We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inchview Hotel

Inchview Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Burntisland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inchview Hotel
69 Kinghorn Road, Burntisland KY3 9EB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Burntisland
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Overnight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Stayed here on way to Edinburg for one night. Got the last room which was upstairs facing the street. Not a large room , had ensuite but no shower only a bath. Had dinner at the hotel which was OK for hotel food. The breakfast was large and delicious and our waitress (Wife) and the chef (Husband) were lovely. We had a good conversation which makes travellers feel welcome. We had to park in the street but it was OK.
Barbara and Neville Australia

Room Tip: Get a front room upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    4
    1
    2
    10
See reviews for
9
17
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

while visiting the Kingdom of Fife for a summer break we made the mistake of stopping in Burntisland's Inchview hotel. On a wet and windy day, we were looking for somewhere to have a lunch and my wife entered the hotel, through an open door, to see what they could offer. On asking if they served lunch and could she see the menu, she was faced by the proprietor,(female) who 'strenuously' informed her that the hotel was closed and that she should have read the notice, saying so, outside the hotel. There was indeed a sodden hand written note, that in the rain my wife had not seen. Upon saying she was sorry and about to leave the hotel, the proprietor, followed her out the hotel, haranging her the whole way to the car, about not reading the sign, to the extent that once my wife had gotten onto the car, this women actually slammed the car door shut.

Being Scottish, I am sad to denigrate our country's capabablity to offer hospitality, but on this occasion due to the reaction by this women and for this hotel I must. So if you plan to stay there, or just eat there, beware this woman.

while this was simply a 'spur of the moment' visit, I wish that I had read previous Tripadvisor reviews, as some of the more honest one's appear to confirm what we had found

Malcolm Mclean

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverurie, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

I have lived in quite a few B&B's around the UK and I must say that this one's the best.
Its very clean and neat. The rooms are well kept and the beds are well made. The bathrooms equally fine. The breakfast is superb and the hosts would go to any distance to make you feel at home. The B&B is run by Tony & Ellen.
Burntisland though is not very well known on the travel map, happens to be an ideal place to stay at especially if one is planning to visit Edinburgh & other surrounding areas.
If I had a chance to give up work and retire in to some place, it would at this B&B in Burntisland. Good luck to Tony & Ellen.
Big love,
Hiranya Fadia

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

The stars of this b&b are Tony and Ellen and their breakfasts - simply outstanding. We booked a three night stay and were surprised to find it's no longer a hotel just a b&b (no meals, bar etc.). This seemed to be a very recent development and a bit of a disappointment (we would loved to have sampled more of Tony's cooking skills). The rooms we were given had sloping ceilings but the two kids were able to sleep at the 'smaller' end of the rooms and it did give the place a bit of character. The rooms were clean and tidy but could do with a refurb and the lack of a tv was a culture shock for the kids. The area itself (Burntisland) could also do with a refurb (e.g. no restaurants in the town) but the kids loved the swimming pool and Edinburgh is a short train or bus journey away. Tony and Ellen are full of suggestions and ideas and seem to know the area inside out. They made us feel so at home and couldn't do enough for us, especially the kids. They are the main reason we rate Inchview as excellent. The views are beautiful and Inchview has the potential to be a fabulous boutique hotel - with hosts like no other and breakfasts to die for. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

On the spur of the moment we decided to visit Burntisland to catch up with family we hadn't seen in years. We booked into the Inchview Hotel. On arrival we were made very welcome. The rooms were decorated to a very high standard with beautiful furniture, windows down to the floor which made the outlook over the sea breathtaking. At breakfast the next morning Ellen was very informative about all the attractions in and around the area. The weather was poor that morning and they offered to drive us to the station rather than get wet. Tony and Ellen made us feel as if we were staying with friends. Breakfast was excellent as much of what you wanted nothing to much trouble. Would' nt consider going anywhere else a great central point for touring the east coast.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

Only stayed one night the staff were courteous and helpfull, the room clean and pleasant,
All in all a nice place for a break in a pretty part of Scotland

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

I have stayed here and eaten here with my fiancee and son on many occasions. The owners Ellen and Tony have always been welcoming and friendly and stop for a chat when we arrive. I find the bad reviews about food and hospitality hard to believe! The best fillet steak I have eaten IN MY LIFE was in the Inchview Hotel!! I love this place!!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inchview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inchview Hotel

Address: 69 Kinghorn Road, Burntisland KY3 9EB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Burntisland
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Burntisland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inchview Hotel has an AA Hotel Group 3*** award and has been sympathetically restored to provide a relaxing home from home venue where our guests may experience a superior level of service and accommodation with traditional comfort and luxurious individuality. Inchview Hotel is situated in a B Listed Georgian Terrace overlooking an EU Blue Flag Beach only 30 minutes from Edinburgh, Perth or St. Andrews. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inchview Hotel Burntisland, Fife, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inchview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Inchview Hotel to your Saves list