We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Daughter's Wedding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Pittodrie House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Macdonald Pittodrie House to your Saves list
Macdonald Pittodrie House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chapel Of Garioch, Inverurie AB51 5HS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Inverurie
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Daughter's Wedding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We recently hosted our daughter Ruth and Simon's wedding at Pittodrie House. Everyone had a fab day. The meal was great and service very good. Lovely room for ceremony and meal, good grounds for photos. Staff all very friendly and part of our special day. I would highly recommend the day nursery if bride to be is staying the night before. Great room for everyone getting ready, hairdressing etc etc.
If the value was for the wedding package it would definately be a 5 - excellent.
The rooms themselves are a bit pricey but are very nice. Our room was not very big but everyone else's in our party was a good size - but then we had asked for one beside the day nursery!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    53
    39
    35
    25
See reviews for
81
152
4
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have just returned from a night stay at the hotel and it was really lovely. We had to wait a bit to check in as the receptionist was dealing with another couple then answered the phone whist we were still waiting, however the check in was smooth and we were taken to our room. Room was nice, very warm with a great large bathroom and a comfy bed. We went to the bar before dinner and the fire was roaring, it had a very relaxed atmosphere. We were served canapes prior to our meal which was a nice touch and then we were escorted to our table. Service was good and the food was excellent. Quite pricey but good quality ingredients and cooked to perfection. Breakfast the following morning was delicious, again top quality produced, however there was a slight wait for service as there was not always a waitress in the room and there was a bit of a mix up with the breakfast order, but this was promptly resolved. All in all we really enjoyed our stay at Pittodrie House Hotel and would definately return again and recommend it to others. We had also viewed this hotel as a potential wedding venue, we met with hotel Manager and the wedding co-ordinator and they did an excellent job in talking us through everything and showing us around. We felt the hotel had a lovely homely feel, beautiful setting, good size function room and probably the nicest venue we viewed in the area, they are currently offering an excellent wedding package with everything you would need for your special day, however due to our large numbers, sadly it just wasnt suitable for us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beauly, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

booked a feature room for a one night quick trip over to Aberdeen. Nice spacious room (South Room), clean and comfortable and worthy of the star rating. Although the heating in the room was off when we arrived - however rooms on the cooler side dont really bother us, it could be a problem for others, so maybe a little more forward planning needed to ensure that heating is on ready for arrival of guests?
No gowns in the room, although sure there usually is here, didn't ask or mention so no complaint, just an observation.
Room service was of a good quality and arrived quickly.
All the staff were friendly and welcoming and the main rooms of the hotel were all warm and inviting. All round an excellent hotel and recommended, we'll certainly continue to use.

Room Tip: South Room is the nicest (although not the most expensive) we've stayed in here, would take this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

I cannot compliment this hotel enough for the fantastic level of service, wonderful food, attention to detail and the outstanding friendliness of all the staff. Nothing was too much trouble. Special thanks to Eddy , master of ceremony and general all round good guy for ensuring everything ran smoothly! I would highly recommend this hotel for any occasion, big, small, afternoon tea or just dinner in a spectacular location.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The hotel has improved beyond all recognition since our last visit and I would highly recommend it for a Scottish Castle Hotel experience.
Staff friendly and attentive, breakfast extensive and good quality,( we didn't eat here in the evening but the menu looked good), log fires in lounges and restaurant, even at breakfast time - very relaxing environment.
The only caveat i would give is to probably avoid the hotel on a Saturday night as it is a very popular wedding venue and the noise from the ballroom and excited guests talking loudly in the corridors after a few drinks can be a bit of a nuisance. ( and not much the hotel management can do about it.)
The hotel is incredibly old, it was refurbished in 1676 ( or thereabouts) which gives you an idea of the age so it has great atmosphere. However don;t think you are going to a basic hotel, the bedrooms rooms are spacious and comfortable and the lounge is luxurious ( although that is very modern having been added at 1850 of so) , the hotel is set in extensive grounds so there are great views and walks from the front door of the hotel. They are welcoming to dogs ( bedrooms only I think, but that is fine) and there is a nice little side entrance so you can take them in and out without a lot of fuss if they are of nervous disposition.
So in summary, if you want a luxurious break in what you imagine an old Scottish Baronial Castle to be - then go to this hotel and you wont regret it!
(Note it is not cheap, but it is worth the money!)

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lawns, preferably in the old part of the castle. Avoid the Harthill room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We recently attended a wedding at Pittodrie House and were blown away by this hidden Gem. Breathtaking surroundings, pleasant and friendly staff, beautiful decor and, most importantly, the food was amazing with portion sizes seldom seen at large functions. If I was getting married again I know where I'd be booking!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had our wedding reception at Pittodrie House Hotel on the 23rd March 2013, and it was the happiest and most magical day of our lives. Choosing this venue was one of the best decisions we have made. The venue itself is spectacular, with a stunning location at the foot of Bennachie, amazing food and an exceptional service. The staff here are not only extremely professional but also incredibly friendly, going out of their way to help us in any way they could. We cannot thank the staff enough for helping to make the day a phenomenal success. We have been told by our guests that they loved every part of the day, and that it was the best wedding they have ever been to. We had various meetings with the events team in the run up to the big day, so that by the time our big day had arrived it ran like clockwork. We had such rapport with the events team (particularly with Eddie and Bryan) that it seemed as though our wedding was being handled by good friends. We had great confidence that everything would work out perfectly, just the way we hoped, and our expectations were not only met but exceeded. We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, and it gives us great pleasure in giving you 100% feedback on Trip Advisor. MacDonald Hotels should take great pride in this hotel. A truly world-class venue.

Barbara and Stuart x

Room Tip: Every room is spacious and full of charming character, you can't go wrong with this hotel. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Macdonald Pittodrie House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Pittodrie House

Address: Chapel Of Garioch, Inverurie AB51 5HS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Inverurie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Inverurie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Pittodrie House 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the finest 4-star hotels in the Aberdeen area, Macdonald Pittodrie House is set within its own ancient grounds and offers the best in breathtaking scenery and fine facilities. The hotel's beautiful setting within 2,400 acres of beautiful estate land means we're a popular choice for family holidays, business and weddings.This Aberdeen hotel is a perfect venue for celebrations, events and conferences - boasting superb guest accommodation, stylish meeting and function rooms, plus breathtaking gardens and surrounding woodland.Our hotel near Aberdeen by Inverurie is perfect for country adventures - roam the marvellous Aberdeenshire landscapes and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. Once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our fantastic AA Rosette rated Mither Tap Restaurant, where you'll find the finest of fare in a remarkable Scottish countryside setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Macdonald Pittodrie House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Pittodrie House Hotel Inverurie
Macdonald Pittodrie Hotel
Macdonald Pittodrie Inverurie
Pittodrie House Hotel
Macdonald Pittodrie House Inverurie, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Pittodrie House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.