We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thainstone House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Thainstone House Hotel to your Saves list
Thainstone House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   A96, main Inverness Road, Inverurie AB51 5NT, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Inverurie
Montrose, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Given weekend away package as Christmas gift. Cannot fault the hotel at all, breakfast and evening meal excellent. Staff all very friendly and helpful, especially Lyndsay, receptionist, Callum and Ross, Restaurant and Laura, great barmaid. Loved the log fires in the bar. Our room was spotless and comfortable. Enjoyed the leisure facilities each morning. Would definitely book again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMThainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review following your recent visit to Thainstone House Hotel & Spa. The whole team were delighted to hear just how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

From all at Thainstone House Hotel & Spa, we look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the area.

best regards,

Barry Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    136
    89
    80
    68
See reviews for
65
240
25
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montrose, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We booked this on the spur of the moment as a weekend away with friends ,can not fault it one little bit , staff very helpful and friendly, food excellent and rooms very nice and comfortable and Enjoyed the use of the leisure facilities would defenatley go back

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMThainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your positive reveiw of Thainstone House Hotel & Spa. We were delighted to read just how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you in particular for highlighting the friendliness of the hotel team and the excellent food.

From all at Thainstone House Hotel & Spa, we all look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the area.

best regards,

Barry Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wick, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The hotel:

Bad – the carpets were in need of replacing. Many of them are really badly stained.

Good – some of the regency decorations were beautiful. The bar in particularly is a spectacularly beautiful room. We thought it was lovely.

The food:

Bad – The starters were almost inedible. We both had the caesar salad. When it came there was so much dressing on it I thought for a moment that they had mistakenly brought me risotto. It was clearly designed by someone who has never seen or tasted caesar salad. Mum had the haddock and chips for a main course. The fish was burnt and tasteless and the peas were like bullets. She did say the chips were okay though.

Good – I had the salmon with herb mash and it was delicious. The salmon was cooked to perfection, the herb mash was tasty, the sauce was light and delicately flavoured and the vegetables were crisp and fresh. They also do excellent liquor coffees.

The room:

Bad – when we arrived there was a dank smell in the room. It dissipated pretty quickly once we’d turned the heating on but it still gave a bad first impression. One of the chairs was pretty badly stained. The hairdryer was, bizarrely, plugged in via the drawer, presumably to stop people stealing it. Whilst in principle this is an excellent idea, in practice there wasn’t enough wire to hold it over my head so I had to kneel down to dry my hair. The window overlooked the service yard. Whilst we weren’t that bothered about the lack of a view, we did get woken up very early in the morning by the bin lorry.

Good – the beds were comfortable. The linens were clean and fresh. The heating worked quickly and efficiently. The tea and coffee making facilities were excellent. We loved the period furniture – clearly antique and actually quite beautiful.

The bathroom:

Bad – it was obviously designed for a hobbit. I’m only 5’4” and I had to duck to get my head under the shower. The disability handle was placed in just the wrong spot that it made the shower incredibly narrow. The overhead lights didn’t work and the toiletries came in the world’s most miniscule bottles. I have long hair so managed to use the entire shampoo bottle in one sitting. Poor mum. There was mould all over the ceiling.


Good – it was clean. The tiling was entirely inoffensive. The towels were clean and decently sized.

The staff:

The staff were friendly and polite throughout our stay. They were talkative and attentive and we were impressed.

Overall:

I don’t know that we’d book to stay here again but we wouldn’t be upset if we had to. Next time we wouldn’t eat in the hotel.

Room Tip: We were in room 111 which is where the bin men woke us up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMThainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent visit to Thainstone House Hotel & Spa. We really appreciate your balanced feedback.

I'm sorry to read that you were dissapointed with some of the food served to you during your visit; I have reviewed your comments with our head chef and reviewed the dishes you have mentioned.

We have exciting plans to develop & refurbish Thainstone House Hotel & Spa and hope that we may be able to welcome you back on a future visit to the area.

best regards,

Barry Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Laughably bad - the food, the staff, the rooms, the bathrooms. the lack of sleep, the filthy and exhausted interior, I genuinely didn't think hotels could be this bad in this day and age.
We used to come here as kids before it was a chain, and it was a lovely family run place with real character. This is the result of chain hotels at their worst. And as a regular business traveller I am quite appreciative of the merits of a Holiday Inn!

Room Tip: Don't stay here. There are adequate b&b's in Inverurie for a third of the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMThainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent visit to Thainstone House Hotel.

I was genuinely dissapointed to read your comments and sorry to read that you were clearly dissapointed with your visit.

I would encourage you to contact me via the Tripadvisor messgae system to discuss your comments in more detail and look forward to hearing from you

best regards,

Barry Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupar, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

After reading reports on trip advisor I was worried....

But I need not have been - a massive thank you to all of the team at Thainstone we all had a fantastic time! You are a credit to the hotel.

Ok the drive needs sorting (they have the materials though - just need some decent weather!)

Our rooms were all fine, the afternoon tea, champagne and canapés on new years eve followed by the gala dinner - food was amazing, the beef just melted in our mouths. Band were great, a real mix and a great atmosphere.

New Years day; leisurely brunch, some clay pigeon shooting then another fantastic meal and quiz.

Ok, a bit of decor needs updating but the staff more than make up for it.... Great relaxed friendly atmosphere.

Our first year, but we definitely plan to come back!

Room Tip: Room 209 was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMThainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your positive review following your New Year visit to Thainstone House Hotel & Spa.

We were all delighted to read how much you enjoyed your New Year break. Thank you for highlighting the great staff and the good food you enjoyed. it really is such a boost to all the staff to know how much you enjoyed your break.

Thanks again and from all the Thainstone House team, we look forward to welcoming you back again next year to bring in 2014

best regards

Barry Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My best friend and I went here on a 'Spa Day' (Note inverted commas). Every year we treat ourselves to this and this year was to be more special than before as she has recently had a baby and in much need of some relaxation.

Our first impressions when we were driving up the track was that the road was in dire need of resurfacing and I nearly went off the road countless times trying to avoid potholes. The outside of the building is still beautiful but when we walked through the front doors....the carpet leading up the stairs was absolutely filthy, skirting boards and mahogany doors scratched and chipped and the walls in need of a paint.

We then went along to the 'Spa' for our 30 minute treatment which lasted just over 20 minutes. We were not given any robes, welcomes, directions etc that you would expect from a spa day. The doors in the spa were absolutely filthy and when the treatment was finished there was no communication whatsoever as to what we should do next. We declined use of the pool as it looked pretty uninviting and decided instead to have a coffee while we waited for lunch. Oh I should mention that in the hour we had been here we had overheard 2 other 'Spa Day' groups complaining.

We were then directed through to the Drawing Room for coffee which was a sad state of affairs, the room was freezing cold with crumbs and ring marks from cups/glasses all over the tables (this was only about 11.15am in the morning). We ordered 2 cappucinos, 1 over flowing onto the saucer and the other only 3/4 full with some haphazardly sprinkled chocolate powder. Also 2 scones, which had obvioulsy been defrosted in the microwave (£9.50)

The lunch? Hmmm, a very strange 'terrine' which looked like it had been sliced off a chicken meat loaf (if you get such a thing) from Iceland. Main course was ok, but the salads had about 7 whole sundried tomatoes on it. Anyone who knows about food, would know that they are very strong, and in a salad, one tomato sliced up would be enough. The ladies who served the lunch were very nice though.

We bought this on a voucher for £29 which we thought was a bargain, but really I would not say it was even worth that. The place is really run down and needs completely gutted to bring it back to it's former glory. There was also a wedding on. My friend and I wondered if they had hoovered the carpet or cleaned the tables in the drawing room prior to that.....they hadn't of course and I am sure they'd be paying a hell of alot more than £29. Would definitely not reccommend Thainstone House Hotel. Sorry :-(

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMThainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your comprehensive review of our Christmas break and I was delighted to read how much you all enjoyed your festive break with us.

Positive reviews really are such a boost to the team morale, so thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

You'll also be glad to hear that work has started on the drive and we have exciting plans for some major refurbishment to come over the next few months.

From all the team at Thainstone House Hotel & Spa, we look forward to welcoming you back next Christmas, if not sooner.

best regards,

Barry Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Just wanted to say a big thank you to the staff at Thaistone House for all their hard work in ensuring the guests had a pleasant and relaxing stay . We decided for once to get away from the usual pre Christmas madness and were so glad we did! . The grand old hotel was looking festive with log fires burning in the lounges and the decorations created a welcoming homely feel.
Our room was comfortable,spotless and spacious. We slept well on comfortable beds.

We were entertained by a Michael Buble style singer on Xmas Eve in the cosy lounge after an excellent meal There,s nothing like a crooner to create a relaxing ambience. We enjoyed meeting the other guests.
Xmas day dawned bright and again the staff had laid on a bucks fizz breakfast with plenty of choice from the traditional or continental menu.
Lunch time was a busy affair with staff coping well and ensuring that each table got the order selected from an appetising choice in the Xmas menu. The rest of the day was ours and a light buffet meal was laid out early evening.
Boxing day dawned bright again. After a swim in the small pool brunch was available. The leisure facilities can be used at any time . Yes the changing rooms are dated as is the pool but would require a big financial injection to bring to modern day standards. However it was kept clean and well scrubbed.
Archery was laid on in the afternoon. The grounds are well suited for this sport and we enjoyed competing in the sun. The staff again were super efficient when our family arrived for a short visit and sandwiches and drinks were provided as needed. The children even received a late Santa gift.
Our final meal was accompanied by the melodic strains of harp music from a talented local lady.
This favourable review was written to contradict some of the more petty and fault finding that some people go out of their way to do on trip advisor. So well done Thainstone House but please fix the pot holes in the road!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thainstone House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thainstone House Hotel

Address: A96, main Inverness Road, Inverurie AB51 5NT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Inverurie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Inverurie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thainstone House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting resplendent in 44 acres of lush meadowland, Swallow Thainstone House Hotel has been lovingly designed to provide the very best in private and corporate hospitality. All 48 bedrooms at Thainstone are created especially for your comfort. Elegant furnishings and restful décor are complemented by all the facilities that you would expect to find in a luxury hotel. In the sumptuous Georgian setting of Simpson’s restaurant you can linger over a mouthwatering menu prepared by our team of internationally trained chefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Thainstone House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swallow Thainstone House Hotel Inverurie
Swallow Thainstone Hotel
Swallow Thainstone Inverurie
Thainstone Hotel
Thainstone House Hotel Inverurie, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thainstone House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.