We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Strathburn Hotel

Strathburn Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Inverurie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Strathburn Hotel
Save
You added Strathburn Hotel to your Saves list
Burghmuir Drive, Inverurie AB51 4GY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Inverurie
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Relaxing experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights last week-end and found everyone very welcoming. We have stayed here a number of times but this is my first review. The food is excellent and the breakfasts are superb. Our room was very comfortable and spacious overlooking the garden. The room and bathroom provide everything you could need and the bed was very comfortable, although the duvet was much too hot for June, despite the cold and rain outside. We visit family in the area and with the facilities in Inverurie - sports centre, lovely little childrens' play park and some nice individual shops especkially the food shops in the town and the two coffee shops on the edge of town at Andersons and Ross), visitors to the area and to the hotel will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    28
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
21
6
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights bed & breakfast and throughly enjoyed our stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful, room very clean and quiet, food excellent. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We have just stayed at the Strathburn Hotel for the weekend as part of a group who were visiting the local area.
I think that I can speak for all of us (38 in total) when I say that the accommodation was great and the food was of delicious.
However, what really impressed us was the service which we received from the the staff, who were friendly, polite and very efficient.
We would certainly recommend this place and if we come back to the area, will certainly be booking again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel a few nights ago. Although I arrived very late, I instantly felt at home, and the staff really can't do enough to help!

This is a highly recommended hotel if you're visiting the Aberdeen area.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

This place is vastly over priced, with a mixed array off staff, ranging from the efficient and helpfully, to the sour puss! At £90 a night you get a clean room hot water and wifi that doesn't work. The whole hotel closes down on a Sunday around 9pm. You can't even get a drink at the bar after a 14 hour day at work. I fail to see where the £90 per night is justified. You can't even use your phone at the bar... Told to go into the conservatory... What! Won't be here again, and thankfully it was my company who unfortunate had to foot the bill for what can only be classed as a standard 3 star accommodation, as it's far from a hotel. Stay clear, premier inn have more to offer. Disgusted!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Owner at Strathburn Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
In reply to these comments I would like to point out the "sour puss" was only carrying out her duties regarding the use of his mobile phone in the lounge. Because we are a business hotel most of our guests make full use of our free wi-fi and sometimes it can get overloaded however we have upgraded our system.

All in all when he stated on arrival that he had already checked out of this two previous hotels because of terrible service we should have been aware of possible problems.

Fortunately I have spoken to his company regarding his conduct and they have apologised to me.

Regards
David Barrack
(Proprietor)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We recently stayed for two nights, during the weekend at the Strathburn. The room was very clean and comfortable, and the food (Breakfast and dinner) was excellent. All the staff, including the proprietor were very helpful and friendly.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

I enjoyed two suppers within two days at both hotels in December 2011.
Both menus were exactly the same, apart from the soup.
Strathburn excelled in presentation, and in the quality of the three courses.
Strathburn service was slick, professional and accomplished.
Thainstone service was presented by students or school pupils - who should have been schooled, trained and supervised.
Strathburn service was discreet, yet highly professional.

The actual presentation of the three courses:

THAINSTONE STRATHBURN

Slopped onto the plates Beautifully arranged on the plates.

Congratulations: David and Elizabeth Barrack (Strathburn Hotel).

***** Star.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Strathburn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathburn Hotel

Address: Burghmuir Drive, Inverurie AB51 4GY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Inverurie
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Inverurie
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Strathburn Hotel Inverurie, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strathburn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.