We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful cosy weekend. Couldn't of asked for anything more!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Lake Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pine Lake Resort to your Saves list
Pine Lake Resort
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Dock Acres | Pine Lake, Carnforth LA6 1JZ, England   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2 Nights From Just £138
Warwickshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful cosy weekend. Couldn't of asked for anything more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in mid January for a weekend break. (Groupon deal) We had a 2bed refurbished lodge. The cabin was excellent and had everything you needed. The view of the lake was amazing. We used the swimming pool on site which was great and all facilities were spotlessly clean. We had a couple of drinks in the clubhouse and our daughter loved playing in the kids area. All staff were very friendly and we even had a call to the cabin on both days to ask if everything was ok. Overall we had a wonderful break.

The nearby village is lovely with a few shops to browse in. We had a fab Sunday carvery at one of the pubs before leaving. Morecambe bay is only a short drive too and well worth visiting.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Pine Lake Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review! We are happy that you had a pleasant stay at our apartment and found it well appointed and comfortable. We hope this is not your last visit at Pine Lake Resort and we are looking forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards
Angela Gallagher
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    136
    39
    12
    8
See reviews for
150
148
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We have recently come back from a 3 night stay at Pine Lake Resort and we really enjoyed it! We were not sure what to expect from the mixed reviews on here but we bought it through a groupon deal and over all we were really impressed, we originally booked a 2 night stay but we enjoyed it so much we booked another night.

Our Lodge was lovely, newly refurbished, with a lot of space and was really comfortable. The view was beautiful and made the stay worthwhile, waking up to ducks and swans is lovely!

The leisure centre was also great, the staff were lovely and really helpful, it included a beautiful pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi all overlooking the lake. I also paid for 3 mini treatments in the beauty salon and they were very enjoyable and the beautician was lovely, would definitely recommend booking a treatment or two!

We ate in the restaurant a few times and the staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was very nice. On the Tuesday we had a pizza and pasta night for £7 each and we really were not expecting much but the food was lovely and very fresh. There is a really good choice on the menu with reasonable prices and very big portions.

Overall it was really enjoyable and very relaxing and we would love to go again!

Room Tip: We were at the very top by the harbour which was a bit of walk but we enjoyed it, however, if you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

we have just returned from 3 nights here , 4 adults. The lodge was huge and would have been comfortable for 6 adults. The check in was quick and staff were pleasent,although didnt go out of their way to help when we asked about somewhere to eat as it was 9.15pm and the resturant shuts at 9pm, we googled and ordered from a local a pizza take away in carnforth which was delivered direct to our lodge door that was great.
We ate in the resturant on friday night as we planned to join the quiz in the bar, but our food took close to an hour to arrive so we missed it. The food was nice and reasonably priced the wait time was awful and the resturant wasnt even busy.Real shame as it was the only negative thing we had in the whole time we were here!!!
On Saturday we went to the pool and were pleasently surprised by the sauna and steam room as well as the jacuzzi. The facilites were lovely and clean , they are small so i would imagine in high season it would be cramped, But for us was lovely.
The views from the logde are fabulous, we were literally 2 meters off the lake the swans and geese came up to the patio if you sat outside, obviously expecting food.
we were told we werent in a refirbished lodge but we really couldnt fault it!! It was very very clean, only thing that would have been of benefit would have been the option to have a double in the room that has twin beds, it wasnt a major problem as we pushed the beds together but would have been a bonus.
We really liked this resort and it was very reasonable for 3 nights worked out around 45 each for 4 adults.We would definatly visit again in the summer with family and kids if the cost doesnt increase dramatically.

Room Tip: we were in lodge 47 , the lodges at the end of the lake away from the entrance are closer to the mot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spennymoor, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a two night stay here with another couple. On arrival we were unaware we were going to be asked for a £50 deposit secured on a card but it wasn't a problem for us but it could be for some people, also we were asked for our printed voucher for our free gift although on our confirmation it said we didn't need to print just show the voucher on our phone at reception on arrival, the staff on reception insisted that it was stated on our info but we still haven't seen this and there were at least three other different groups without a printout that thought you could show the voucher on your phone so obviously is not clearly stated! They did allow us to send a copy of the email to claim our gift. We thought the welcome at reception wasn't very friendly and that the staff were not very welcoming and that really we were putting them out by being there. Our lodge was very nice and was very homely and had everything we needed but we certainly would not return we think the resort facilities are overpriced and can't believe they charge for wifi access, that if you book a lodge you are charged a set price for electricity usage (surely it would be better to include this in the price). Reading the comments book in reception it appears some comments have been tampered with or tip exed out we can only assume these must be bad comments which is why we felt we couldn't leave our thoughts in there. Overall we loved the lodge and the views but once we stepped outside the lodge we couldn't find anything positive so if you are going to use this place as a base to explore the surrounding area it will be fine but if you are looking for a friendly welcome and intend spending time on the resort steer well clear!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Pine Lake Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We do regret to read that you had some difficulties whilst claiming you chocolates and champagne. We have discussed this with our reception team to ensure that a more understanding approach towards these guests who wish to email us the voucher will be taken. You have also mentioned the £50.00 security deposit requirement, the electricity and Wi-Fi charges; we would like to advise that details of those are available to our guest at the point of booking and on our website, however we will work with our reception team on communicating this information more efficiently.
We would like to take this opportunity and advise that on occasion some of our guests, or their children, do leave comments which are inappropriate, these we try to remove so that they do not offend the readers. However, we will rethink our manner of addressing this issue, thank you for bringing this to our attention.
We are sorry if any of the above has caused you any inconvenience and we thank you for our feedback. We hope that this has not marred your future dealings with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future

Kind regards
Angela Gallagher
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We recently stayed at Pine Lake 3rd/4th january with my parents as there xmas treat. We had a lovely refurbished lodge overlooking the lake (44). One night we stayed in and cooked in the lodge then the other night we ate in the restaurant. The food was excellent - much better than i expected, very reasonably priced and the bar area was very welcoming.
The place was very clean, we ued the swimming pool, sauna and steam room.
We booked it through a group on deal and we will certainly be looking at going again.
Thank you to all the staff

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heysham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I have points withDR and stayed on 2 occasions in December, the difference in the 2 lodges was massive, however I loved both stays.
We booked in for the Xmas week 19-26th Dec, the house keeping work hard, even got a call Xmas day! Really???
We decided to not cook and ate Xmas dinner at the restaurant, we were so impressed. I have already booked again or next Xmas and I won't be cooking!
It's a quiet location ( apart from M6).
Great location for lakes and motorway access
Only one complaint the beds are way to hard, in all the bedroom, even the kids were aching
Roll on next visit

Room Tip: Ask for modernised defo
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Pine Lake Resort, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for your review – we’re really glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at Pine Lake! We hope that we were able to provide you with a memorable Christmas break, and we’re pleased to read that you’ll be returning here this December!

We’re sorry to read your concerns about the beds, however. We want all our guests to have a relaxing time during their stay, and we encourage guests to speak to our front desk team if they have any concerns about their accommodation, as we’ll do everything we can to resolve things.

We hope this issue didn’t mar an otherwise enjoyable stay at Pine Lake, and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit!

Resort Manager
Angela Gallagher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

me and my husband stayed 2 nites 2/3rd jan lovely place and peacefull food nice pasta/pizza all u can eat was lovely 7.95 bar prices were a bit expensive 4.80 for pint and half lager, nice pool with sauna and steam room to use u can take your own towels or 1 pound for hire and 1 pound for locker also wi fi have to pay for i took my kobo tablet it was gunna be 6.50 a nite so didnt bother food expensive in small shop in hotel reception better off taking your own,

Room Tip: studios are near to reception area some road noise but not bothered
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pine Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Lake Resort

Address: Dock Acres | Pine Lake, Carnforth LA6 1JZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Carnforth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Carnforth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pine Lake Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named after the lake around which your Scandinavian style lodge can be found, Pine Lake is ideal for water sports enthusiasts. But there is so much more. The recreation complex is a great place to unwind, and the restaurant serves a tempting range of dishes from around the world. Away from the resort the glorious scenery of the nearby Lune Valley and Lake District can hardly be matched anywhere in England, and the Victorian seaside village of Arnside is a wonderful place to wile away a few hours and enjoy a traditional bag of fish and chips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pine Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Lake Hotel Carnforth
Pine Lake Resort Carnforth, UK - United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pine Lake Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.