We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Use that wonderful fireplace !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tulloch Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tulloch Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Tulloch Castle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tulloch Castle Drive, Dingwall IV15 9ND, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dingwall
Ayr, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Use that wonderful fireplace !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Quite a quirky old hotel, lots of wood panelling. Very imposing reception area with leather armchairs and a huge stone fireplace. But arriving late afternoon, cold and damp outside and no fire burning. A good log fire would have made the whole place seem so much more welcoming. Country hotels like this need to make the most of such features. Main bar was a bit characterless. But the food was very good and the room very comfortable. If that huge fireplace had been lit I would have sat there with a single malt and felt all was right with the world. But alas it was not to be. But a quite reasonable room rate, and I would certainly consider staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TullochManager, General Manager at Tulloch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your very constructive comments regarding the use of the hotel reception fire place. You are quite correct. We do use this, particularly when the weather is miserable outside, however sometimes we fail to put the fire on early enough or we allow it to go out during the night. We are definitely working harder to ensure we have better use of the fire.
thank you once again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    104
    66
    59
    48
See reviews for
57
210
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elgin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Booked through LateRooms and got an amazing deal, huge room with an even bigger four poster bed. The rooms and castle were very very clean and the staff very helpful and friendly.
A very cosy and warm castle will lots of history and the odd spook :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TullochManager, General Manager at Tulloch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are delighted you had a wonderful stay - hopefully we will see you again sometime.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coupar Angus, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I wish someone could explain to me how this has achieved a 4 star rating? Have stayed in many 3, 4 and 5 star hotels throughout the world but this is by far the worst. Charming, historic etc.....there are so many words to use which are excuses for what is an awful place. Ok.......we thought that we got a good deal for two nights but looks like we paid too much. Honestly!! The car park and short driveway should give the game away! Welcome was a bit frosty and when I asked about the resident ghost, the response was "I've never seen it." At least sell the place...could have mentioned the ghost tour. The room was tiny, the radiator was like a furnace, even opening the window fully made no difference to the tropical temperature given it was -2 outside. The shower had absolutely no pressure and the dials were broken. Mould on the window frames, paint missing and peeling. Wallpaper falling off. No-one at breakfast to welcome guests, which i believe is a must given the rating. Could not sleep and decided to cut our losses, left after one night. Offered an alternative room.....no thanks! Never again at this place.......should have stayed at Bunchrew House near Inverness....it is absolutely first rate and worthy of the star rating. Ok....Tulloch Castle is 12th century, don't mind the creaky floorboards or oldy world look, but it must live up to the rating. The AA should reassess this place and soon.

Room Tip: 12th century building is not an excuse for shabbiness. If you have to stay insist on checking the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TullochManager, General Manager at Tulloch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay and are disappointed you did not allow us to rectify any of our issues when you decided to leave.
The Castle has different shapes and sizes of bedrooms, with upgrades available. We try as far as possible to automatically upgrade when rooms are available. However, this is not always possible and guests paying the lower rates will be allocated the smaller rooms.
This does not of course excuse bad service or maintenance issues, for which we have an ongoing maintenance programme.
Thank you once again for yoru comments.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I arrived to a nice reception had a lovely dinner but going into my bedroom the television was not working. I phoned the reception and was told they would deal with the problem and send somebody to fix it,nobody came and I phoned back down to reception just after 9 pm and got no reply, I was very dissappointed by this bad end to a good day as they say so I will not be going back

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TullochManager, General Manager at Tulloch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments and I can only apologise for someone not taking the time to look at the television in your room.
I am glad you enjoyed the other aspects of your stay with your dinner are welcome to the hotel.
Thank you once again
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

When we arrived we were greeted as if we had been friends for ages. It is definitely a castle it even has a resident ghost. Nothing was too much trouble the food was great in the Restaurant and in the bar. As for the room well, huge bed 2 arm chairs fantastic en-suite large fire place 2 windows. Just superb

Room Tip: We were in room 4 a room to the side of the hotel and found no problems with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TullochManager, General Manager at Tulloch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Guest
We are delighted you had a great time at the Castle and enjoyed the atmosphere. We look forward to welcoming you back to Scotland and Tulloch Castle.
With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Trip to Scotland in September, partner found this hotel as previously stayed in another of the hotels in the same chain. Warm welcome & fantastic receptionist, (Melena). We stayed over Halloween w/e and there was a "spooky" evening planned with ghost walk if we wanted to participate. The room was comfortable with 2 double beds & a lovely bathroom. The decor is a little dated & I think they could have used more of the castle theme here. We booked a table in the restaurant which was big but not busy, (the restaurant is open to non guests as well) I ordered scallop's which was beautiful & was served with black pudding & pea purée, this really a fantastic dish. I had the belly pork which was very fatty & my partner had the braised beef which was beautiful, (I had it the following night it was so good). My only comment on the restaurant was that it was very dark and you couldn't really see your food never mind each other. We knew that we were out of season for Scotland and we found a lot of things closed but the area is beautiful & the Loch Ness Exhibition centre really is a good attraction. The only let down on the whole trip was Dingwall itself, there is nothing there apart from fast food bars & hairdressers. We couldn't find anywhere else to eat and had to eat in the hotel restaurant which wasn't a hardship as the food really is fantastic. The hotel is comfortable & we sat in reception on the Sunday with the papers which was very chilled. We are football fans and we wanted to watch the Mersey Derby, we were collected by a taxi company arranged by Melena & she gave us some good tips on where to go, the taxi driver was also very helpful & friendly & took us to a bar called Oscars & he spoke to the owner who arranged for the match to be shown on the big screen. It may not look much, the owner was really friendly and we certainly made friends with the locals. Malena was fantastic & so helpful, the other staff were ok but not overly friendly which I suggest needs some attention.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TullochManager, General Manager at Tulloch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind words, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay, especially your dining experiences.
We are glad you found things to do in the area. Dingwall is a small market town and like other similar sized towns is going through a peroid of change.
We hope to see you again in the near future. Thank you for your comments, once again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for new year, great atmosphere, good food, friendly staff, over all excellent value for money.
We stayed on a new year package for 3 nights included ghost your, New Year's Eve party with 5 course dinner, highland dancers, piper and DJ till 1am, fantastic night.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TullochManager, General Manager at Tulloch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your lovely comments. It was a special Hogmanay break and everyone enoyed the atmosphere and the break. The staff will welcome your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
With kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tulloch Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulloch Castle Hotel

Address: Tulloch Castle Drive, Dingwall IV15 9ND, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Dingwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dingwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tulloch Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an imposing position, with Highland views spread out like an open atlas, Tulloch Castle is on the edge of the bustling market town of Dingwall, just 15 miles north of Inverness. Swift new roads make Tulloch Castle the perfect base to explore the enchanting Black Isle to the east and the stunning contrasts of the unforgettable deep glens and rugged coastlines of the unforgettable deep glens and rugged coastlines of the West Highlands; all just a daytrip away. Whether you want to enjoy a fine meal in our restaurant, rest for a few nights in one of the castle bedchambers, or just taste local ale in the Green Lady Lounge, you will find Tulloch Castle an unforgettable place to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tulloch Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulloch Castle Dingwall
Hotel Tulloch Castle
Tulloch Castle Hotel Dingwall, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tulloch Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.