We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little gem in carnforth” 4 of 5 stars
Review of China Essence

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
China Essence
2 Scotland Road, Carnforth, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 35 Restaurants in Carnforth
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Amazing chinese take away, I'd love to add a review.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“a little gem in carnforth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Service was really good and the food was excellent
Its not a big place but very nice.
The take-away side was non stop so that tells you how good it is

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    8
    1
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good fresh food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Always use this chinese as the food it tasty and good quality 100% better than Red Luck that is just a few doors down which serves very old tasting burnt food China Essence is lovely to eat in or take away!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great 2 course deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We have eaten in and had takeaways regularly here and have never been let down. Last visit was the other night when we ate in off the 2 course for £8.95 menu. Service is always good with food to match. Top rate Chinese .

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, UK
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fabulous find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011 via mobile

Carnforth being the size it is doesn't offer much choice when it comes to restaurants however china essence was a wonderful find given dinner and drinks for 6 adults came to just over £100! The food was well cooked; service was enthusiastic and prompt. The food was tasty and probably some of the best Chinese our party had eaten!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Delicious! Highly recommended.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Took pot luck with choosing a take away while we were on holiday and struck gold!

This chinese is miles better than the local one we use at home - shame it is 5 hours away really!

All dishes we tried were well cooked and flavoursome. Not oily. Good portion sizes with nice quality meat. All food prepared to order by one guy in a small kitchen - great service which I think added to the excellent quality.

Would highly recommend you give this place a try.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Essence also viewed

 
Carnforth, Lancashire
Carnforth, Lancashire
 

Been to China Essence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China Essence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.