We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cor wot luxury!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Assynt House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Evanton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Assynt House
Save
You added Assynt House to your Saves list
Evanton IV16 9XW, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Cor wot luxury!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

This grand house is simply superb. It has been thoughtfully furnished, is generously equipped, and is clearly designed with the top end of the market in mind.
I didn't pay for my week here so can't comment on the value, but was very impressed by the thoughtful attention to detail. There is simply nothing in the house that's tatty or cheap.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
assynt, Owner at Assynt House, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thanks so much for your review, delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Assynt House!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We spent a wonderful week here while up fishing on the Conon. Family and friends, aged between fifteen and eighty six years old, all found Assynt House to be very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Everything is as described on their website. Graham and Elizabeth are very welcoming and easy-going and they adapt to all aspects of one's needs. Very high standards and very close attention to detail, seemingly effortless but totally professional, all leads to a very relaxed atmosphere. Graham served lovely food and plenty of it - highlights for us were scallops, lobster, chicken with haggis and whisky sauce, rice pudding with blueberry compote, cheesecake, sticky toffee pudding . . . and of course, those delicious canapés. Looking forward to next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AssyntHouse, Owner at Assynt House, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and really hope to see you and the family back at Assynt House next year!
With best wishes,

Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were so very lucky to find Assynt House while looking for a place to have a family get together in Scotland. I cannot say enough good things about it, and the wonderful owners, Elizabeth and Graham Waugh.

I was in touch with Elizabeth over email for a few months before our arrival, and she was always willing to answer any questions I had or give me suggestions and recommendations. Since we were a big group of 16, we finally decided to have Graham cater our meals during our stay. Must say, it was an excellent decision! Graham's food was delicious, and we all got to spend less time in the kitchen and more time together to take in the gorgeous surroundings. Win-win :) Both of them were so accommodating and flexible with us choosing to do one-pot meals, and we organized a menu before our arrival which made things a lot easier.

The house itself is situated in a very picturesque area, where you can roam around and go for walks/runs or just sit and take in the beauty of the place. We also went for a complimentary whiskey tour at the Dalmore distillery which is nearby. All the whiskey lovers in my family really enjoyed it! The attention to detail and care with which the house has been restored is evident when you go around. All the rooms were also impeccably clean, and there was daily housekeeping too. They also very thoughtfully had a collection of games and books for guests to use.

But the most impressive aspect was Elizabeth and Graham's hospitality. From the moment we arrived till the day we left, we felt so well-taken care of. They are such warm and friendly people, and they made our stay completely stress-free and relaxing.

For anybody who wants to have a vacation in the Scottish Highlands with some very fine hospitality, Assynt House is the place to stay at. Thank you Elizabeth and Graham for making our stay so memorable!

-- Gayathri B, Seattle, WA

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaughsAway, Owner at Assynt House, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Gayathri,

Thank you so much for your review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday at Assynt House and it was a pleasure to have you stay, hope to welcome you and the family back soon!

With very best wishes,

Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

From our first visit to assynt house to view it as a potential wedding venue I knew it was the one! The house is absolutely stunning and speaks for itself but the warm welcome we received from Elizabeth and graham was fantastic. They really are one of the nicest couples who put so much love into assynt house and the visitors.
Elizabeth was a great help with planning the wedding, she has a lot of contacts which come in very useful if you are not living in the area. She was always very quick to respond and come up with suggestions whenever I had one of my bridal demands.
On the day of arrival, the day before the wedding, we were greeted by a fresh batch of fruit scones and a bottle of Dalmore whisky to help get the celebrations underway. Elizabeth then went through the running order of the day with us and showed us all to our rooms where she had made individual door hangers with each guests name, a very nice personal touch. The rooms are finished so well, very in keeping with the style of house and our young guests even had story books all laid out on their beds. The double jacuzzi bath is amazing i wish we could take it home and the bathrooms have local soaps for the guests which is a lovely touch. We spent most of that night in the downstairs lounge which sat 20 of us quite comfortably.
Then around 5pm we got told our piper could not make the wedding but Elizabeth came to the rescue again and by 9 pm we had a choice of 2 pipers, disaster averted.

On the day everything went perfectly, the sun shone and everyone was so relaxed in the lovely atmosphere that Assynt house creates. Whilst I was getting my hair done I could see graham out mowing the lawn(as it was not weather the day before) and then before I knew it he was back across in his chefs hat making the wonderful wedding breakfast. They really are a great team and as the day progressed you knew if you needed anything they would be more than happy to help but sever felt like they were interfering.

Before we knew it it was time for the ceremony and we could not have hoped for better, as the door opened for me to walk down the aisle/ garden the sun shone bright. The lower section of the gardens is an ideal location for such a ceremony very secluded and sheltered and truly beautiful. After the ceremony all our guests were greeted by a a glass of fizz, and then we went on to get our photos taken, there are so many unique places within the grounds of Assynt to have these very special photos taken.
Our wedding breakfast was served promptly after the speeches and it was delicious. All of our guests raved about the food at our wedding, with our vegetarian guests stating it was the best vegetarian meal they have had. Everything was cooked to perfection and the service was top notch.
The meal was cleared away efficiently whilst our guests chatted amongst themselves and then we were ready to dance the night away. After the supper was served Elizabeth and graham left us to it, they had done so much and we knew if we needed they were close at hand.

They allowed us to take our time the next day before we left which is nice after such a big day and night. To some up our stay at Assynt house, I couldn't imagine a better place to have celebrated such a special occasion!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
assynt, Owner at Assynt House, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience of Assynt House with readers, we really enjoyed your wedding day and looking after you and your guests, you really never had any "bridal demands!" Hope to welcome you back one day!
Elizabeth & Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

When my husband told me that he booked us in a House run by a family, I expected a more personal service than a regular hotel. Upon arriving, I was pleasantly surprised by a "castle" in its true sense. Elizabeth and Graham were personally waiting to greet us and showed us around the premises which took out breath away.. I was tired of saying "Oh My God" at entering every one of the seven rooms. They were all impeccably furnished with top notch taste.
Every evening, Graham presented us with a 3 course meal suitable for royalty, then we were served tea and coffee in front of the fireplace which Graham had set for us, making the evening nothing but complete.
If you want to truly disconnect from from your work, busy city and pressures of any kind, look no further.. book the Assynt House.. The serenity and calmness this place provides is unmatched.

Room Tip: We chose the room on the top left hand side of the stairs, as it had the biggest closet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We returned to Assynt House this June for what has become a much-loved annual family get-together - and Elizabeth & Graham and the beautiful house did not disappoint us! The house is beautifully restored (and maintained), very luxurious, and yet so comfortable at the same time. Bedrooms are really attractive, very spacious, each with its own unique character. The lounge/dining room, sitting room and cosy, eat-in kitchen (so well equipped!) are beautifully decorated and very functional.

Elizabeth & Graham always make us feel so at home, and Graham excelled himself with superb dinners in the evenings, elegantly served by Elizabeth and staff. As always, great housekeeping and lovely fresh flowers in the rooms. The house is in a beautiful setting amidst extensive gardens, and an ideal base for many interesting excursions (by car and foot), and lovely scenery within easy reach. For those of us living in more southern spots, the June light is incredible. We simply can't say enough good things about our visits to Assynt House! We will return!
Stephanie & Jeffrey

Room Tip: All are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We hired Assynt House as the location for our wedding reception (we were married in a nearby Chapel). Our aim was to create a fine dining experience and a sophisticated dinner party for our guests. Elizabeth and Graham Waugh (the owners of Assynt House) could not have been more attentive in, first and foremost, listening to what it was we wanted to achieve (rather than them telling US how wedding receptions at Assynt House were usually accommodated (which had been our experience at a previous location). They then went ahead and COMPLETELY delivered beyond all of our expectations. From the welcoming arrival (with accompanying Cake and Whisky) to the moment of our eventual departure, they simply could not have done more. Everyday, the housekeeping wasn't simply limited to an exercise in pristine cleaning, but included small touches like re-arranging flowers through out the house, which continued to make the House feel special. The re-laying of fireplaces was also done with such efficiency that they seemed to be magically regenerated every morning.

For the actual wedding reception, Graham's food was, quite frankly, some of the finest I have ever experienced; it compared favourably against a recent trip the The Three Chimney's on Skye! This was coupled with service by stewards who were both cheerful in their demeanour, whilst being totally professional in their attentive and efficient service. For 6 hours, 29 of our guests sat at the specially arranged dinner table and there was NOBODY that didn't think that the experience was superb.

After this gastronomic tour de force we retired for barely 20 minutes before returning to an entirely re-established lounge complete with twin burning fireplaces for an evening of song, dance and laughter.

This might be read as an overly sentimental and 'gushing' review - but from our perspective Assynt House and its staff were perfect; it cannot be recommended more highly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Assynt House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Assynt House

Address: Evanton IV16 9XW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Evanton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Evanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Assynt House is a luxury holiday home located in the Highlands of Scotland offering the flexible choice of self-catering or a part/fully catered stay. The house has seven en-suite bedrooms and can accommodate up to 14 guests plus cots. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Assynt House Evanton, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Assynt House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.