We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Birthday Meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Pittodrie House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Macdonald Pittodrie House to your Saves list
Macdonald Pittodrie House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chapel Of Garioch, Inverurie AB51 5HS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Inverurie
Aberdeenshire
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Excellent Birthday Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We were invited to a private dining birthday meal at Pittodrie and it was honestly first class. From the warm welcome to the professional waiting staff, our initial impression was excellent.

The menu choice was very good, something for everyone! They were able to cater for gluten free diet with minimal fuss. For example, they managed to get a GF bread roll and also managed to toast some GF bread so I could have the cheese for dessert. Food was very well presented, tasty and plentiful. There was no complaints, quite the opposite.

All in all, a wonderful evening was experienced and this was very much down to the excellent service we received.

I wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittodrie_House, General Manager at Macdonald Pittodrie House, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you for your review following your visit to us for a Birthday Dinner held in our Billiard Room. It was very pleasing to note that you enjoyed your eveing and that we were able to cater for your dietery requests during dinner service. Attention to detail and guest satifaction are very important to us and we will pass your comments on to all my relevant staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    58
    45
    39
    27
See reviews for
93
167
4
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lanark, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

stayed at this hotel last week for my sons wedding ,the bedroom was very shabby not welcoming at all, At breakfast my husband asked for a sauce he asked 3 times before it arrived the same with the toast ,Nikki was the most helpful member of Staff she really worked hard to make everything enjoyable, I had been told the room was one price but it was not worth half of that Nikki sorted it all out must say without her I would have all been very disappointing ,thank you Nikki

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittodrie_House, General Manager at Macdonald Pittodrie House, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at Pittodrie House. It was disappointing to read your comments with regards to your standard of accommodation. Over the past twelve months we have had a planned refurbishment programe which includes all the bedrooms and public areas.
With regards to service during breakfast we will take your constructive comments on board and will continue with the ongoing training of our Food and Beverage team. We do hope that you will return again and stay with us here at Pittodrie House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Let me start by saying that MacDonald hotels did respond after about 10 days to my complaint about this hotel and have offered a free night elsewhere. However.....
Whilst the property is in many ways lovely and the setting is great it is quite dark and dingy in places and looks like it needs some money spending. The price is eye-wateringly expensive considering it is a little way North of Aberdeen. This may be because there are not many rooms and they cant make it pay otherwise, but for the price it should be exceptional.
Our room was billed as a king bed room but the bed turned out to be two twins which came apart comically in the night - not quite the thing for a romantic night away. The shower had absolutely no pressure and the sink plug wouldn't budge unless you dug it out..
The atmosphere downstairs was spoiled by a family with literally screaming children and a television blaring in what should to my mind be a quiet secluded environment. Oh and the bedroom room had two of the biggest spiders I have ever seen one of which hid in my jersey (admittedly I did leave it on the floor). All in all quite a disappointment, the sad thing being it wouldn't take a lot of effort to deal with most of these issues. Maybe the fact that none of the staff seem to be over the age of 21 is a factor.

Room Tip: I wouldn't go until they have sorted this hotel out
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberfeldy, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed here for three nights in August, booked on the website which offered a £10 credit towards hotel spend - this has never materialised despite three telephone calls. We had no towels in the room on arrival and it took till 11pm for these to appear. We had dinner, my husband had soup and a steak from the Bar Menu, the steak was appalling although my meal, from the dinner menu was excellent. We had three courses including a glass of wine and tea/coffee, the bill came to £126.90 which was vastly overpriced considering what my poor husband had. Again, despite querying this bill three times, no response has been had. The situation is simply stunning and the staff were very friendly such a shame we had such a let down with my husband's steak. We will not stay in a MacDonald hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dornoch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Recently attended a family wedding at this venue which just didn't quite live up to expectation.

We arrived on the Friday afternoon as the hotel was hosting another wedding, there were three members of staff at the reception desk and whilst they were polite they were not overly helpful. For example the directions to our rooms comprised of "up the stairs and follow the signs" and truthfully you almost need a compass or sat nav to find your way around the hotel and we were a good 10 minutes wandering up and down stairwells trying to find the room.

The room itself we couldn't fault, it was comfortable, luxurious and well appointed. That said it was directly above the ballroom and as this was the venue for the Friday night wedding dance we were disturbed by the noise of the band until 0100 hours. Our wedding on Saturday would have caused exactly the same issue for any guests staying that were not part our wedding party.

On both mornings we were directed to breakfast in the Orangery and again the staff were polite but just did not seem to be interested in being helpful.

All in all we were perhaps expecting an enhanced experience (have stayed in Macdonald hotels before and have always been impressed) which just wasn't forthcoming.

PS the Bride was beautiful and the Groom was handsome and that's what matters after all !

Room Tip: Try and avoid one over the ballroom unless you want to be kept up all night with noise from the band
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverurie, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We got married in May 2012 and up to the day itself, we couldn't fault the staff at Pittodrie. Nothing was too much trouble in the lead up to our wedding day. A few things were not as they should have been on the day itself which left us a bit disappointed given the hard work put in beforehand. Table plan was given to the staff but all tables ended up back to front, meaning some tables were blocked from the head table by pillars....one of these tables seated out master of ceremonies so not ideal. There were no arrival drinks kept aside for the wedding party. Our cake was a mixture of fruit and sponge. Fruit cake would normally be cut in slightly smaller pieces as it is more rich, but ours, fruit and sponge were cut in the same bigger portions meaning we had hardly any cake left for giving to people who couldn't make the wedding/reception.

We sent an email a couple of months afterwards with bot positive and the above feedback, also a chase up email in the lead up to our first wedding anniversary. We have received no reply to either of these.

A fantastic venue, stunning scenery, staff in the lead up, and on the day itself were very helpful, but disappointing that things which should have been so straightforward to organise went wrong

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

i stayed here for one night through the company i work with and was blown away , fantastic reception on arriving and the hotel is a proper eye opener , mind its not cheap but i didnt mind as i was not paying , but it is somewhere i would definately stay again with my partner.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Macdonald Pittodrie House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Pittodrie House

Address: Chapel Of Garioch, Inverurie AB51 5HS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Inverurie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Inverurie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Pittodrie House 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the finest 4-star hotels in the Aberdeen area, Macdonald Pittodrie House is set within its own ancient grounds and offers the best in breathtaking scenery and fine facilities. The hotel's beautiful setting within 2,400 acres of beautiful estate land means we're a popular choice for family holidays, business and weddings.This Aberdeen hotel is a perfect venue for celebrations, events and conferences - boasting superb guest accommodation, stylish meeting and function rooms, plus breathtaking gardens and surrounding woodland.Our hotel near Aberdeen by Inverurie is perfect for country adventures - roam the marvellous Aberdeenshire landscapes and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. Once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our fantastic AA Rosette rated Mither Tap Restaurant, where you'll find the finest of fare in a remarkable Scottish countryside setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Macdonald Pittodrie House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Pittodrie House Hotel Inverurie
Macdonald Pittodrie Hotel
Macdonald Pittodrie Inverurie
Pittodrie House Hotel
Macdonald Pittodrie House Inverurie, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Pittodrie House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.