We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach House

The Beach House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burntisland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Beach House
Save
You added The Beach House to your Saves list
Lochies Road, Burntisland KY3 9JX, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Burntisland B&B and Inns
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Home from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Just spent the weekend here as a base to visit family in the area. Wow, couldn't have asked for anywhere better, It felt like a home away from home. Jo made sure we had everything we needed and kept topping up milk, bread, cereals - such a lovely touch! The rooms are so clean and comfortable I could have moved in permanently! We used to visit the old tearooms when I was a little girl so it was great to see how it has been transformed into family home with annexe for guests. The views across the forth to Edinburgh are stunning, especially at night with Edinburgh lighting up the night sky. The trains pass by regularly at the back of the house but they pass quickly so are not so noticeable. My mother has already asked if we are booking again for next year! Would definitely recommend this beach front 'home from home' - lovely!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed for one night with my wife and teenage son. Rooms were spotless and comfortable with amazing views across The Forth to Edinburgh. A real find if you want a quirky, out of the way place, with first class accommodation. Would definitely stay again as a base to explore the coastline by train. Comfy beds, spacious rooms, great atmosphere. Book now before the World discovers it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeasideLandlady123, Owner at The Beach House, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a lovely review, I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Beach House and hope to see you all again. Kind regards, Jo & Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I've stayed at The Beach House three times now for business - it is less than an hour by train to Edinburgh, and also convenient for trains up north to Perth, Pitlochry etc.
The rooms are clean and very homely and Jo goes out of her way to ensure you have what you need. The situation of The Beach House couldn't be better, with the long beach just outside the window; ideal for bird watchers I guess too. You have your own entrance so can come and go as you like.
Altogether an excellent place - highly recommended.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

this was our second vistit, again most welcoming, pleasant and amenable hosts.

Superb breakfasts, room was lovely and clean, nothing was too much trouble.

Location for us was very good, views acorss the Firth of Forth to see the Royal yacht Brittania were excellent.

The only thing to let it down is the trains which travel on the track directly behind the house, but they don't run all through the night!!!

Would definitely recommend your B&B!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burntisland123, Owner at The Beach House, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review The Beach House, I'm very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, it is always nice to see people again! Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

For anyone wanting to combine the great city of Edinburgh and the beauty of the Fife coast this is a must! The Beach House is about 30 minutes to Edinburgh by train which hugs the coast and crosses the magnificent Forth Bridge. The Beach House itself gives you fantastic views across the sea to the city from its lovely breakfast room. It is located virtually on the beach in an old Victorian tea room and the owners have done a superb job in keeping the character of the building intact, a nice touch being the old photographs from its tea room heyday.
The rooms are clean, well serviced and offer all essentials with comfortable beds.The Scottish breakfasts are excellent with the eggs freshly laid by the resident chickens (and quails).
The breakfast room offers panoramic views out to sea and the beach is within touching distance.
We had a lovely stay, the owners were very accommodating and helpful and the weather fantastic...though I'm not sure even they can always arrange this for you!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeasideLandlady123, Owner at The Beach House, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a thoughtful and comprehensive review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon- Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

A lovely place to stay. Great location, ideal for children. The room was clean and fresh and the owners very hospitable. Enjoyed the breakfast's and to be honest didn't want to leave. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Family room - sleeps 3, ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeasideLandlady123, Owner at The Beach House, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to write a review for The Beach House. I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay with us- Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

nothing was too much trouble for the owners, Joe made tea and cake for our friends who popped in to visit us and made us feel so welcome. Fresh flowers in the rooms and homemade cake were just some of the lovely touches, we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach House

Address: Lochies Road, Burntisland KY3 9JX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Burntisland
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Burntisland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1890 as a Bath House and Tearoom, The Beach House is now a comfortable family home. Although guests are guaranteed a warm welcome, a private garden and separate front door to guest rooms ensures privacy and 24 hr access. Our own hens keep us supplied in fresh eggs to supplement the wide range of fresh, local produce on offer for breakfasts in the tearoom, overlooking the beach. Free wi-fi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Beach House Burntisland, Fife, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.