We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Quality Food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wellies Cafe at Greenlands Farm Village

Wellies Cafe at Greenlands Farm Village
Greenlands Farm Village, | Greenlands Farm Village,Tewitfield, Carnforth LA6 1JH, England
01524 784184
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 35 Restaurants in Carnforth
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Lancashire
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Poor Quality Food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We used to be regulars at Wellies Cafe their Ham, Egg and chips was the best around but the last two times we visited the food has been very poor quality and the staff do not appear to care less. Last time I ordered the Homemade Cheese & Onion Quiche and received an extremely wizened piece of tart about 1 cm deep, my husband's ham was salty and very fatty and the chips where pretty awful too. In all fairness to the staff I was give a full refund but alas we will not be returning.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    15
    6
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is a good cafe. There isn't a huge range of meals but it has everything you need including things like sandwiches and soup. The staff are friendly and it makes a good day out. I would recommend this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wellies Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I am a disabled customer and find that access to establishments can still be tricky at times.

When entering Wellies restaurant at Greenlands Farm Village it was great to be able to have level access. The layout of the restaurant is also very good with plenty of room between tables to get through. There is a great relaxed feeling and a great selection on the current menu. Also you have a choice of eating indoors or outdoors.

The staff are all polite and welcoming whilst entering the restaurant. It's fantastic for families, couples and friends who can meet up at the restaurant and have a coffee or have a meal.

I give the restaurant 10/10 for service, politeness, food and relaxed atmosphere.

Highly recommended.

I am an ex-Head Chef working at a lot of different establishments and had the pleasure of working as Head Chef for Barbara Windsor (Peggy Mitchell from Eastenders and is currently advertising a bingo site on TV). I find it hard going out for meals having been in the trade, but I have started to find establishments that I've had a good meal in.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We visited the greenlands village on a rainy holiday day, to visit the indoor playbarn with our two children. After a good play in the soft play we decided as it was still raining we would have lunch at wellies cafe. The food was very nice and portions were a good size. My 3 year old had a sandwich which comes as a full platefull plus a thoughtful small bowl of pombears! For 3 pounds i thought this was good value although the other prices, especially the drinks were a little on the expensive side. We had a lovely lunch and our visit was good, the only improvement i would suggest is for them to provide colouring or selection of toys to keep children entertained during the wait for the food ( as the place has quite a lot of kid aimed things). Service was good though and the wait was not longer than expected.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“tea and cake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Dropped in near closing time for cake and tea/coffee. Lovely selection of cakes and friendly service

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wellies Cafe at Greenlands Farm Village also viewed

 
Carnforth, Lancashire
Blackpool, Lancashire
 

Been to Wellies Cafe at Greenlands Farm Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wellies Cafe at Greenlands Farm Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.