We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stop off” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Friars

The Friars
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridgnorth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Friars
Save
You added The Friars to your Saves list
3 St. Marys St, Bridgnorth WV16 4DW , England (Formerly Hen and Chickens)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 28 Bridgnorth B&B and Inns
Delabole
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Overnight stop off”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Absolutely fabulous place .. great people .. and what a great pub. Accommodation comfortable and very reasonable price. Will definitely return. Parking close by in public car park which is a benefit in Bridgnorth!

Probably the best juke box I've ever seen in the UK .. Blues fans will love it.

Thanks to Pete and Nick for their hospitality.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    9
    2
    4
    3
See reviews for
2
15
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Our friends booked this for a weekend break for us all. The staff were very friendly and the included breakfast was lovely. The room we were given however was a disgrace. The building is very old so you expect uneven floors etc which you get. The stairs had no light on them at night which is an accident waiting to happen as they are very steep and uneven due to the buildings age. We were in Room 1 which was frankly awful. The bathroom wall had mould and damp halfway up it, the shower was grotty and the sink taps were nigh on impossible to turn on and then you couldn't turn them off. The bed base and mattress were of different sizes and it was really uncomfortable and the room itself was small. I feel the owners are trying as the linen etc was all clean but chucking woodchip and emulsion at a damp old building isn't going to sort it's problems out. I really feel this room shouldn't have been let. Our friends were in room No2 which though still basic was in far better shape than ours. Am afraid there is no way I would stay here again until there has been a fair bit of money spent on upgrading the rooms. It could be a lovely little place to stay but not at the moment, well certainly not in room 1!

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanley
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We were given room no 3 on the first floor. This comprises two rooms with a connecting door with a shared en-suite. The main room has a double bed whilst the smaller room has a single. This was ideal for my wife and I and our teenage daughter so we paid an additional £5 per night for this. The rooms were reasonable comfortable though there is some arrears of maintenance, eg the lack of curtains in the small room and sticking doors. Also the rooms are not service daily.
The biggest let down though was the fact that these rooms are directly above the pub bar and live music is played on Friday and Saturday nights, which is so loud that it can be felt through the floor of the bedrooms and goes on until after midnight. We believe that recorded music was played after the band finished, around 11:30 – which was slightly quieter, but not much! Sleep was impossible, if you want an early night here – forget it! To think that we paid £5 extra for these rooms as well. The Hen & Chickens needs to decide if it is to be a live music venue or a pub with accommodation – the two do not go together!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShropshireRingo, Owner at The Friars, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
"I am sorry your stay was spoiled by bar noise. Unfortunately, you chose the only room that is directly above the bar - all our other rooms are at the other end of the building and tend to be much quieter. As a result of your review comments I have today updated the room description on LateRooms.com to highlight the risk of noise from the live music on Friday & Saturday nights, although our website has always stated that those nights are live music nights. We are quite clear about our primary purpose. We are a pub that hosts live music two nights per week and we just happen to also have a few rooms to let out to guests/customers who wish to stay in central Bridgnorth. We do not claim to be a hotel, so room guests may experience more noise than would be the case in a hotel or guest house. We have tried to reflect this within our competitive pricing policy. We always try to offer the best possible service to our customers so once again I apologise for your recent experience and would like to offer you a half-price return stay - please get in touch with us directly and we will sort out a suitable date and room for you" Regards Paul (Hen and Chickens)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ironbridge Gorge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Last minute booking for a friends 40th party. This is a public house with rooms upstairs in a central location. The room was excellent value for money, warm, clean and comfortable with a very traditional 18th century feel. The pub itself has a welcoming open fire, and as a bonus 3 or 4 real ales. The welcome was as warm as you would expect any establishment. I would stay here again if in the area

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Attended a friends pre wedding party at the hen and chickens yesterday.
Hidden away in st. Mary's street you could easily walk on by only locals and people staying the night would know it was there.
There is no parking you have to park near by in the council run car park but its not that far to walk.
The pub only has one large bar but has a good selection of real ales which are well kept,
Staff are friendly and helpful and last night the wedding party had laid on a brilliant local band and food which made for a great night,
Have not seen the rooms so cannot comment but if you want quiet close to the high street this would be an ideal place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Hen & Chickens. There was a live band on and the locals were very friendly. A lovely pint of Ale is served. The rooms are just off the main pub and are clean and comfortable with tea and coffee provided and en suite. It is an ideal place to stay to visit bridgnorth and Ironbridge is not far away to visit either. I will be returning, soon I hope.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My wife and I were very lucky to find The Hen and Chickens had one room left as we only phoned them on the afternoon of the day we wanted to stay and we are so glad we did phone them as not only did we have love warm welcome from the staff but for me ( as my wife is not a beer drinker ) the choice of 5 real ales in the pub was great. We found the locals to be very friendly as well, all in all we had a lovely stay and heartily recommend it to anyone. If you want to stay in Bridgnorth the The Hen and Chickens is the place to stay.

Andy and Mere

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Friars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Friars

Address: 3 St. Marys St, Bridgnorth WV16 4DW , England (Formerly Hen and Chickens)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bridgnorth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Bridgnorth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional 17th-century inn, The Friars is a welcoming public house with homely en suite rooms, Fab home cooked food and live entertainment at weekends. Bridgnorth town centre is just a 1-minute walk away. The Friars has a large courtyard with a seating area and a good selection of lagers, real ales and ciders. We look forward to seeing you Amz & The Gang ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Friars Bridgnorth, Shropshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Friars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.