We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad , but not 5 star.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tewitfield Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tewitfield Marina to your Saves list
Tewitfield Marina
5.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Chapel Lane, Carnforth LA6 1GS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“not bad , but not 5 star.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

nice apart/hotel, nice location, but the cleaning left a lot to be desired and spoilt the property, not enough towels for our party, the maid promised to bring some more and never did, when questioned said they had none, advertised free wifi but failed to mention you have to sit out on the balcony in all wether being bitten by flies and at night bats flying low also it was very intermittent, 4th bed room more like a cupboard not enough room to accomodate the basics like a wardrobe, wet room drainage not good so floor always wet when using the loo, to say it was advertised as 5 star there were stains all over the carpet and wall scratched, spiders all over the cealing, dirty windows, if the cleaning had been better it would have been very nice,
on the possitive side i think it would be a nice place to stay when its finished as at one end of the complex by the play area there is a building site, also apartment parking spaces should be numbered as people were parking anywhere and we couldnt park near our let if we came back late. the upstairs bathroom had an handle missing off the cupboard under the sink and a whopping big screw boldly sticking out of the bath panal, no vacing was done prior to our stay as there were bits under the beds, no locks on bathroom doors which was embarrasing due to mixed occupancy, motor way not a problem for us , the only reservations i have are mainly the cleanliness of the property and it shouldnt be rated 5, star IMO , i have stayed in better 3 star properties in my time, the owners should look at the cleaning of the apartments as it is being badly let down by this.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    38
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
48
31
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

The apartment was very modern, bright and spacious (the bedrooms were generous doubles) Open plan lounge/dining room/kitchen. Lovely situation next to the canal. Sure the marina is next to the motorway and the noise is noticeable when out walking but in our apartment at Swan House we weren't bothered at all by noise. The adjacent Longlands Hotel was very busy. We dined there one night and found the food to be excellent. It was a little bit pricey but better than just average pub fare. Plenty places to eat and things to do in the area. The canal is great for walking cycling and canoeing by and on.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holly0910uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

The complex is first class & appartments are mint everything you could wish for & more for self catering.Ryan the manager couldnt do enough for us & the very cosy hotel next door serves good ale.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

Stayed for 1 night in a 1 bed apartment. Spotlessly clean and comfortable. The M6 motorway is very close but we never noticed any noise and slept really well.
Longlands Hotel is next door and is very child & dog friendly, comfortable and serves decent food if a bit overpriced.
Lovely walk heading South along the canal from the Marina towards Carnforth and there is a very nice farm shop/garden centre just across the road from the marina that does a fantastic breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatcham, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

This is a lovely complex beside the marine and canal and the apartments have a high spec. The only trouble is, its too close to the M6. Its very noisy and can be seen clearly whilst walking along the canalside. It would be absolutely perfect it this was deep in the countryside. Great if you'r looking for a stopover though.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tewitfield Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tewitfield Marina

Address: Chapel Lane, Carnforth LA6 1GS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Carnforth
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Carnforth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Tewitfield Marina 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tewitfield Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tewitfield Marina Hotel Carnforth
Tewitfield Marina Carnforth, UK - United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tewitfield Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.