We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic NYE stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Manor House Monkton Combe Bath

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Manor House Monkton Combe Bath to your Saves list
The Manor House Monkton Combe Bath
Monkton Combe, Bath BA2 7HD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic NYE stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We decided on Manor House after looking for cute and traditional little cottages in the Bath area to spend 3 nights in for NYE this year. It was 4 of us (2 couples) and a baby, so we were looking for somewhere nice and quiet to relax after Christmas and we found just the spot.
Indeed, as other people said, it is hard to find, but our cab driver knew exactly how to get there. Manor House is one of those idyllic places you think only exist in movies. From the front room to the living rooms with the fire places and the garden at the back to the individually set bedrooms, it just felt we walked into someones home. Charlie and her family made us feel very welcome and we enjoyed our stay tremendously. The cooked breakfast every morning in front of the fireplace was exactly what was needed on a cold winter's day.
We rented the Tudor wing rooms, two adjacent double bedrooms with 2 ensuite bathrooms, which I would highly recommend as we had a lot of space.
We didn't have too much time to explore the area in detail, but I would definitely recommend the Wheelwright Arms pub just up the road from Manor House, as well as the Hope and Anchor in Midford (8 min drive).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    13
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
13
41
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lynton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

From the moment you pull up to the Manor House, you know you are in for something special.

The property is truly unique; it carries an air of grandeur but is friendly, it feels luxurious but is also homely. The welcome is warm and it is a delight to be shown the beautiful dining room and lounge before being led to your bedroom- which will be unique and different from all the others at the Manor House- just one more reason for a repeat visit if you didn't have enough already!

The garden is characterful and Norman has without doubt perfected the breakfast. It's great to see really good quality sausages being used- not the cheap ones I've usually found at B&Bs!

For things to do I'd recommend a bike ride down the local canal ending in a brilliant pub (the name escapes me!).

Room Tip: The 'Silk Room' is lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

What a great place to stay, but how impossible to find... So: if you decide to go: print out the itinerary and DON'T ask the pub that is just 300 yards away but didn't seem to be aware that the Manor House is just down the little road...

But, once we had found it, we forgot our search straight away because we were welcomed by Dave as we were the lost son (and his wife and 3 daughters) himself. We went straight up to the pub, to enjoy the summer garden and a pint and the great food they serve there. Also a good place to go with kids, they have the best fish and chips and serve them in half portions.

We stayed in the family room, which is great, even with 3 kids. The bathrooms are a bit small and could use some updating (and beware of your head, the door post is really low if you're 1.86) but all that is compensated by the kindness and perfect service of the owners, who really enjoy having guests and have good tips for things to do in the environment. We went canoeing on the canal which was lovely.

Definitely a place to come back to and to recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just come back from a weekend break at the manor house. We had a lovely time. A great welcome from the owners. The room was lovely and quaint and the breakfast was amazing. I would definately recommend this lovely manor house. The centre of bath is a few minutes drive away and there is lots to see. Would absolutely go back to bath.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Simply this is a lovely house, that gives you a lovely welcome. A smile from Liz (who was looking after the place while the owners were away), was our welcome when we arrived, and so began the friendly atmosphere of "The Manor". A nice four poster in a room that may have needed some updating was ours for three nights (the bathroom was the let down being dark and needs to be re-done with good clean, simply it seems to have been forgotten) . It was however full of character and allowed us to relax in a quiet setting. Be aware that you will be challenged by a large breakfast......!!!, it's good!. So in short with a little updating this place would be charging twice as much, and as is is good value......nice friendly place.
Thanks to Liz, and the nice Manor........

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon UK
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is a lovely old manor house in a small village, a few miles outside Bath. The location, close to the river at the end of a narrow lane, is idyllic. The rooms are all quirky and attractive, the house is jam packed full atmosphere, but what made it perfect was the delightful welcome from Dave. Nothing was too much touble, breakfast (delicious) was served with a smile and it was a totally enjoyable experience. Thanks Dave, loved it!!!!
MIGHT not be a great choice if you don't like animals though, as there is a resident goose and a few friendly cats. I thought they added to the charm.

Room Tip: If in doubt, talk to Dave!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed at the Manor House for 1 night and oh how we wished we could have had more time there.On our arrival on Friday afternoon, Norman or Beth were unable to greet us, however we were left the key to our room and directions on how to find it, and there was fresh milk in the fridge and lots of lovely tea bags to choose from. We didn't meet Norman until later that evening once we had returned from our night out in Bath, and he was very friendly and welcoming and asked us what time we wanted breakfast in the morning.
We stayed in a lovely attic room (I can't remember the name of it) and it was just like home from home, and very cosy and lovely. It was so peaceful there and as it was a warm night we were able to have all the velux windows open and fall asleep to the sounds of the countryside! In the morning we enjoyed a lovely cooked breakfast and chilled out in the garden for a bit. I don't think that Lucy the Goose liked my partner very much though as she kept shouting at him!!
We would have loved more time there and will definately go back again for hopefully a full weekend of R&R.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manor House Monkton Combe Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House Monkton Combe Bath

Address: Monkton Combe, Bath BA2 7HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Monkton Combe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Monkton Combe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restful, rambling Medieval Manor in country village 2.25miles/ 8 minutes drive from centre of Bath. Dating from 1262 with Tudor inglenook fire spacious ensuite bedrooms with TV, video, DVD, WIFI. Fantastic candlelit restaurant with excellent local reputation for fine food in 16th and 19th century dining rooms on Fridays, Saturdays. Bring Your Own Wine - No Corkage Charge! Rural walks along brook to local pubs, canal boat/bike hire 5 minutes wander. Parking, gardens. Heaven! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Manor House Monkton Combe Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor House Monkton Combe Bath Hotel Monkton Combe
The Manor House Monkton Combe Bath UK - England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manor House Monkton Combe Bath, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.