We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Edelweiss

Cafe Edelweiss
Ashtrees Way, Carnforth, England
07929256096
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 39 Restaurants in Carnforth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

It is a good Cafe with tasty food. You can have a good laugh with some of the staff. With Geff the oldest worker rushing about we cal him speedy but I wish he would slow down.
Has you can tell been before and will keep coming back at least every month.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    14
    3
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Sehr guter Café zu Kaffee und Kuchen!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Have visited this establishment on many occasions, the most recent was today. The Austrians and Germans have a kind of afternoon tea called Kaffee ubd Kuchen (literally coffee and cake) which seems to happen around 2pm evey day.
Linda, the owner, makes all the cakes and torten herelf, and they are a delight. The ApfelStrudel is particularly good. The coffee is the best in the Carnforth / Lancaster / Morecambe area. The Gulashzuppe (goulash soup) is very good. And the prices are very reasonable.
I noticed the earlier comment about rude staff. I wonder what planet these people were on? The staff are universally helpful and friendly, and are invariably run off their feet because the place is so busy and popular.
Vielen dank Linda!
I live about 8 miles from the Edelweiss, but will readily pop up there for a meal.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Top Contributor
275 reviews 275 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
“Great little cafe with Austrian theme.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

This cafe is hidden away in between Booths supermarket and the Health Centre. It is a small cafe full of Austrian memorabilia, including cuckoo clocks which strike the hour at different times. We had afternoon tea and scones, which were freshly baked and delicious, and we could have chosen a number of tempting strudels and Austrian pastries. The place was packed- even the outdoor seats were all occupied on a warm November day.
A welcome refreshment stop and good value.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“its a must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

this cafe is a must if you like to try Austrian food, goulash is fantastic .various meals on menu. which are all freshly cooked by the owner Linda. lovely cakes on show, its a just got to sample one. staff are friendly and very helpfull. food served quickly and nicely presented. will definatly be calling in again.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Food Good but the staff are incredibly rude”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

We visited this cafe today and had a minor complaint (the vegetarian quiche had bacon in it). As soon as we brought this to the attention of the staff they started being very aggressive and rude. Then, when we had almost finished our meal, the manager came in and started an argument with us, saying there was no bacon in the quiche (which there definitely was) and accusing us of telling lies. The row continued for some time and we didn't seem to be able to get away. Funnily enough, someone heard us talking about it in a nearby supermarket and said 'Oh, you must have been to Edelweiss. The waitresses are very rude'. So we're obviously not the forst ones..
Take my advice - give it a miss.....

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Edelweiss also viewed

Carnforth, Lancashire
Carnforth, Lancashire
 
Carnforth, Lancashire
 

Been to Cafe Edelweiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Edelweiss, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.