We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bedroom was terrible - service worse” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bandon Arms

Bandon Arms
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridgnorth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bandon Arms
Mill Street, Bridgnorth WV15 5AG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 25 Bridgnorth B&B and Inns
Stalybridge, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bedroom was terrible - service worse”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We have stayed in the Grouse & Claret in Rowsley, another Marstons Hotel, and it was fantastic. So when we were looking for somewhere to stay for one night in Bridgnorth on a business trip we booked in here.
Mould was around the bath seal, dirty skirting board and walls in bathroom.
Paint was flaking off the walls. Not very good.
Service in the restaurant was very poor and staff seemed more interested in popping into the kitchen and emerging eating something or hiding from customers than offering a high standard service.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    13
    10
    5
    10
See reviews for
17
15
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

we have dined here at least 10 times, and the food is always fantastic as is the service, we have dined as a couple and as a family, cannot fault the food, staff or service, 10/10, the location is fabulous right on the river severn

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Had Lunch with my wife Thursday 19th September. Large Pub Venue which was busy for just after 12pm, (A good sign in my opinion of the Quality of food etc.).
Good choice of food and drink. Ordered and paid for our meal at the bar, bought a couple of soft drinks, and sat down. Had to wait about 20 minutes, which was not long considering how busy. Food was served piping hot, with generous portion size. Waiting staff were attentive polite and cheerful. Great Value for money (buy one get cheapest free on a good range of meals). Would most definitely return if given the chance.

Room Tip: Order and pay for your food at the bar...could save you time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We have visited here on several occasions whilst on the way to Bridgnorth centre. It can get very busy and parking can sometimes be an issue. The service is nothing to write home about, hence the 3 star rating. The food has always been good, but again nothing special. Must say there is usually quite a long wait to be served - with no FOH team member explaining this when ordering or providing upates whilst you're waiting. Worth stopping by if you need to eat out and don't mind waiting a long time for food.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Family of 4 on a Monday night nipping out for dinner, surprised how busy the place is even early week.
A mish mash of seating arrangements with uncomfortable chairs none of which match, but we did find a quiet corner away from the noise.
I don't know wether people or head office has complained but the table next to us was cleaned 3 times before anyone had even used it which seemed a bit weird.
Our 4 dishes we ordered were all different but mine and my wife's both contained chicken which was so dry it was criminal ,all in all we were not over whelmed with the food we were served but its a cheap venue to dine in so you get what you pay for .
Only saving grace was bar men knew what he was talking about when it came to the real ale I ordered so credit to him.
Would we return ?... Only if food quality improves

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Room size was great but needed a good hoovering and polishing, there were bits and dust all over floor. Room was very dated needed a lick of paint at least. Being able to checking at 10am sounds great but would much prefer to check in at 12 and have a clean room. Had food in the pub it was amazing. Best steak we have had for along time. Could not fault staff they were great. It is a bit of a let down with no breakfast but our evening meal made up for that.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

I popped in here on a Tuesday around 415pm for a quick bite to eat with my Son (2 years old). The place was quiet, but to be expected as it was early. I must say though that the service was excellent. All the staff were very friendly and attentive. My Son was given a little colouring sheet and crayons to keep him busy. The staff were smiley and pleasant towards my Son and nothing seemed too much trouble. The food was okay. I had a chicken club sandwich, which was delicious. The chips however were a little greasy, but I still ate them. My Son had a kids meal. Nothing major and as expected for a kids meal. The service made up for the food anyway.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bandon Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bandon Arms

Address: Mill Street, Bridgnorth WV15 5AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bridgnorth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Bridgnorth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Bandon Arms Bridgnorth, Shropshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bandon Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bandon Arms to your Saves list