We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for getting about the Lakes or Yorkshire” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tewitfield Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tewitfield Marina to your Saves list
Tewitfield Marina
5.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Chapel Lane, Carnforth LA6 1GS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good location for getting about the Lakes or Yorkshire”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Very spacious, excellent comfortable beds and clean bedding and towels, bit to near the M6 no curtains so you will be a wake quite early in the summer months, Good value for money if you book on site rather than book with late booking sites.If there are any issues they will deal with these right away.
Domestic staff are excellent and cannot do enough for you me than we can say for the manageress as she was never in.
Would recommend the Mallard section as south facing, we had a four bed as we wanted space even though there was only the two of us and a dog. If you check out other places in the local area of Kirby Lonsdale like the Kings arms they charge £70.00 for a small one bed cottage and the copper kettle charge £50.00 which was old and outdated. You will see there is no comparison.

Room Tip: Four bedroom rooms where all spacious down stairs in car park area was a large on suite bedroom good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    39
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
50
36
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

If you don't mind the fact that you can see and hear the M6 from the cottages this is a lovely complex well placed for the South Lakes. There was actually something quite alluring about the peace of the barges, ducks and marina, with lorries and manic traffic running behind it. It is also handy and quick travelling with not many miles off the motorway. We had two cottages and found the equipment inconsistent between the two plus one had wi-fi and one didn't which was irritating. Good friendly pub on doorstep. We would go again if the price was right.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We tried to book a last minute break here, after seeing availability on line through agents and their own site saying enquire we rang. The girl did not know if their were any vacancies as they were busy?? She would ring back, when she did her prices were very different to those online and she could give no explanations the whole conversation was very difficult and in the end we gave up. Shame it looked very nice and we were quite keen to go but if its hard to book who can guess what would greet you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed in one of the cottages on the water as requested for 4 nights and it was amazing! The cottages themselves are beautiful, modern and spacious and come with everything you could possibly need! Everything about the cottage was excellent. Personal favourite was the stunning patio with furniture that overlooks the water and is about a foot away from it, With the sun beating down it was honestly like being abroad! Absolutely spotless on arrival not a spec of dust could be found.

The marina itself is beautiful with plenty of ducks for feeding and also pet friendly, we didn't take our four legged friend but was nice to see others around. The marina is perfectly placed for travelling all around the lakes, we managed to visit loads of places right out to the south of the lakes and even into Lancaster city centre for some excellent fine dining!

Pub and restaurant on site that does really good food and great for having a drink at the end off the night.

Could not have asked for more, really wish we could have stayed longer and we REALLY want to live there!

Will be definitely be going back again and again!

Room Tip: Apartments with balconies overlooking the marina are also available but if you book the cottage they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KUWAIT
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Excellent stay with family where is strategically located for the tourist places and different entertainment to enjoy with the kids.The place was quiet and luxurious residence, where available, and various amenities.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

What a wonderful place to stay. Booked as a last minute break and stumbled on the best accommodation I have ever found. Ideal place to stay for a visit to the south lakes. Well worth a visit, I will be going back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed at Tewitfield Marina for 4 nights, in Lapwing 4. In a lovely 1 bed apartment with outdoor balcony overlooking the marina. It was very clean, very modern- flat screen tv, all mod cons, wi-fi etc. The kitchen is very well equipped also.
The M6 is behind the apartments, which at first we were a little worried about with noise, but actually you dont notice it whilst in the apartment, noticed it a little when we sat out for breakfast on the balcony.
The apartments are situated about a 20 min drive from Morecambe bay, probably 40 min drive to Windermere, and we drove to Settle and Ingleborough cave in an hour, so it a perfect base for exploring Lancashire, North Yorks, and Lakes.
The marina has a pub/restaurant next to it - The longlands, which was nice for an evening meal and a drink, and a farm shop over the road and a small farm/play area.

All in all, a very good self catering apartment!
We will most definitely be staying here again in the future.

Room Tip: Choose a room opposite side to lapwing- they got the sun in evenings on their balconies!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tewitfield Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tewitfield Marina

Address: Chapel Lane, Carnforth LA6 1GS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Carnforth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Carnforth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Tewitfield Marina 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Tewitfield Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tewitfield Marina Hotel Carnforth
Tewitfield Marina Carnforth, UK - United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tewitfield Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.