We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“magic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leighton Hall

Leighton Hall
Carnforth LA5 9ST, England
+44 1524 734474
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 9 Attractions in Carnforth
Type: Architectural Buildings, Gardens, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This romantic Gothic house is the lived in family home of the famous Gillow furniture making dynasty. Boasting unique, priceless pieces of Gillow furniture, Leighton's informal guided tours appeal to all ages. Outside the Hall are woodland walks, an abundant 19th century walled garden, herbaceous borders and roses, a fragrant herb patch and an ornamental vegetable plot. Every day at 3.30Pm (weather permitting), Falconer Jim Brown, gives flying displays with his birds of prey, where visitors get the chance to put on a glove and really get up close to these fantastic creatures.
barnoldswick
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“magic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

A wonderful experience. Great old building and lovely grounds. Very nice café if a little pricey. Overall a great day out. Also have a very nice garden centre.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    17
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

The hawk experience was bought for me as a gift and what an awesome experience it was. This is definitely a day I will never forget. The birds are beautiful, Jim the falconer was patient, knowledgable and a really great guy. Accompanying Hovis the Harris Hawk on a walk through the woods is something I will never forget, having him fly from tree to tree, just brilliant. One of my best days ever.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Be aware that the hall only open between 2-5pm May till September.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

It was a sunny day, we decided to take the children to the hall garden but when arrived about noon time, a sign at the entrance stated opens between 2-5pm today.
However, we managed to park the car near by and had a good hour woodland walk around the estate. Not a lot of people apart from a few dog walkers.
Will visit the hall again but will remember that the opening time.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hawk Walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Absolutely loved the day, the Hawk Walk is a fabulous experience and well worth the money.

Jim the falconer is not only very knowledgable about his birds and birds of prey in general, but an all round nice guy.

We will definitely be back soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Had a lovely tour and our tour guide was very knowledgable and added her own personal touch. It was fascinating and a pleasure to see. Lovely house and nice grounds.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leighton Hall also viewed

 
Chorley, Lancashire
Lancaster, Lancashire
 

Been to Leighton Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leighton Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.