We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lodge, shame about everything else!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Lake Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pine Lake Resort to your Saves list
Pine Lake Resort
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Dock Acres | Pine Lake, Carnforth LA6 1JZ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Spennymoor, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely lodge, shame about everything else!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a two night stay here with another couple. On arrival we were unaware we were going to be asked for a £50 deposit secured on a card but it wasn't a problem for us but it could be for some people, also we were asked for our printed voucher for our free gift although on our confirmation it said we didn't need to print just show the voucher on our phone at reception on arrival, the staff on reception insisted that it was stated on our info but we still haven't seen this and there were at least three other different groups without a printout that thought you could show the voucher on your phone so obviously is not clearly stated! They did allow us to send a copy of the email to claim our gift. We thought the welcome at reception wasn't very friendly and that the staff were not very welcoming and that really we were putting them out by being there. Our lodge was very nice and was very homely and had everything we needed but we certainly would not return we think the resort facilities are overpriced and can't believe they charge for wifi access, that if you book a lodge you are charged a set price for electricity usage (surely it would be better to include this in the price). Reading the comments book in reception it appears some comments have been tampered with or tip exed out we can only assume these must be bad comments which is why we felt we couldn't leave our thoughts in there. Overall we loved the lodge and the views but once we stepped outside the lodge we couldn't find anything positive so if you are going to use this place as a base to explore the surrounding area it will be fine but if you are looking for a friendly welcome and intend spending time on the resort steer well clear!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Pine Lake Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We do regret to read that you had some difficulties whilst claiming you chocolates and champagne. We have discussed this with our reception team to ensure that a more understanding approach towards these guests who wish to email us the voucher will be taken. You have also mentioned the £50.00 security deposit requirement, the electricity and Wi-Fi charges; we would like to advise that details of those are available to our guest at the point of booking and on our website, however we will work with our reception team on communicating this information more efficiently.
We would like to take this opportunity and advise that on occasion some of our guests, or their children, do leave comments which are inappropriate, these we try to remove so that they do not offend the readers. However, we will rethink our manner of addressing this issue, thank you for bringing this to our attention.
We are sorry if any of the above has caused you any inconvenience and we thank you for our feedback. We hope that this has not marred your future dealings with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future

Kind regards
Angela Gallagher
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    164
    42
    13
    8
See reviews for
172
186
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We recently stayed at Pine Lake 3rd/4th january with my parents as there xmas treat. We had a lovely refurbished lodge overlooking the lake (44). One night we stayed in and cooked in the lodge then the other night we ate in the restaurant. The food was excellent - much better than i expected, very reasonably priced and the bar area was very welcoming.
The place was very clean, we ued the swimming pool, sauna and steam room.
We booked it through a group on deal and we will certainly be looking at going again.
Thank you to all the staff

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heysham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I have points withDR and stayed on 2 occasions in December, the difference in the 2 lodges was massive, however I loved both stays.
We booked in for the Xmas week 19-26th Dec, the house keeping work hard, even got a call Xmas day! Really???
We decided to not cook and ate Xmas dinner at the restaurant, we were so impressed. I have already booked again or next Xmas and I won't be cooking!
It's a quiet location ( apart from M6).
Great location for lakes and motorway access
Only one complaint the beds are way to hard, in all the bedroom, even the kids were aching
Roll on next visit

Room Tip: Ask for modernised defo
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Pine Lake Resort, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for your review – we’re really glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at Pine Lake! We hope that we were able to provide you with a memorable Christmas break, and we’re pleased to read that you’ll be returning here this December!

We’re sorry to read your concerns about the beds, however. We want all our guests to have a relaxing time during their stay, and we encourage guests to speak to our front desk team if they have any concerns about their accommodation, as we’ll do everything we can to resolve things.

We hope this issue didn’t mar an otherwise enjoyable stay at Pine Lake, and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit!

Resort Manager
Angela Gallagher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

me and my husband stayed 2 nites 2/3rd jan lovely place and peacefull food nice pasta/pizza all u can eat was lovely 7.95 bar prices were a bit expensive 4.80 for pint and half lager, nice pool with sauna and steam room to use u can take your own towels or 1 pound for hire and 1 pound for locker also wi fi have to pay for i took my kobo tablet it was gunna be 6.50 a nite so didnt bother food expensive in small shop in hotel reception better off taking your own,

Room Tip: studios are near to reception area some road noise but not bothered
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We were very fortunate to spend our new year in a warm, cosy log cabin at Pine Lakes! Our lodge (251) was lovely and although not directly on the lake we wer only 20seconds away.
The kids loved the pool and the play area in the complex was great so we could enjoy a relaxing drink!
We ventured outside at midnight and were delighted to see fireworks over the lake, with such a clear, still night we couldn't have asked for more! :o)
We were using this break as a trial run for a weekend i've booked in July with friends and after our experience I cant wait to return and feel very confident in telling everyone what a great time we'll have!
Well done Pine Lakes :o)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Pine Lake Resort, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
We’re delighted to read that you had a great time at Pine Lake over New Year – thank you for your review! We hope that your stay next summer is as memorable and enjoyable as this break was, and we look forward to seeing you again!

Resort Manager
Angela Gallagher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Had a short three day break over Christmas. The point of our stay was to chill and relax. This was achieved. Clean, well presented lodge with all the amenities we needed. We only really digressed with reception and bar staff but both were a pleasent experience. It served our purpose for a quiet short break over the festive period. We shall be back for a more active break

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Pine Lake Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts. It is important to us to know that our guests find our resort comfortable and relaxing-thank you! We are pleased to read that you may be visiting us again, we are looking forward to seeing you in the future!

Kind regards
Angela Gallagher
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

We arrived after dark with two very tired young children so we didn't get to see much when we got there. In the morning, we realised that we had no view from our lodge and having a proper look round it came apparent after reading trip adviser comments that we were not in a refurbished lodge. The kitchen was very old, grim and needed replacing. Some of the crockery had stains left from the dish washer on them and the lodge was all pretty tired. The lodge was warm, yet very basic. It looked NOTHING like the photos on the website. You can hear the drone of the motorway constantly along with trains speeding past.
Being left felt very disappointed I contacted reception and aired my thoughts and requested to be moved. I was told "you should have requested a refurbished lodge and no you can't be moved as Saturdays are our busiest days of the week" She also added "next time you need to ask" If I had known I could have had a refurbished lodge i would have asked for one and no, there will not be a next time. Surely everyone wants a refurbished lodge, so why do you have to ask for one??!! I'm hardly going to request to stay in a grim tired one am I! Very disappointed, we will NOT be returning.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Pine Lake Resort, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are truly sorry to hear that you have not been fully satisfied with your stay at Pine Lake Resort. We would like to take this opportunity and advise that our lodges are currently being refurbished, however as we are trying to keep the resort operational, we are only able to work on few lodges simultaneously. We regret that on this occasion you have stayed in a lodge scheduled for refurbishment; however we would like to advise that we do believe these are suitable for guest occupation and are indeed occupied every week with very few issues raised. Nevertheless, we of course sincerely apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused.
We would also like to respectfully note that although we do recommend placing a request for a refurbished lodge at the time of booking; unfortunately we may not always be able to fulfil such a request as all accommodation is subject to availability.
With reference to the traffic issue mentioned by you, as we hope you may appreciate, Pine Lake Resort is en route to the popular destination of the Lake District and some traffic may be experienced on the nearby road during weekends. It is unusual for this to cause much disturbance but we do apologise should there be any. We wish you all the best for your future travels.

Kind regards
Angela Gallagher
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pine Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Lake Resort

Address: Dock Acres | Pine Lake, Carnforth LA6 1JZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Carnforth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Carnforth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pine Lake Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named after the lake around which your Scandinavian style lodge can be found, Pine Lake is ideal for water sports enthusiasts. But there is so much more. The recreation complex is a great place to unwind, and the restaurant serves a tempting range of dishes from around the world. Away from the resort the glorious scenery of the nearby Lune Valley and Lake District can hardly be matched anywhere in England, and the Victorian seaside village of Arnside is a wonderful place to wile away a few hours and enjoy a traditional bag of fish and chips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Pine Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Lake Hotel Carnforth
Pine Lake Resort Carnforth, UK - United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pine Lake Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.