We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than expected!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bandon Arms

Bandon Arms
Mill Street, Bridgnorth, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 79 Restaurants in Bridgnorth
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Much better than expected!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We met some friends here for what I thought would be somewhere just cheap and cheerful, but I was quite pleasantly surprised. The food was very tasty, good size portions, waitressess were really helpful and pleasant and good value for money.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    20
    6
    6
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Chose to eat here on a trip to Bridgnorth as many of the other pubs/eateries in the town were pretty dead on a Tuesday night, whereas this one was absolutely packed. We hadn't booked so couldn't get a table for about half an hour, but eventually were given one near a waitress station.

Watching the staff was a revelation - they never stopped! Best of all, our waitress (five months pregnant too) was a real gem, lovely girl who never stopped smiling and couldn't do enough for us.
My husband chose steak (always a bit of a risk in a place like this), but it was really good and cooked just as he'd requested. My chicken in Madeira sauce was tasty, with plenty of accompanying vegetables, and the pudding was good too.
As another reviewer mentioned, pub grub is never going to win a Michelin star - but the value for money was brilliant (two for one during our visit), and the pleasant and efficient service second to none.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turkey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great service from young and entusiastic staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I am a regular traveller, as my previous review illustrate. In all my avels I have rarely witnessed a more committed staff than this restaurant. No-one would try to say this place serves haute cuisine but what they do they do really well. The food was tasty and varied and the staff, guided by an excellent manageress, delivered it promptly and with a genuine warm smile. The prices were acceptable, although for me having spent most of the last 10 years outside the UK it was maybe a little shock on returning to my hometown area. A good selection of wines and excellent coffee made it a positive experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Asked to move”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My family & i regularly visit The Bandon Arms & have mostly been satisfied. However, on our visit last evening, we entered the building, chose a vacant table, ( there were quite a few others! ) & began to peruse the menu. After a few minutes we were approached by a very abrupt young lady & told " we are just about to reserve this table, would you please move! " This we did, but my question is.. why could she not have reserved another available table? We will think twice about visiting again after this treatment!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Poor quality food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were visiting my elderly mother and as it was a nice evening decided to take her out for a meal, we chose the Bandon Arms as it was nearby and easy for my mother to get from car to restaurant.

Although a Friday evening the restaurant was quiet so we found a table easily,

Our drinks order was taken, followed by our food order and we sat back expecting to wait around 20 mins for food, were surprised however to see it arrive in less than half that time.

I chose the lasagne made to their own secret recipe, well if the secret recipe was for a tasteless sloppy and obviously microwaved lasagne then they have it!!! As for the side side of limp lettuce and tasteless tomatoes best left on the side!

My wife had a Thai like dish, which I doubt has been anywhere near Thailand, she complained it was tasteless, the prawns were hard and it appeared to have also been reheated.

My mother who has a small appetite chose a jacket potato with cheese, this again was clearly a reheated given the constituency of the potato, my mother didn't enjoy it at all.

We were offered the dessert menu, but given the experience declined.

We were not the only ones dissatisfied with our meal, the couple on the next table also complained about their meal.

The Bandon Arms is certainly not a pub restaurant we will visit again

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bandon Arms also viewed

Bridgnorth, Shropshire
Bridgnorth, Shropshire
 
Bridgnorth, Shropshire
Tong, Shropshire
 

Been to Bandon Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bandon Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.