We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been top quality ...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Thainstone House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Thainstone House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thainstone House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   A96, main Inverness Road, Inverurie AB51 5NT, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Inverurie
Troon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Could have been top quality ...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Beautiful setting and impressive exterior as you approach through parkland and tree-lined drive. Public areas are luxurious and very comfortable. Staff were extremely helpful and pleasant. In the dining room variations on the menu were offered to accommodate diet. Good spa. But the bedroom was disappointingly small and in need of redecoration. Cobweb in the top corner, but worst of all was an adjoining door to the next bedroom which allowed all sound to travel. The management were unable to offer an alternative bedroom for that night though we were given another the following morning. Again this room was fairly small though permitted more privacy. Could have been a quality hotel but for the bedrooms.

Room Tip: Be satisfied not having a luxury bedroom. Avoid any with adjoining doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMThainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you found our service standards to be exceptionally high. I am sorry to hear you are disappointed with the standard of the bedroom, however we are about to commence a full bedroom refurbishment which is due for completion in 2014.

I do hope you will revisit soon

Warmest Regards

Robin Osman
General Manager
Thainstone House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    143
    122
    83
    72
    64
See reviews for
61
219
24
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Very much a work in progress. You are accommodated in what is an interesting building not in some annexe tacked on to the back. The general areas are all very tastefully done and the new dinning room is a real pleasure to eat in while you look out over the parklands. Food is of a good standard, breakfast had six cooked options and ample cereals, juices, fruits, yoghurts, while coffee or tea and toast was brought to the table along with your cooked food. Our bedroom was "tired" but not a bad size and boasted a walk-in wardrobe. Small touches such as the fancy folding of the toilet paper did seem like an odd use of time where as some bleach used to removed the black mould on the wall would have left a much better impression. Staff were very pleasant and hardworking. I think designing the grounds to incorporate some walks would enhance the guests' experience greatly. The choice at the moment seems to be to walk to the bottom of the drive and back up again or set out across a large expanse of wet grass. Given the many deals on offer at this hotel it is a good value 3 star.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMThainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the whole experience to be a great improvement on your last stay. I am also glad you enjoyed the food and I am delighted to let you know that be will launching our restaurant , Stockman's Bar and Grill and club room over the next few weeks to further enhance our food offering. I will be sure to pass your comments to my team, who as you rightly point work provide a warm and friendly atmosphere to enhance our guest experience. I look forward to welcoming you back next time

Warmest Regards

Robin Osman
General Manager
Thainstone House Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed with a group last weekend. Lovely historic hotel set in relaxing parkland surroundings with excellent location near airport and local attractions. Staff were exceptionally friendly and food excellent. Our twin room was very great, and entire hotel very clean and well decorated (not the usual bland decor and small rooms most hotel groups offer). Particualr thanks to the barman and front of house manager who were excellent!
Didn't go to spa.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMThainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I am extremely glad that you could not fault your stay as my team and I work tirelessly to ensure we provide all our guests with a truly memorable experience.

I truly hope I can welcome you back personally next time

Warmest Regards

Robin
Robin Osman
General Manager
Thainstone House Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantown on Spey, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Had a 3 day dinner,bed and breakfast stay at end of august this year. Very nice hotel and staff extremely helpful and waiting staff very efficient. We had a 6 course taster menue every night,couldnt fault quality although the "jelly and ice cream " on sun night amounted to a melon ball scoop of ice cream and some red sauce and foam,no jelly of any type!. Breakfasts were not up to much, the continental and cold brekkie were fine, any hot food apaprt from porridge was not up to scratch im sorry to say. Overall a good visit although the seating in room 101 was very uncomfortable and the mattress needs changed as very lumpy and saggy in middle.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMThainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and I certainly take your other comments on board. We are about to commence a full refurbishment of all bedrooms which will be scheduled for completion in 2014. I do hope that you come back soon and I look forward to welcoming you personally next time

Warmest Regards

Robin Osman
General Manager
Thainstone House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I, like many others before me, do extensive research through trip advisor and other sites to see where i am taking my family to stay. And i have to admit, the outlook on Thainestone House was bleak. However, we gave this hotel the benefit of the doubt and boy, were we glad.

I have never seen such friendly staff in Scotland, (and yes, there are many Scots working here, maybe they were just on a day off!!) From when we checked in with the ever so smiley and happy Sheena, who kept the banter flowing throughout our time (Once i figure out how, i will put her photo with us up) the stay got better. We had dinner in the restaurant on both nights and the gentleman (George i think we were told, could be Grahame? My memory fails me at times) who served us in the restaurant was most imformative! The food was great on the first night from Chef Andrew, very well presented and my oh my such flavours! However on the 2nd night the portions could have been bigger, it was still amazing, just not as satisfied. A different chef we were told. Cant win them all I guess!

The rooms were not great, but not as bad as they have been made out to be on here. Some small decorative issues, but my no means unclean. Housekeeping staff however were a little on the rude side and wouldnt even make eyecontact? Maybe they were just on the busy side?

We did not unfortunatly get the chance to make use of the pool and spa, however they looked very welcoming.

We had some drinks in the Club Room, or the Cocktail Bar as the staff better named it. Was welcoming and comfortable, but a couple of issues struck me here.
1- The fireplace sitting empty. Light it, its getting rather cold out there and even though you Scots are used to the cold, not everybody is!
2 - Please train your staff on Whiskey. Your barman (His name escapes me) gave us wrong information on some whiskey he was trying to sell us. We know this, as we had visited the distillery that day!! Perhaps it was because he was English? Next time tell us you dont know, we would respect you more than lying to us.

All in all, we enjoyed Thainestone House Hotel very much,and thats mainly due to the staff and the food. Thank you, and we shall return!

George

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMThainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I am glad you found your stay to be a wonderful experience and I can assure you that I have taken note on the other points you made. I will certainly pass on your comments to my team, who work tirelessly to improve all our guests experience. I look forward to your return and hope to welcome you personally

Warmest Regards

Robin Osman
General Manager
Thainstone House Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Been here before a few years ago and what a difference! They have started a major refurb that seems to be happening in stages. The reception area is so much nicer and beautifully decorated. The biggest improvement was the food. They obviously have a new Head Chef who has made a world of difference, the food was brilliant. We had scallops and langoustines to start followed by the Chateau briand to share, wow! The wine list still needs a bit of work, we wanted 2 glasses of Champagne but they dont do it by the glass. I asked for a Prosecco but again not available by the glass. A small thing I hope they sort. On the whole though, as the title states, what a difference to a few years ago, the place is looking so much sharper, the service really welcoming and friendly but even if you are not staying, just go and check out the food in the restaurant, its easily the best in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMThainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for review on Tripadvisor. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and are noticing the improvements which we are making on a continual basis. I look forward to welcoming you back personally next time

Warmest Regards

Robin Osman
General Manager
Thainstone House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a couple of times now through work. Not many scots workin there. Staff are slow and food is average. Wouldnt pay to stay here. Other nicer and better hotels in the area. The 1 positive, the gym n spa

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMThainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. Please let me apologise that your stay at Thainstone House did not meet your expectations. We at, Crerar Hotels, have only recently bought the property and are currently investing a great deal of time and effort into staff training and the full refurbishment of all our public areas which is due for completion shortly. We do in fact, have a number of Scottish team members ( myself included) and I can assure you that we are making great amounts of progress every day. I do hope you would feel able to return to the hotel and see the fruits of our efforts over the next few months

Warmest Regards

Robin Osman
General manager
Thainstone House Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thainstone House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thainstone House Hotel

Address: A96, main Inverness Road, Inverurie AB51 5NT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Inverurie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Inverurie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thainstone House Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting resplendent in 44 acres of lush meadowland, Swallow Thainstone House Hotel has been lovingly designed to provide the very best in private and corporate hospitality. All 48 bedrooms at Thainstone are created especially for your comfort. Elegant furnishings and restful décor are complemented by all the facilities that you would expect to find in a luxury hotel. In the sumptuous Georgian setting of Simpson’s restaurant you can linger over a mouthwatering menu prepared by our team of internationally trained chefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Otel, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Thainstone House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swallow Thainstone House Hotel Inverurie
Swallow Thainstone Hotel
Swallow Thainstone Inverurie
Thainstone Hotel
Thainstone House Hotel Inverurie, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thainstone House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.