We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Manor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Old Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Old Manor Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Leven Road, Lundin Links KY8 6AJ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lundin Links
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stopped here for lunch, very late in the day having had a disappointing attempt to find lunch earlier, but the staff here couldn't have been more helpful. We only ordered two courses each, but the food was very tasty and extremely good value for money. The views across the links to the sea are second to none, and the dining area was warm, comfortable and nicely decorated. It was out of season and the hotel seemed to be having quite a lot of work done, but we were most impressed by the attitude of the staff and would certainly stay for longer if we were in the area in the future ...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    97
    32
    13
    7
See reviews for
54
151
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We have dinned in this hotel on a few occasions. But this was the first time we had stayed over.
We got a cracking deal especially considering we had our kids with us and it was the 14th of February.
Our rooms were almost like a little two bedroom flat with a private bathroom. Very comfortable.
If we had to be picky, it would be to say that the decor in the rooms were very tired and showing signs of water damage. But other than that, no other complaints.
All the staff were very nice, even when they discovered that our diner booking had not been entered in the diary. But little more than a 10 minute wait and we were seated with an apology that really wasn't necessary. But very much appreciated.
More than happy to recommend this hotel, as the views from the dinning room across the Golf course to North Berwick, are stunning.
Thank you once again.

Room Tip: Some rooms to the rear, above the dinning room have a balcony, and the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

You cannot buy staff like this! Absolute attention to detail each and every one. We enjoyed a birthday break with fantastic sea views on our own private balcony. We relaxed in the lovely lounge with blazing fire and brilliant views again of the sea. Views from the Restaurant suspended above the golf course across panoramic sea views to die for. Vicky and Paige were amazing on reception along with Del the bar manager. Lizzy you were a star. Oh, must not forget the ever attentive Douglas who just seemed to be there for us. Cant deny the rooms need a little updating but this is in hand. Believe me all the above makes up for it.

Really cannot recommend this hotel enough for cleanliness, staff service and location. Looking forward to our return and missing you already.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProprietorOldManor, Owner at Old Manor Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear delboyandhoney - I was delighted to read your kind comments, thank you - these have been printed off and placed (proudly!) on our staff board.

Everyone looks forward to welcoming you back again soon! Cheers, Alistair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lundin Links, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Took my other half for valentine treat
Waitresses very pleasant and 'smiley'
Ordered steak for main course - far too simply presented ... on the plate was 8oz steak, very small knob of cheese on top & small bowl of look-warm fries - that's it. NO garnish or attempt to present food nicely!!
I eat out frequently and been to many less 'classy' restaurants and enjoyed food much better
Will not recommend. Will not return!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProprietorOldManor, Owner at Old Manor Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Hello Deek112, thank you for your comments following your recent meal at the Old Manor.

Whilst naturally I am disapponted to read your review, having spoken to members of staff on duty, they are not aware of any adverse situations that evening, nor any food being returned to the kitchen uneaten. In fact, the feedback we received throughout the evening was most positive, and had any issues been raised at any time during your meal, we would certainly have done our utmost to rectify this.

It is regrettable that you have chosen to raise your views in such a way, as it now provides little opportunity for us to make amends, other than to offer an apology.

That said, I do hope that as a regular diner, and local to the hotel, you will consider a return visit at some stage in the future.

Kind regards.

Alistair Saddler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

After a recent op I have been in my bed for 2 weeks. I was allowed up the following weekend so my husband took me for a coastal run in the car and we ended up at the old manor for a bar lunch. Couldn't fault the bar lunch it was nice and well priced but the facilities for getting into the hotel were terrible. No parking near the entrance, two heavy glass swing doors to go through (not automatic) then through their renovation area to reach the conservetory. I would have been unable to do this on my own with two feet in plaster and supported by crutches. Reception staff also too busy chatting to at least open or hold the doors. Dissapointing that there were no disable ramps and automatic doors. I hate to think how people who can't walk ever or have wheelchairs can put up with these obstructions on a daily basis. I hope as part of their lavish renovation that they are doing that there are things done for disabled people

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProprietorOldManor, Owner at Old Manor Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Hello Sandy M - thank you for taking the time to post your observations following your recent visit, I hope that by the time this response appears, you will be feeling much better, and more mobile.

Many disabled customers use the hotel, and we have not once received this type of feedback - not only are there several marked disabled parking spaces near the front door (any vehicle can also be driven right to the front door), all our members of staff are encouraged to be both helpful and courteous to each guest who is within the building. Whilst I am sorry that on this occasion you were not offered assistance, for whatever reason, I know that if assistance had been requested, any member of staff would have been pleased to oblige. I would also query why no mention was made to any member of staff about your experience at the time.

Kind regards, AW Saddler.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Been about a year since I last visited. Only went for Sunday lunch but again the food was great with a good fixed price menu i.e. 2 course for £x etc - great value for money & usual great sea view from restaurant.

They have improved the dessert menu with the ice cream with compot now served in a glass instead of flat plate (looks a lot better & more of it). My Mum & friends had the carvery which they loved.

Last time there was no real reception which was a bit confusing, however, see they have now installed a brand new shiny one right at the front - much better & looks the part.

A piper even piped us in but don't expect this all the time as pretty sure he was only there because of the wedding fair being held at the time. The wedding cars on display were amazing - wish I had one.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProprietorOldManor, Owner at Old Manor Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Hello sandylove1961, thank you for your kind comments following your visit for Sunday lunch recently - the feedback regarding the new Reception area has been very positive, and I think we'll be getting the piper back too (it made for a great atmosphere, albeit as you say, he was only here for the Wedding Fayre!).

Thank you again. Kind regards, Alistair Saddler.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

This family owned and run property is located a hundred yards from the sea shore with magnificent views across the Firth of Forth to the Bass rock and Berwick Law. However, the bedrooms are still sporting 1980's decor. This hotel really needs to decorate the bedrooms and rip out the peach ceramic toilet wear. Some of the public areas are contemporary and well decorated but there is an inconsistency between the bedrooms and lounge and dining room. The breakfast was really good and cooked to perfection. Friendly staff but please bring the hotel out of the 20th century and into the 21st.

Room Tip: Ask to see the bedroom before you agree to sleep in it. Our room was kitted out for a disabled guest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProprietorOldManor, Owner at Old Manor Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Hello 626 Alicia - thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Old Manor following your recent stay - I acknowledge entirely that parts of the hotel need upgrading. You'll be pleased to know that these past 4 weeks, the foyer and halls have been transformed with new carpets and decor, and a smart new Reception area.

The bedrooms will be dealt with next, and in the meantime, all the team will be working hard to deliver the high standards we are looking to achieve, now and in the future.

I hope you will pay us a return visit to have a look!
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Manor Hotel

Address: 55 Leven Road, Lundin Links KY8 6AJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Lundin Links
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lundin Links
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the stunning coastline of the East Neuk of Fife, with magnicicent panoramic views over Largo Bay and Lundin Golf Links, and a backdrop of Largo Law and Fife's rolling green hills, The Old Manor offers a picture perfect venue for your trip to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Old Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Manor Lundin Links
Old Manor Hotel Lundin Links, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.