We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent quaility and quantity” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Edwards

Edwards
2 West High Street, Inverurie, Scotland
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 49 Restaurants in Inverurie
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Aberdeen23
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Decent quaility and quantity”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Popped in for lunch with wife and father-in-law one friday afternoon. To be honest, hadn't been in to eat there for a while as had not been overly impressed before. Glad we went back, though, as the quality, not to mention the quanitity, had greatly improved. I had steak pie, chips and peas. You couldn't see the plate for the amount of food piled on it. Steak in the pie was wonderfully tender and had great flavour. My wife had the chilli bowl, which again was a fearsome portion size and very well cooked. Pa-in-law had the fish, which had crisp batter and the fish itself was fresh and tasty. The waitress was very prompt and attentive to our table, even though it was a busy afternoon. All in all, a very enjoyable pub lunch.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    14
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“My kind of place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Can't beat popping into Edwards while wife does a bit of retail therapy. Nice selection of beers and proper home cooked food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great comfort food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Saturday 26th April, thick fog, miserable day. Nothing else really to do but a bit of shop browsing. We landed up going for lunch in this pub. Never having been here before, we were pleasantly surprised. Wonderful, friendly service. My husband chose the scampi, I went for the chilli dog. I didn't want healthy food for the type of day it was just something to get my teeth into. When it came it had lots of tasty chilli and smothered with melted cheese. It was just lovely. Also with a little salad with a nice dressing, along side a portion of lovely creamy coleslaw. Dave had the scampi, chips and peas along with a side of tartar sauce. Very satisfying. Bill came to £16.90. Didn't need dinner that night! Definitely would come again. Only complaint, I would rather have had fat chips as opposed to fries but wouldn't let it stop me having the same dish again!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

Fresh reasonably priced good food with big portions, brilliant steak pie. Child friendly. Staff always friendly and helpful

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Went out in Inverurie for a quick lunch and decided on Edwards. Got seated and served straight away. Food was really nice I had chicken on a bed of haggis lovely. My hubby had steak pie he really liked it. My daughter had chicken goujons the portion was small only for 4 small fillet. Served really quickly and food was really hot. Good value

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edwards also viewed

Inverurie, Aberdeenshire
Inverurie, Aberdeenshire
 
Inverurie, Aberdeenshire
Inverurie, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Edwards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edwards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.