We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Twixmas break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Nethybridge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Nethybridge Hotel to your Saves list
The Nethybridge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nethy Bridge PH25 3DP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Nethy Bridge
Ross-shire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous Twixmas break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Just back from a 3 day break at Nethybridge Hotel. I would give it more than five stars to be honest. The Food was excellent, The manager Robert and all his staff were really friendly and very efficient - especially in the restuarant. The room we had was on the top floor, so the old legs took a bit of a pasting going up and down the stairs (there is a lift but the dog did not like it !) the room itself was fine though the wind (not my own) did rattle the windows a bit on one night but thats to be expected in old buildings
The hotel itself still retains the opulent style of a bygone era and is by no means 'jaded' like some older Hotels we have been to, the residents lounge is especially comfortable with big sofas and real fires and the whole building is lovely and warm too
It was one the most pleasant places that we have stayed in and it was really good value for money. We would certainly go back again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front would have a nice view over the Spey valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    77
    36
    32
    27
See reviews for
56
85
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Not long back from a 2 night stay at Nethy Bridge and had a great time. We went with friends (and their dog) who have been many times before and couldn't fault the place.

The hotel is old and somewhat dated, but that adds to its character and attraction - staff were very friendly and we were made feel most welcome.

The food was very good - we were there for the xmas day meal and the Hogmanay Banquet - cooked to perfection.

On the sunday afternoon we perched ourselves at the couches in front of the fire and had a laugh playing board games, having a drink and generally relaxing - the hotel has a very homely feel about it and we certainly felt at home.

There were a few negative comments on here about dogs etc - well I think its good that the hotel has a dog-friendly policy. At no time did I see any dogs roaming about but its good that dogs are allowed a holiday too. There were no dogs in the restaurant or in the lounge area - owners are asked to keep them in their rooms. Dogs being in the hotel do not bother me in the slightest providing the owners abide by the hotel policies, as we did.

Towels were changed daily and I had a comfortable sleep in the rooms - the alcohol probably did help but the hotel isnt noisy and although our room was at the front, there wasnt any noise from passing traffic etc.

Booked to go back in August for the highland games so surely that tells you that its worth a visit !!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Having read some previous unfavourable comments regarding this hotel, we went for our first visit with an open mind and we are so pleased that we did, we were delighted that we did not take any notice of their negativity.
The food was good, plenty of choice, and very warm welcome by all the staff, i.e. Kelly, Sean (Maddie’s new best friend) and not forgetting our wonderful host Robert.
The hotel does need a spruce in a few areas, but for the sheer value for money, which would be hard to beat, you would enjoy clean sheets and towels, hospitality tray replenished daily, and above all it was comfortable and we were completely at ease and look forward to a return visit in the near future. Take time to read the positive remarks as we are sure you will enjoy your visit as much as we did.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms ideal if you take your dog. Excellent Room 216
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

stayed here last weekend with our dog and it was just lovely. room was small but at the front and lovely view but suited us just fine. a bit dated and need of some paint but room was very clean and lovely fresh towels. had a bar supper in the public bar as had the dog and it was lovely. had such a laugh with other guests including an 82 year old man from perth where we stay serenading us and telling us his life story. was brilliant. breakfast in morning was lovely. buffet style but a lovely hot cooked fresh scottish breakfast. lots of lovely walks to take the dog and will definately be back just gutted its all booked up for new year already. looks like a great few days there and would have loved to have gone. well recommended.

Room Tip: try get a room at the front as lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I am writing this review in reply to the adverse comments made by some. I agree with one writer that you would have to be very picky to find fault with the Nethybridge Hotel.

We have stayed twice over Christmas and on both occasions received a very warm welcome from Manager Robert who has a very dry wit and is absolutely charming. The staff at the hotel go out of their way to make your Christmas stay am enjoyable one and never once have I heard them complain about working over the festive season.

The food is excellent and the breakfast is the best I have been served any where. The choice of food is excellent and plenty of it. The dining room is clean well laid out and very welcoming.

The bedrooms are big well furnished and comfortable. We have stayed in one of the club bedrooms in the turrets and also on the first floor and I really didnt find much difference in the standards.....the club room being larger.

The public bar attached to the hotel is frequented nightly by locals who made us feel part of the community even including us in rounds of drinks...I have never experienced this anywhere else.

Needless to say we are once again booking Christmas at the Nethybridge and personally cannot wait to be there with Robert and company.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Dominating the centre of the village, this wonderful late VIctorian baronial hotel has so much character. Our rooms - in one of the towers - were spacious, with great views, and were clean, comfortable and quiet. The public rooms were welcoming - with real fires blazing away. There was a separate bar which seemed full of locals (always a good sign!) - and the dining room was very elegant, with delightful staff and excellent food. Our stay was really good value for money. The Spey Valley is extremely attractive, and the RSPB's Loch Garten reserve is walking distance from the hotel. We hope to return!

Room Tip: worth asking for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We have recently stayed here for a week. The hotel is a little "tired" in places but the staff, location and atmosphere make up for it. It seems to be in the process of some updating. The food is wholesome and plenty. The breakfast is all buffet style and full service in the evenings, with a good choice and a different menu each evening.
We had a lovely room, 4 poster bed and the bathroom was so much bigger than a hotel room we had in London! Clean fresh towels every day and a welcome pack of wine, chocolates ,crisps and nuts daily. The staff are very friendly and nothing is any bother to them, they are all such characters!.
It was our first visit here but know it will be our last.
Well done to the Manager for running such a charasmatic Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have a great view, not sure about the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Nethybridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nethybridge Hotel

Address: Nethy Bridge PH25 3DP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Nethy Bridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Nethy Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Nethybridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Nethybridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nethybridge Hotel Nethy Bridge
The Nethybridge Hotel Nethy Bridge, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nethybridge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.