We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay in Farr Lodge was delightful - can't wait to return.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dell of Abernethy Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nethy Bridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dell of Abernethy Cottages
Save
You added Dell of Abernethy Cottages to your Saves list
The Dell, Abernethy Forest, Nethy Bridge, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our stay in Farr Lodge was delightful - can't wait to return.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Our stay in Farr Lodge was delightful. It was spacious, clean, comfortable, especially the beds and had all the household items necessary for a relaxed holiday. There was even a cafetiere so we could enjoy our morning coffee whilst watching Red Squirels and Great Spotted woodpeckers in the small enclosed garden. Next time I will bring a supply of peanuts. There was plenty of hot water and the electric fire in the living room more than sufficient for those chilly mornings and evenings. Digital TV plus basic Sky package and a DVD player supplied although we spent nearly all our time watching the wildlife.
Set in the secluded and beautiful Abernethy Forrest, this dog friendly cottage is an ideal base from which to explore the locallity whether it be hill walking, forrest walks, ornithology, cycling, visiting the famous whisky distilleries or just relaxing. Walking trails through the forrest start from the end of the drive and eventually lead up onto the mountain tops. There are good shops in Grantown on Spey only a few miles away and a small, well stocked supermarket in the village of Nethy Bridge just one mile from the cottage. The new owners are charming and helpful and we wish them every success in this new venture. Sue, Vicky and the dogs

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Loughgall
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

We had a warm welcome from Ross and Polly, and found the cottage cosy and inviting. As the weather turned out, we greatly appreciated the masses of warm water and the drying cupboard. Everyday we could admire the spectacular goat willow outside, watch birds and red squirrels, and receive visits from Mr Scragg, the tame pheasant. On walks in nearby forests we saw badgers and even a capercaillie. A cosy, intimate place to be with family, and ideal for nature lovers.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

This is our 4th or 5th stay at these fantastic cottages on the outskirts of Nethybridge and we cannot rercommend these highly enough for people on holiday with young kids. the accommodation is absultely ideal: the cottages have all you need: microwave, fridge/freezer, electric shower, sky TV (basic package). We were recommended by freinds who have been stayign with their family for almost 20 years. The cottages are set in gardens which are very safe and the kids have freedom to run around - such a difference from the city. Nethybrideg is beautiful and also there is SO much to do in the surrounding area. We will be back again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

my brother and myself have been regular visitors to Nethy Bridge for many years, as it is situated close to Abernethy Forest and hill country. Dell of Abernethy Cottages are nicely tucked away from the main road, but easily accessible, and the village shop and other ammenities such as "eating out" are within walking distance (by road) or fantastic river paths.
Dell of Abernethy has several cottages catering for large families or couples. we have stayed in South Dell for this particular holiday.
Plenty of room in a spacious lounge with eating area, clean bathroom with shower and heated towel rail(very useful), and compact kitchen. Plenty of bedrooms and loads of cupboard space. Given that you are in the Scottish Highlands where you can expect very low temperatures, the cottage is easily kept warm , and in April when we were there, the rental includes some "background heating", very useful.
Location is fantastic, once down the drive you are straight into Abernethy Forest, with acres of paths suitable for both walking and biking, lots of wildlife - including golden eagles.
the Cairngorm hill range is just down the valley, whisky distilleries (Spey Valley famous for them and many offer tours).
so much to do and see, and the Dell of Abernethy is an excellent centre for walking and touring, in a comfortable setting.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

Stayed here for a few days over Christmas, as a last minute booking due to cancellation of booked accomodation. Website images looked lovely, but in reality bears little to where we stayed. Our cottage was called Far End, and was the last of the cottages in the Dell.Next door was a ramshackled caravan and a pretty untidy farm yard. Even though there had been a day between the booking and our arrival the cottage was really cold, and heating and hot water I think had just been put on as we got there.Despite the temp outside being -12. Very basic cottage, tatty towels in all rooms, kitchen was something out of the 50's and very little equipment and a real mish mash of odd glasses. Kitchen wall was damp and at times quite wet. Bathroom was awful, damp and mould on wall and door, mould on shower curtain, badly stained bath, and was still dirty from previous occupant. Electric heaters in all rooms , which had to be on full blast to get warm, and this spun the electric meters at high speed. Not great when you had to pay separately for heating. The only good thing about the cottage interiror was the beds, have to say one of the most comfy beds I have ever slept in , and a great nights sleep. In the morning went outside, have to say that the location of the cottage is amazing, right on the edge of Abernethy forest , and lots of paths into the forest. Also very close to Avimore, Tulloch Moor , Boat of Garten and all the attractions nearby.
Picked up a leaflet for the cottage and saw a Visit Scotland 3 star rating,I was amazed. We also have a holiday cottage in the Highlands that we let, and if that was a 3 star ours must be a 10 star! I guess looking at inside images of some of the other cottages , they are the ones that were awarded that rating, but it has been used to advertise all of the accomodation on the site.This summed up wI hate about holiday accomodation, everything done as cheaply as possible and no care and attention.
To sum up very basic accomodation which look a little unloved & uncared for,

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dellofabernethy, Owner at Dell of Abernethy Cottages, responded to this review, April 5, 2011
We have responded directly to this review and take seriously the comments made.
The last thing we want is for our guests to leave The Dell with an experience like this.
Although we cannot change a - 12 degrees winter we will make every effort to ensure that this does not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dell of Abernethy Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dell of Abernethy Cottages

Address: The Dell, Abernethy Forest, Nethy Bridge, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Nethy Bridge
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Nethy Bridge
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Dell Of Abernethy Cottages Nethy Bridge, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dell of Abernethy Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.