We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“new year break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Nethybridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Nethybridge Hotel to your Saves list
The Nethybridge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nethy Bridge PH25 3DP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Nethy Bridge
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“new year break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

we stayed on a 3night break with a group of friends for the new year from the minute we arrived we were made very welcome .robert and staff run a excellent hotel .the new year entertainment was first class as were the meals and all the extras treats found in our rooms .we will certainly be back to this very homely hotel .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    93
    40
    38
    33
See reviews for
65
101
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Congratulations for the excellant new year festivities that were laid on during our first visit to this hotel. Robert ( Manager ) and his staff's hospitality were first class,room was excellant size and its facilities were great, the food was fantastic and as everyone was served at the same time ( great idea ) no waiting to long between courses. The entertainment was second to none and top quality ( traditional Scottish plus easy listening ). In conclusion sure to return again as we went away feeling that we had been made welcome and nothing was to much bother. Well done. DC Dundee

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckhaven
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

we booked in for a 3 night New Year Break, myself, husband, sister, brother in law and my mother. Firstly I must say that we had a great time, entertainment was great, staff very friendly and very hard working couldnt do enough for you, food was fantastic, breakfast could have been a bit better, a few down sides to our stay, my mother is disabled but there was no disable facilities, her bathroom in particluar was very small and she had trouble getting into it as the door opened onto the toilet, no disable toilets in the main hotel either. The building itself can do with a lot of TLC as it is a bit crumbly in parts. Having said that I dont think we would be put of going back as it was everything and more we were looking for, for a typical Scottish Hogmany it was great, give the hotel a bit of a spruce up and people will go back year after year

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

stayed for 3 nights over xmas with my partner and parents, the hotel is full of character, and characters, especially robert the manager.the service in the restaurant is excellent and most of the staff friendly and efficient, just one woman was a bit grumpy.the food was wonderful and well presented. the lounge was very comfy and warm with a blazing fire at all times.
there were always dishes of apples, oranges and nuts in reception which you could help yourself to.
father xmas arived on his sled pulled by reindeer before xmas dinner, and on boxing day we were piped into dinner and treated to a mini hogmonay with a haggis and the piping in of the beef.
the hotel is set in a little village in the cairngorms. there are lovely walks in the woods and beside the river at your doorstep. there is a steam railway which i think takes you in to aviemore but as it was christmas it was closed .
for any bits and pieces you need there is a spar shop just over the bridge.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is the 6th different hotel we have been to for Hogmany and is far the best by a long way. The manager Robert and his staff were friendly, helpful and in fact excellent in every aspect of hospitality. Our room on the second floor was spacious and well appointed. The food and restaurant service was of such a standard that it would rival and surpass many of the top restaurants in any of the UK major cities. The entertainment throughout the break was first class.
In conclusion I can give only the highest praise for what we received over the three days and that it really was excellent value for the money paid.

P. David Martin

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking either front or the side of the hotel as they appear to be larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross-shire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Just back from a 3 day break at Nethybridge Hotel. I would give it more than five stars to be honest. The Food was excellent, The manager Robert and all his staff were really friendly and very efficient - especially in the restuarant. The room we had was on the top floor, so the old legs took a bit of a pasting going up and down the stairs (there is a lift but the dog did not like it !) the room itself was fine though the wind (not my own) did rattle the windows a bit on one night but thats to be expected in old buildings
The hotel itself still retains the opulent style of a bygone era and is by no means 'jaded' like some older Hotels we have been to, the residents lounge is especially comfortable with big sofas and real fires and the whole building is lovely and warm too
It was one the most pleasant places that we have stayed in and it was really good value for money. We would certainly go back again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front would have a nice view over the Spey valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Not long back from a 2 night stay at Nethy Bridge and had a great time. We went with friends (and their dog) who have been many times before and couldn't fault the place.

The hotel is old and somewhat dated, but that adds to its character and attraction - staff were very friendly and we were made feel most welcome.

The food was very good - we were there for the xmas day meal and the Hogmanay Banquet - cooked to perfection.

On the sunday afternoon we perched ourselves at the couches in front of the fire and had a laugh playing board games, having a drink and generally relaxing - the hotel has a very homely feel about it and we certainly felt at home.

There were a few negative comments on here about dogs etc - well I think its good that the hotel has a dog-friendly policy. At no time did I see any dogs roaming about but its good that dogs are allowed a holiday too. There were no dogs in the restaurant or in the lounge area - owners are asked to keep them in their rooms. Dogs being in the hotel do not bother me in the slightest providing the owners abide by the hotel policies, as we did.

Towels were changed daily and I had a comfortable sleep in the rooms - the alcohol probably did help but the hotel isnt noisy and although our room was at the front, there wasnt any noise from passing traffic etc.

Booked to go back in August for the highland games so surely that tells you that its worth a visit !!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Nethybridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nethybridge Hotel

Address: Nethy Bridge PH25 3DP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Nethy Bridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Nethy Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Nethybridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Nethybridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nethybridge Hotel Nethy Bridge
The Nethybridge Hotel Nethy Bridge, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nethybridge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.