We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Nethybridge Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Nethybridge Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Nethybridge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nethy Bridge PH25 3DP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Nethy Bridge
Scotland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Love this hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

Stayed at The Nethy Bridge Hotel for the Easter weekend(our 7th visit over 16 years!) and are delighted to report we had a fantastic three days.
Robert the hotel manager is the shining star ably assisted by a welcoming reception,fabulous dining staff and excellent housekeepers.We had clean towels every day.The entertainment in the Revack suite was really good.
The atmosphere at the Nethy Bridge is second to none.We have stayed at higher starred hotels that cannot match this hotel for hospitality and something that little bit different.
Robert and his staff went out of the way to make the children feel included with an easter egg hunt with over 50 eggs to find,egg painting competitions and quiz.
It is very good value for money and trhe scenery is breathtaking.We have booked again for the Abernethy Highland games in August and are looking forward to it already.
I would also recommend a visit on the Strathspey Steam Railway leaving from Aviemore.We had the Afternoon Tea in the first class carraige and I cannot recommend it highly enough.It is like stepping back to the 1940s and onto the set of Brief Encounter-just magical-loved every minute of it.

All in all a brilliant weekend and again thank you to Robert and the team or making our stay so enjoyable

Room Tip: Great for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    66
    30
    25
    25
See reviews for
47
76
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

Fairly decent highland hotel. Unfortunately is afflicted with the curse of many Scottish hotels: quality sacrificed over quantity in the form of the bus tour operators. I guess they have to make money somehow.

That said, the room was comfortable and the food was pretty good. The only thing that annoyed me was the piped Christmas music in early November. Roaring log fire in the reception which was nice.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

I've just returned from a 4 night stay at the Nethybridge Hotel. I had a great time and I thought the atmosphere at the hotel was great, I really felt at home here.

The staff were informal but not too informal - they were pleasant and polite and meals were served quickly and efficiently.

I'm not saying the hotel is first class but it is very good and great value for money. I will definitely be back.

Thank you to the manager - Robert (a character) and his staff, who were all lovely.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

This is my second visit this year to the Nethybridge Hotel, this time we came up to see the Highland Games in Nethybridge itself and it was fabulous, the hotel is the same as last time, Breakfast fantastic as much as one can eat and the evening meal is outstanding finishing off with either tea or coffee which is served in the comfortable lounge. The staff and management all remain the same which is nice to see as you get to know them as idividuals and feel as though you know them. The gardens of the hotel at this time of year were stunning a beautifull display of flowers. If you are wanting a nice quiet relaxing break as we did you couldnt do any better, we stayed for 4nights but it wasnt long enough but cannot see how anybody couldnt like it or would have anything to complain about, roll on the next time.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linlithgow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

We stayed one night only. Some aspects were fine but there's a lot could be improved. The evening staff were helpful. Dinner was good, if a bit basic ; certainly reasonable value for the price, but that was all. Unfortunately, the mattress was so lumpy we gave up after a few hours and slept on the top covers. There was no radio in the room and a TV with poor reception. Breakfast was a disaster. The kitchens quickly ran out of eggs. No tea was provided, not even tea bags, only coffee. When I asked one of only 2 members of staff on duty in the restaurant for tea, he just looked at me. No tea came, although 10 minutes later more pots of coffee appeared. Meantime, the other member of staff spent the whole time setting tables for dinner! Surely they can do better than this. Wouldn't plan to go back unless they improve.

I

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

We traveled to the hotel only to find after a seven hour drive that the reviews did not seem to run true firstly it looked well run down from the out side and when we got in side it did not get any better ,However we stuck with it and went to the reception to collect our key no one there so some in the foyer came to us, We went to the room and you could smell a musty smell as you went up the staires in the room it got even worse so we went straight back to the reception and handed the key back and left no body seemed to be surprised

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

We have just returned from a two night stay and were very surpirised at how much we enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the bed was extremely comfortable and the room was clean with large soft bath towels. There was a varied choice for breakfast and this was of a good standard.

The decor is a bit tired in places and we couldn't use the putting due to the grass needing cut but these did not really matter due to the quality of other aspects.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Nethybridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nethybridge Hotel

Address: Nethy Bridge PH25 3DP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Nethy Bridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Nethy Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Nethybridge Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Nethybridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nethybridge Hotel Nethy Bridge
The Nethybridge Hotel Nethy Bridge, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nethybridge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.