We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the Friendliest Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Manor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Old Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Old Manor Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Leven Road, Lundin Links KY8 6AJ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lundin Links
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just the Friendliest Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed last weekend just two weeks since out very first visit. Was so good we had to come back for another visit. What makes this hotel so special is the friendliness of all the staff. I have stayed in many hotels but the staff at the Old Manor exceed anything ive encountered previously. So welcoming , friendlyand all have a great sense of humour.A credit to the hotel . The restuarant and food were excellent , good value and the service from pauline was fantastic.
My wife and i are looking forward to visiting once more. An outstanding welcome is gauranteed .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProprietorOldManor, Owner at Old Manor Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Hello Mr and Mrs H, we were delighted to see you back for another visit, and I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your latest stay as much as the first!
I will also make sure all your comments are passed to the staff, who after all, are the life & soul of the place!

Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Alistair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    97
    32
    13
    7
See reviews for
54
151
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
fife, scotland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel is set in a lovely area of Fife, it commands lovely views over the Firth of Forth .
Great food for a reasonable price.
Choice of food types, a la carte or wine bar menus, great for couples or families.
Near to St. Andrews, pittenweem and anstruther harbours, both lovely locations.
The Kingdom of Fife is a jewel in the crown and worth a visit, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProprietorOldManor, Owner at Old Manor Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay - yes we have much to be proud of both locally and throughout the Kingdom of Fife, all of which makes this such a great area to visit. I am delighted you enjoyed yor visit, and hope you will return at some stage. All the best, AW Saddler.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Very welcoming staff, the hotel itself was a bit worn and tired (by this I mean carpets were threadbare and needed renewing) but everything else made up for this. Bedroom was very adequate and we were given a complimentary upgrade with a seaview and balcony which was very pleasant albeit we could only see snow when we got up the next morning and this was very picturesque looking over the golf course and then out to sea. Staff couldn't do enough for us and made us very welcome, would strongly recommend this for a long holiday or a stop over.
This overnight stay was a gift (voucher deal) from my son and his girlfriend and was very good choice. Great for golfers as there are many good courses within about 30 minutes drive.

Room Tip: Definitely balcony with a view to die for, think it would be exceptional in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProprietorOldManor, Owner at Old Manor Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post a review following your recent stay at the Old Manor - I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable time, particularly given that this was a gift from your son. Kind regards, AW Saddler.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

When checking out said to the receptionist 8 out of 10 here. Good quality hotel, not unreasonable food, very friendly and helpful staff. Marked down slightly firstly by virtue of the fact that service in the restaurant, which was not busy, initially good but then evaporated to the extent that one eventually gave up on ordering a dessert, and secondly because of fairly uncomfortable bed. Latter is very much a personal choice so the hotel can be forgiven! Would one stay here again? Absolutely, yes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProprietorOldManor, Owner at Old Manor Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Firstly, I am intrigued by the title of your review - "Haggis"? Well, why not?! Anyway, thank you for your review, I am sorry we couldn't achieve 10 out of 10, and certainly I am disappointed to have lost a mark through poor dinner service.

That said, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and will return at some stage in the future.
Kind regards, Alistair Saddler.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pompey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Just spent two nights at The Old Manor , and would definitely return if we were in this area again.
The staff are very friendly and welcoming and were helpful throughout our stay.
We booked a sea view room which also overlooked the golf course , it was quite a large room and was very comfortable . The bathroom however could do with a bit of a tidy up and the shower took between 5 and 10 mins of running before the water was hot enough to use.
The food in the restaurant was of a good standard and we had a very nice three course meal in the one evening. Breakfast was adequate, not the best I've ever had but by no means the worst.
All in all I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking to stay in this area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProprietorOldManor, Owner at Old Manor Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thanks for posting a review following your recent stay, and I have noted all your constructive comments. I appreciate its a long way up from the south coast, tho I do hope we can welcome you back here if you are ever in the area - I am also delighted to read that you will recommend the Old Manor to anyone likewise travelling round Fife. Kind regards, AW Saddler.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a voucher deal B&B and have to say thanks for a free upgrade. Unexpected and appreciated.

Love this part of Scotland on the East Neuk all the way from Largo up via Anstruther to Crail and St Andrews.

Easy to find. 2hr from Glasgow. Plenty of parking.

The hotel is grand whilst feeling modern. A small reception desk but then a fantastic lounge with fire and views out to sea, a bar and the seaview restaurant. Fantastic.

The first thing is hats off to the staff. Friendly, efficient, helpful. A real credit to the owners. Everyone we encountered. So thanks.

Room spacious with lovely sea view. Plenty of storage, nice bathroom and powerful shower. If anything perhaps the bathrooms could do with a refresh but this is not a criticism. Perfectly fine.

Bed comfy and large and apart from the gale from the East which we had no control over, perfect for a nights sleep.

There is no satellite tv to watch in the bar which is more there to service the restaurant but you can jump in a taxi to The Crusoe in Lower Largo. Also a lovely wee place. £4.

Ate at Saddlers Grill right beside the hotel and had a monster portion of steak pie. Lovely food and great staff. Really nice.

Breakfast was freshly cooked to order and perfectly good. Usual continental offerings good too. The view out to sea over the golf course is lovely.

11am checkout ideal and this would be a great wee base for touring the area. We would happily stay again and thanks to the staff again. Great.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProprietorOldManor, Owner at Old Manor Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review following your stay in March, I was delighted to read that you had such a nice time with us and enjoyed so much of what the area has to offer. I was also pleased to read your comments regarding our staff, who work so hard and are a credit to our business. Cheers! Yours, Alistair Saddler.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
getaway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Spent a weekend at this hotel with friends. Our room was huge and overlooked the golf course and sea. the rooms are really nice but can be very cold as the heating goes off and you have no-way to turn it back on. We complained at reception and the girl apologised and would get the housekeeper to check the boilers but turned off again around 9:30 and it doesn't go back on until around six in the morning. Now you might think this is petty but I can assure you it was freezing, I could see my breath. I would return but would make sure it was the Summer months

Room Tip: I wouldn't upgrade as the room we we're in cost us extra and it was huge, harder to heat. C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProprietorOldManor, Owner at Old Manor Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for your review and comments following your recent stay - I am afraid we were caught out by some unseasonably cold weather during March, and whilst we monitor very carefully the timings for the heating, trying to anticipate such short term changes in the weather, I agree that at the time of your stay, the timings were not correct. Apologies for this, and I hope this did not spoil your stay.

I was pleased to read that your intend revisiting at some stage, and I can assure you that you will receive a "warm" welcome! Kind regards, AW Saddler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Manor Hotel

Address: 55 Leven Road, Lundin Links KY8 6AJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Lundin Links
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lundin Links
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the stunning coastline of the East Neuk of Fife, with magnicicent panoramic views over Largo Bay and Lundin Golf Links, and a backdrop of Largo Law and Fife's rolling green hills, The Old Manor offers a picture perfect venue for your trip to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Old Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Manor Lundin Links
Old Manor Hotel Lundin Links, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.