We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valentines Menu - 1st Class” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NomisRestaurant - CLOSED

NomisRestaurant
65 St Marys St, Bridgnorth WV16 4DR, England
01746 767364
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $16 - $55
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Valentines Menu - 1st Class”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Took my wife out for a special treat, well I am good to her!!
Booked in for valentines day, 4 course menu with a glass of bubbly £45.00
Food was amazing, service very attentive without being in your face.
I had the hanger steak, when I last went in and lucky for me, it was on the velentines menu. The slow cooking really helps release the flavours, I am a steak man and this was one of the best steaks I can honestly say I have tasted, the triple cooked chips were crunchy and moreish.

The table had been decorated, my wife really appreciated the touch, with a little note of the meaning of valentines day and confetti, they had took time to make a effort for this occasion.

If the hanger steak is on the menu again any time soon, I will be going back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    10
    9
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Less than average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Invited a friend for Lunch,decor drab,no pepper mill on the table,I had been informed by several people that the food was good.Pate was passable,tiny bit of fish.Simon was charming,what more can I say,for the same money I prefer to eat in the city of London where everything is spot on.I would not go a second time,as less than average.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“great food. but room very cold”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

took wife here for suprise treat. Very welcoming and went straight to table. immediately noticed room was cold, very cold. had 4 course meal which was amazing. neuveau cuisine style but adequate portions. Bit of a wait between courses but we guessed this was due to food being prepared individually. Very expensive meal however- should have been at leadt £10 less than ghe £45 per head we paid. we will however go back for special ocassions - but in summer when the place will be warmer

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
1 review
“A very talented Chef!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We have dined at NOMIS many times now, Simon is a very talented chef and the food he produces is amazing! I do not say this lightly, I am a regular diner at many Michelin starred establishments, including some of the best in the world such as The Waterside Inn, I think some people forget that Simon, who worked with Glyn Purnell at Purnells in Birimingam, has opened a restaurant of his own, in a very difficult economic climate, with limited funds, I think he is a very hard working, excellent chef, and I think for people to complain about waiting a while for freshly cooked, quality food really need to think before submitting bad reports! I can highly reccomend this restaurant, I entrusted our Christmas Day Lunch to NOMIS, and we were looked after superbly, the food was outstanding, and we had a lovely Christmas Day! Try it for yourself is what I would say, and trust me, it's good!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Can't wait for our next visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Our first visit was on a Saturday lunchtime. The food was lovely, great flavours and good portion sizes. Service was very welcoming and friendly. Good value for money. We will be going back very soon!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed NomisRestaurant also viewed

Bridgnorth, Shropshire
Bridgnorth, Shropshire
 
Bridgnorth, Shropshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NomisRestaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.