Hotel. I've been coming here for years and find it always invites me back.
It is terrific value for money, clean, warm and comfortable.
The down sides are that it is a bit dated and could do with a facelift, but this is an old traditional Scottish hotel, what do you expect?
The waiting staff could do with some patience and training (and of course, the Manager is unique), but there is always a roaring fire, decent food, clean rooms and they do their very best to keep you entertained.
Try it!
Wifi can only be accessed from the reception or lounge area. Can't get it in bedrooms etc. Needs sorted!

Room Tip: Have been in several different rooms over the years and they are all much alike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona S, Public Relations Manager at The Nethybridge Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
What a lovely review. Thank you for taking the time to write this and for posting your positive experiences.

We are so pleased to hear you have been coming to the Hotel for many years and yes, we do try and keep our guests well-fed and entertained in good clean surroundings.

As you rightly point out some renovations are required, and whilst we have improved many rooms and public areas over the past few years, there is still much to do in this lovely old building. We can only do this though as budgets permit and therefore unfortunately certain other improvements will have to wait just a wee bit longer such as Wifi in the bedrooms.

Be assured though, we are constantly working to improve the hotel and look after it.

Thank you again though for your lovely post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Had been warned about Robert the manager and it helped. Eccentric is the word but he really does care about the hotel and guests. I was horrified at the way he spoke to the staff in front of guests but as time went on realised that his staff accept that it is his way.

Its an old hotel with its own distinctive charm and needs TLC (money invested especially on windows). It was clean and comfortable but yes the floorboards squeak.

It is very warm and the staff grow on you as they want you to have a good time. Warm log fire in the hall and the entertainment was good. Great price, dont know how they make a profit at the price!

Was chastised on occasion. Dont queue up for dinner as dinner is at 7.30 and not before!

Room Tip: We were on the second floor. If you have a mobility issue get a lower floor as it is a hike otherwi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona S, Public Relations Manager at The Nethybridge Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We are pleased you recognised that the General Manager, Robert, and his team really do care a great deal about all guests and we are glad you enjoyed the entertainment and the warmth of the hotel. It is a very charming but old building and, as such, does require ongoing TLC and refurbishment but please be assured that refurbishments have been made to many of the bedrooms and public areas and will continue to be carried out. I do hope you will come and visit us again. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Attended Highland Fling weekend (group of 4) and were well looked after from start to finish. Dietary requirements were fully met with food hot and courses generous. While hotel is historic in nature, rooms were spotless with good quality towels etc.
Staff were friendly and attentive.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona S, Public Relations Manager at The Nethybridge Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.
We do enjoy hosting our 'Highland Fling Weekends' and are so pleased you had a great time and enjoyed some traditional winter Highland hospitality. We hope to welcome you back again next year or perhaps in the summer for a complelety different type of break!
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M27 8HX
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Just spent another break at the Nethy for a real Scottish Hogmanay ,this was our 12th visit (six for new year) and already booked for next new year. The hotel could do with a bit of a make over but not so much as to lose its character as a traditional Scottish hotel. Food was first class as usual hot and served by really good staff , rooms spotless and serviced to a high standard, entertainment was good followed on new years eve by a fantastic firework display .special mention to Robert the best "mine host" in Abernethy and Kelly his very capable assistant. Looking forward to many more visits to this grand old hotel. Not the most posh hotel but one the best in Scotland.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona S, Public Relations Manager at The Nethybridge Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest
What a lovely review and we are so proud that you have chosen not only to visit us 12 times, but that you have chosen to spend 6 New Year's with us! Thank you for your particular mention of Kelly. Robert the manager, and all his team, take pride in offering guests a truly traditional Scottish Hogmanay - topped off with some unforgettable fireworks. We look forward to seeing you again for the next one...if not before.
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Nethybridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nethybridge Hotel

Address: Nethy Bridge PH25 3DP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Nethy Bridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Nethy Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Nethybridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Nethybridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nethybridge Hotel Nethy Bridge
The Nethybridge Hotel Nethy Bridge, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nethybridge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.