We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Outbuilding Rooms need an update” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Combe Grove Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Combe Grove Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Combe Grove Manor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Brassknocker Hill, Monkton Combe, Bath BA2 7HS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Monkton Combe
Brentwood, Essex, UK
1 review
“Nice Hotel, Outbuilding Rooms need an update”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Generally speaking we had a pleasant stay this hotel. The staff were friendly , the quality of the food was good and the country club facilities were very good. However, you will need a car to get about as its 3 miles (£12 Cab) from the city centre. Be aware that the cheaper rooms are in a different apartment block away from the main manor house. Parking is a problem with residents contending for limited spaces with day visitors to the country club. The room where we stayed was a bit of a disappointment in terms of today’s décor and standards. In particular we had problems with:- a broken drawer that meant clothes fell out of the back of the drawer; The mixer switch on the bath / shower tap leaked so bad to the extent that it gave out as much water as the shower head did; The hair dryer in the room was broken exposing wiring. We pointed out these facts to the hotel on day 1 but nothing was done.

Room Tip: Insist on a room in the manor house if possible. Rooms outside in the separate apartment block are i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_CombeGroveManor, General Manager at Combe Grove Manor Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Just186

I am sorry that you had issues during your stay, I am extremely concerned at the maintenance issues with your room, a point that I will discuss with my team tomorrow.

The Garden rooms are currently under refurbishment, the corridors has been completed and one floor of the rooms.

Thank you for your valuable feed back only through this are we able to improve our guests experiences.

Kind Regards
Debbie Hibbins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    279
    198
    112
    98
See reviews for
152
549
17
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Radlett
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Combe Grove Manor Hotel at the end of October 2013.

Upon arrival we were upgraded to the main house and given room 2.

What a wonderful room - clean, spacious, beautifully furnished, lovely en suite facilities and with stunning views.

Our package included breakfast and dinner for three nights. The meals were all of good quality and very good value for what we paid for our package, though the evening menu changed little during the course of our three night stay (only the choice of fish dish appeared to change from sea bass to hake). Our only comment would be with regard to the wording of the deal we were on, as to whether or not you received a bottle of wine per night or one during the stay (not unnaturally it turned out to be one per stay). Fortunately however, the wines are realistically priced and no more expensive than you would pay in most restaurants, notwithstanding the restaurant has 2 AA rosettes.

If drinking the wines it appears to be better value where available to have three 250ml glasses of wine rather than a bottle. With the dessert wines, a review of the pricing structure needs to be made by the hotel group as a half bottle of dessert wine works out to be the equivalent cost of a whole bottle of wine, whilst the glass price is about the same as for the normal wine list.

The staff in the restaurant, bar and reception were attentive and friendly throughout our stay and the unseen cleaning and back of house, gardening and maintenance support staff appeared to be doing an excellent job .

Whilst we were at the hotel we felt that the service was extremely good and very friendly throughout, though we would agree with comments of other contributors that there was no mention of additional breakfast items being available, though on request we were told what was available and given a copy of the breakfast menu that indicated certain additional items could be provided on request.

Comments have been made by others of poor decorations, but the areas that we went to were fully and appropriately and well decorated.

The spa and gymnasium was well appointed with friendly staff.

The only minor downside, most probably because of the nature of the building itself was the external access to the basement bar and the lack of anything of a communal nature going on in the evenings - we visited the bar in the basement on our first evening and were the only customers there.

On departure there was a small problem regarding the calculation of the bill that was immediately and appropriately dealt with by the member of staff on reception.

The hotel itself is situated about ten minutes outside Bath and rather than driving in and finding somewhere to park we got the hotel to arrange a taxi to Bath which cost about £ 10 each way and dropped us in the centre.

All in all a very pleasant and restful experience in a beautiful building in a wonderful setting and rather better than the experiences that some other visitors have reported. We would gladly return and would happily recommend others to try this hotel.

Room Tip: The manor house is wonderful to stay in of you can. If visiting Bath we would suggest that you take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_CombeGroveManor, General Manager at Combe Grove Manor Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear CodexRadlett

Thank you taking the time to write an extensive review on Combe Grove Manor.
I know the staff like me will be pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We should have menus on display for breakfast; I will discuss this with the team.
I will also look into your point on the dessert wine.
Once again thank you for your valuable feedback, we hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Debbie Hibbins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I booked into the hotel for 3 nights. This is an ideal hotel for visiting Bath, eating well and the chance to keep fit at the same time. Apart from the spa, pool, gym etc. the hotel has around 70 acres of land for that quick jog! There are rooms in the main manor and in buildings in the grounds. The manor has superb views in most bedrooms and the dining room . Breakfast and dinner very good, although the Bistro in the basement was lacking in atmosphere and some of the staff there were quite amateurish. The staff were very helpful when they had a broadband problem (not their fault) they changed my room so I could get a signal and carry on working. Generally all the staff were very friendly and helpful. The Bath Clinic is opposite one of the entrances so it is ideal to stay there to convalesce as I did, or if you visiting people in the clinic. Beware there are no lifts. Book ahead on the Puma website for some good deals.

Room Tip: In the main manor with views over the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_CombeGroveManor, General Manager at Combe Grove Manor Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Chris D

Thank you taking the time to write a review for us at Combe Grove Manor Hotel and Country Club.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay, however disappointed to read that you had issues in the Eden bar.
Rates do vary although advance purchases do offer the best value for money.
We hop to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Debbie Hibbins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed in the great Manor part of the hotel to mark a special wedding anniversary and can't thank the whole team of staff enough for their genuinely friendly, warmth, hospitality and attitude towards making you feel valued. We like to select ALL members of staff for their 'outstanding beyond the call of duty' because they should all be merited with congratulations!

Whether we were in the bar; waiters and waitresses in the restaurant, reception and leisure staff were all brilliant. I sometimes wonder why people can be so unconsidered of staff doing their best on busy days, yes they were working hard but we appreciate their honesty and commitment to enabling us to have a great time. Thank You.

We stayed here for three nights and found plenty to keep yourselves occupied; swimming, exercise in the gym and of course a pamper treatment is always a necessity to relax and unwind, the young lady was superb.

The hotel and hall has the appearance of investment to keep in the 21st century, shame more money hasn't been spent on the leisure facilities?!

We recommend upgrading to the Manor to really appreciate your stay; dinner in the hall is great for dressing for the occasion, we had one of the best rooms over looking the old garden steps directly towards the garden/ land beyond, we loved having a special coffee from the Tassimo machine every evening and the beds are soooo comfortable.

The grounds offer great walks for those willing to venture off the paths; we saw deer and different wild birds from the norm.

TIP: Upgrade your room, walk off the beaten path and relax.....

Room Tip: Request a room on the first floor over looking the countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_CombeGroveManor, General Manager at Combe Grove Manor Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear grantfamilySuffolk

Grant family I am so pleased that you choose to spend your 25th Wedding Anniversary with us.
We do have a small team that work hard to give our guests a great experience, they will be pleased to read your review.
We wish you well and hope to see you in the near future.

Kind Regards
Debbie Hibbins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

We booked as we have stayed at Puma Collection hotels before. However this one isn't up to the same standard. We booked directly through Puma's website so got the 40% off deal, which is what made this a good value getaway.

The rooms are quite tired. Would have expected a fridge and decent hair dryer etc. Beds were too soft and rooms quite small. We got a ground floor room and had to ask for a room change as plumbing noises were pretty loud. On the request to change, it appeared it wasn't the first time they had recieved this complaint.

The 2 rosette restaurant was ok but nothing special. My risotto was plain with little taste. The menu was the same for both nights so tried the brasserie on 2nd night, which was actually great, with friendly staff - even though they did forget our coffees!

The leisure facilities were also a bit tired. Thankfully we had booked the Thermal Spa in Bath so really didn't matter.

I don't think we would stay again and will more carefully consider staying at a Puma hotel again, as mainly booked this as had such good previous experiences.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_CombeGroveManor, General Manager at Combe Grove Manor Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Debra F

I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
We are excited that our new Head chef is due to start this week.
The Hotel does offer a casual dining experience in the Bar apposed to a more formal menu in the Georgian Restaurant.
We will review all the menus in the coming weeks and chef I know will be pleased to read your valuable feedback.

Kind Regards
Debbie Hibbins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Hotel was fine but staff in bar not great. I was told there was a 30-45 minute wait for a chicken burger with 3 people in the bar. Be prepared to wait. When I did arrive chicken very peppery. On the plus side, it is in a scenic location with some good views.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_CombeGroveManor, General Manager at Combe Grove Manor Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Bilobuggins

Please accept my apologies for the wait for you food, please rest assured I will discuss your comments with the team. If you would like to discuss the issue in more detail I would be happy to discuss the service issues with you.
Kind Regards
Debbie Hibbins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushey, Hertfordshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights with my partner as part of a getaway and found it to be a lovely hotel. The building and grounds are quite grand and make for a great setting. We stayed in the outer apartments which were nice, if not a bit dated. They had everything we needed and ensured a good nights sleep. I would happily go back but perhaps this time to stay in the main hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_CombeGroveManor, General Manager at Combe Grove Manor Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Man_About_The_House

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us, I am pleased to read that the majority of your stay went well. I would appreciate if you could contact me re the “Grumpy man” in order for me to discuss your comments with him. I can be contacted on 01225 834644.
We do hope that we see you in the near future.
Kind Regards
Debbie Hibbins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Combe Grove Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Combe Grove Manor Hotel

Address: Brassknocker Hill, Monkton Combe, Bath BA2 7HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Monkton Combe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Monkton Combe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Combe Grove Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 18th Century Combe Grove Manor Hotel is a luxury four-star Georgian country house hotel with 42 bedrooms surrounded by 69 acres of private gardens and woodlands. With unrivalled views of the beautiful Limpley Stoke Valley and just outside the historic spa city of Bath, it’s ideally located for exploring the the Roman Baths, The Royal Crescent and Bath Abbey. At the hotel relax on the golf driving range, in the beauty rooms, indoor pool and in and outdoor tennis courts. Enjoy award winning food, great service and a relaxed atmosphere in the 2 AA Rosette restaurant, The Georgian Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Combe Grove Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Monkton Combe
Monkton Combe Barcelo
Combe Grove Manor Hotel Monkton Combe, UK - England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Combe Grove Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.