We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice B&B and lovely welcome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Balciuin B&B

Balciuin B&B
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Balciuin B&B to your Saves list
Balciuin B&B
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   5 Lynstock Park, Nethy Bridge PH25 3EL, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Nethy Bridge B&B and Inns
Scotland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“very nice B&B and lovely welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We were attending Motormania at near by Grantown on spey and chose to stay here as it was close by, on arrival the owner actually informed us that we were staying across the street and had a whole house to ourselves!! It was great as we were able to park the car in the driveway and had loads of room.
We had coffee and home made scones in Balciuin itself and had a lovely cooked breakfast there in the morning, the owner was friendly and helpful and we hope to return for longer next time.
We felt for £65 it was well worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We were in Nethy Bridge for a highland wedding and stayed at Balciuin for 5 nights. Trish is a lovely and welcoming host. Her 3 rooms, all with ensuite washrooms, were clean and well appointed, with all the comforts of home. Free secured wifi. Lots of parking. We slept very well in this quiet B&B. The bright large breakfast room was laid out daily with fresh fruit salad, cereal, and toast with jams - Trish will also cater to hot breakfast requests, some notice is requested.

The centre of Nethy Bridge is a 10 minute walk, which is where the church, social hall, Spar convenience store, and hotel pub are located. The walking path along the forested River Nethy is perfect for a romantic outing or simply to get back and forth to the town centre. A rental car is definitely an asset in this area to see the beautiful surrounding countryside, Cairngorm Mountains, and do some whiskey tastings along the whiskey trail.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Pros :

Pleasant Hostess , Trish
Good, clean rooms
En-suite bathrooms good quality
clean, comfortable beds

Our hostess Trish, was pleasant and non-intrusive, she bakes real good bread and her pineapple-mint jelly is an absolute must-try. She also pointed us towards some local must-trys which we LOVED.

If you are driving in the cairngorms, do not miss this little nursery in Inschraich by feshiebridge - This norwegian woman has a plant nursery and a tea room that serves the BEST cakes, you can also eat it while watching the birds and squirrels.. we had a great time !

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Have stayed here several times and always had a wonderful time. The welcome tea and cake is fantastic after a long drive, the rooms are all really comfortable and the breakfasts are wonderful. Trish is always so welcomig and we spend hours chatting!

Room Tip: Bit more space in the upstairs rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed for one night before heading off up into the hills. Trish made us very welcome and we really appreciated the tea and cake on arrival. Our room was large and comfortable. Breakfast was a treat but we didn't really have time to linger so will have to go back again to sample everything properly!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

Our family of four stayed for one night and we were very comfortable. Spacious rooms with many little extras supplied. Breakfast offered a great variety and our host was most helpful.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2008

We arrived at Nethy Bridge at midday for a wedding and we were very lucky to have chosen to saty at Balciuin. Trish welcomed us into the house giving us refreshments and access to our rooms to shower and change. She then very kindly ran us down to the church in time for the ceremony. Arriving back late was no problem as we had our own keys and the following morning we were able to have a late bountiful breakfast. We sat in the sunroom looking out at the beautiful forest and Cairngorm mountains.
We hope to return again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Balciuin B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balciuin B&B

Address: 5 Lynstock Park, Nethy Bridge PH25 3EL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Nethy Bridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Nethy Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Balciuin B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balciuin is a new but traditional style house on the eastern edge of Nethy Bridge, deep in The Cairngorm National Park. The house offers spectacular, uninterrupted views over the Abernethy Forest. Massage is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Balciuin B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balciuin B&B Nethy Bridge, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balciuin B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.