We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favourite Restaurant in Town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kings Head and Stable Bar

The Kings Head and Stable Bar
Whitburn St, Bridgnorth WV16 4QN, England
+44 1746 762141
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 82 Restaurants in Bridgnorth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $35
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Leintwardine
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Our Favourite Restaurant in Town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We eat here regularly & the food is always excellent. The choice of menu is full & varied. Lots of specials including fish dishes. However we usually have the Fillet Steak as it is always spot on - cooked to perfection with options of delicious sauces. The service is generally very good.The owner is very attentive & knowledgable & is always very welcoming.There is the option to eat in The Kings Head Restaurant or The Stable Bar which is usually more lively, often with a local band or musician. Roaring fires in both restaurants add to the ambience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    70
    11
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We were fortunate to get the last table available, which was in the bar and near the open fire. Heaven after the rain outside! The service was faultless - friendly, attentive but not over the top. The star of the evening was the Shropshire lamb: I am not a big meat eater, but savoured every mouthful of this delicious meal, perfectly slow-roasted and luscious. We'll definitely return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Food, Pleasant Atmosphere, Nice Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Really enjoyed my lunch in this pub. Unlike a fellow-reviewer, I found the young waitresses to be attentive and friendly. Particularly enjoyed the 'ham hock terrine' - a clever and very tasty invention of the chef.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice food, good atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I love the Kings Head and Stable Bar. I have been countless times and the food is always worth the wait and the price. The Shropshire Lamb is always a delight. Came here with my friend from school towards the end of October and we had a great evening, amazing food, the local ales were delicious and again, a faultless visit. Cannot wait to return again before Christmas!! Well worth a visit, you will not be disappointed - best place in Bridgnorth to eat.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
“Great food, service and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I have eaten in the Stable Bar and Kings Head on several occasions. The food is top notch (try the pork, it is excellent), along with the service and a busy buzzy atmosphere at weekends. It does get very busy so I would suggest booking. They also serve Sunday lunch later in the day which is handy.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kings Head and Stable Bar also viewed

Bridgnorth, Shropshire
Bridgnorth, Shropshire
 
Bridgnorth, Shropshire
 

Been to The Kings Head and Stable Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kings Head and Stable Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.