We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterhouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Waterhouse to your Saves list
Waterhouse
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Waterhouse Lane, Monkton Combe, Bath BA2 7JB, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We recently stayed at The Waterhouse and booked 7 double rooms as part of a 40th birthday celebration in Bath. Ed and Katie were extremely helpful when I was initially organising this trip and they were very accommodating.
They organised a private dining function for 16 of us. The food was excellent, the service provided by the staff was superb and the setting was absolutely perfect! The hotel were still awaiting confirmation of their licence to sell alcohol so it was suggested that we 'bring our own'. This was a real bonus and I am sure that this could become a real 'selling point' whilst the hotel wait to secure their licence.
Our bedrooms were stunning, the décor modern and contemporary and everything was extremely clean.
Our breakfast the following morning was excellent and as well as the buffet selection of pastries, juices, fruits, cereals etc, the cooked breakfast was very tasty and well presented.
We certainly plan to stay here again.
The real selling point of this hotel is its proximity to the centre of Bath, its glorious setting and its vibrant and enthusiastic management. Many thanks!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane C, Manager at Waterhouse, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Rhian,

It was a pleasure to have you, Lee and friends at Waterhouse for your special 40th celebration and Katie and I are so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves, from the room, dinner through until breakfast.

We are happy to announce that we now have a bar here on site and soon to start serving dinners so look forward to welcoming you all back again to enjoy these new additions.

Take care and here's to your 41st Birthday celebrations at Waterhouse!
Kind regards,
Ed May
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    82
    9
    8
    8
See reviews for
40
165
6
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Nothing was too much trouble, Katie was the most wonderful host. Very welcoming and friendly, a true asset to the waterhouse . We look forward to our next stay. We stayed in room 8, we had a lovely view and the room was perfect. Diolch yn fawr.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane C, Manager at Waterhouse, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Waterhouse, it was a pleasure to have you and your group to stay with us for your special celebration and Katie and I so enjoyed hosting you.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your view and that the room was just right for you. We so hope to be able to welcome you and your friends back to Waterhouse again.

We are also delighted to inform you that we now have our liquor licence and a restaurant to be opened soon so look forward to hosting you here again.

Kind regards,
Ed May
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed in room 9 at the waterhouse last week, the room was beautifully furnished to a high standard, the bed was very comfortable and the staff very helpful, we also had a wonderful meal in the restaurant served with good wine. I would recommend this establishment, I will certainly be re visiting with some friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane C, Manager at Waterhouse, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Jean,

It was a pleasure having you staying with us and so glad you were able to stay and enjoy a drink and some food with us. Many thanks for taking the time to review us and we look forward to welcoming you and your friends back in the very near future!

Kind regards,
Ed May
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I was with my 12 year old daughter looking at schools in the beautiful area around Bath. She was exhausted after a week on the road and we just needed somewhere to stay for the night. We found Waterhouse on www.bookings.com and chose it out of many, mainly based on the reasonable price although perhaps the continental breakfast should be included in the rate. Waterhouse advertises itself as a place in the country and was a little further than I had anticipated but our GPS found it easily. The lovely Katie (I think that's her name) checked us in very efficiently and helped us to our twin room which was very clean and neat, with water, coffee, tea, hot chocolate. My daughter was fortunately too tired to eat because there is no restaurant or pub although Katie would organise a reservation at the Wheelwright Arms a short walk or drive away. I would have loved a cosy pub in the Waterhouse while my daughter slept, and I believe there are plans for licensing, so something to look forward to. There were some small maintenance issues which Simon, the owner, was very interested in hearing about at breakfast when he came over for a chat, and grateful that we had told him. Check-out was very easy and quick. Regretfully we did not get to explore the grounds since we arrived late and left early, so it was a bit pointless staying in the country though it was very relaxing! I would look forward to staying at the Waterhouse with my wife and spending a day in the grounds and an evening at the Wheelwright. Overall: recommended

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane C, Manager at Waterhouse, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Mr Jones,

Many thanks for your valuable feedback on your stay at Waterhouse. It was a pleasure to have you and your daughter stay with us and do hope that the school hunt has gone well for you.

We are pleased that you found Waterhouse a good place for you to stay and hope that next time as you say you will be able to come back and enjoy Waterhouse, a drink (we have now been granted our licence) and a meal in our restaurant which is shortly to be launched.

We hope to welcome you to Waterhouse again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ed May
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I've overnighted at Waterhouse a couple of times now and on both occasions have experienced a very enjoyable stay. From the friendly and welcoming staff, to the well-appointed rooms, peaceful surroundings and delightful breakfast, there is an atmosphere of quiet efficiency indicative of a well-run establishment. Quite charming was the walk to a nearby restaurant in the village for dinner and lovely views from the large and very comfortable double rooms upstairs. The beds are great and the original building quite stunning!! As commented by other reviewers, the hotel will benefit from obtaining a liquor license which I understand is imminent.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor overlooking the lawns are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmay83, General Manager at Waterhouse, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your positive feedback and thank you so much for taking the time to review our guest house. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed multiple stays with us and that from the service to location and the breakfast, your whole experience was a positive one, we look forward to welcoming you again. Since your last stay with us we are extremely happy to say that we have obtained our liquor licence and are enjoying serving our guests and the launch of our restaurant is on the horizon. We hope to be able to welcome you again soon and for you to enjoy a drink and a meal with us on site!
Kindest regards,
Ed May
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

My wife and I picked this hotel for our first visit to Bath, thinking it was in Bath and that we could enjoy a couple of nice evenings together having dinner there followed by a few drinks in the bar. It was not to be. There is no restaurant and there is no bar ! Unless you want to drive or take a taxi into town, you are quite isolated with no food or drink. I must admit this was a big disappointment and the hotel should make this much more obvious to bookers. Owners and staff are very friendly and the hotel itself is comfortable and clean. But there is absolutely no atmosphere. I must admit it was relaxing and when we took a taxi to Bath we had some great food. But again, for what you get, the accommodation is too pricey, too isolated and too short of a restaurant, and a bar and some atmosphere. Sorry........

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmay83, General Manager at Waterhouse, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your feedback and we are sorry to hear that you were not totally satisfied with your stay at Waterhouse. We are so pleased that once you were at the guest house you received good service and found the place comfortable. We are however sorry that it was not clear before your arrival that we are in a rural setting and at this time did not have the facilities for a bar or restaurant. We would like to inform you that our alcohol licence application was under review when you stayed with us and we are delighted that this week this has been accepted and we can now supply alcohol to our guests and are planning to open a restaurant in the next week. We are sorry that you came before these developments but hope that these further facilities on site will add to the guest experience and overall atmosphere of the place which we endeavour to improve as we develop the guest house further. We apologise again for your dissatisfaction but hope to see you in the future to experience the guest house and its new developments.
Kind regards,
Ed May
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were attending a wedding nearby , and all of the hotels that had been recommended by the bride and groom were booked out .
Not great directions Waterhouse !
The sat nav said no !! -So I then looked onto trip advisor and one of the reviews said that this hotel was up a track passing a farm .
We ended up on someone's driveway off of a track ! Rather embarrassing and after apologising profusely for ending up on their driveway - thankfully the elderly couple that owned the property were lovely !
They tried their best to help !
However they had no idea where the Waterhouse was located . We then drove further on and stopped and asked a passer by ...she didn't know the name of the hotel , but when I said I think it might be a conference centre also she directed us to the nearest one that she thought it could be !!- We arrived at our destination !
Signs would be good Waterhouse hotel ! - Even when we found the turning the sign was tiny and we still weren't sure that we had found the right place .
Having found the hotel , the Georgian building was very impressive , and the check in very efficient .
We were checked into our room which was beautifully decorated and the bed was very very comfortable .
However although the bathroom was large , the bedroom was rather small and we would've preferred a bigger bed but understand that in the space of the room that a larger bed would not be feasible .
Bit of a drawback having no restaurant or bar , and I understand from previous comments that the managers are waiting for a license .
We arrived earlier than expected and decided to walk to the Wheelwright arms after getting directions from the hotel receptionist for the nearest place to have a drink or a meal .
I wouldn't recommend this walk in the dark ! Thankfully it was still light !
It was also a lovely walk ! But you need the correct footwear ! It was a bit muddy , and if it rains then I can imagine that wellies or a small boat would be in order !
Didn't do breakfast because we thought that after paying £130 for our room and having no restaurant or bar facilities it was a bit expensive at £10 !

Lovely staff running the hotel , and nothing was too much trouble .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane C, General Manager at Waterhouse, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for your detailed feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us but sorry you had trouble finding directions to the hotel. With all bookings we email directions to each guest with specific maps and outline on the email not to use Sat Nav as it does not bring you to Waterhouse. Unfortunately we are not allowed any larger signs die to planning restraints from the highway authorities.

Great to hear the staff running Waterhouse looked after you and enabled you to relax in our lovely surroundings and you were able to walk to the nearby pub. We do offer out torches for guests to do this walk so is not usually a problem with access.

Again thank you for your comments and we hope we are able to welcome you back to Waterhouse one day soon.

Kind Regards,

Waterhouse, Bath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhouse

Address: Waterhouse Lane, Monkton Combe, Bath BA2 7JB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Monkton Combe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Monkton Combe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterhouse is a beautiful Georgian Country house, set in 3 acres of park land with lawns sloping down to its own stretch of river, nestling in stunning countryside with panoramic views. The house has been sympathetically restored to retain many of its original features and can offer 9 contemporary bedrooms and 4 deluxe rooms to our guests, it is a place to relax, reflect and be restored. We are proud to announce that Waterhouse has been awarded an AA 4 Star Rating for its facilities. Here at Waterhouse we pride our family feel relaxed venue on quality. Please be advised that Waterhouse is a Guesthouse, and not a hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Waterhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterhouse Monkton Combe, UK - England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.