We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pine Lake - Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Lake Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pine Lake Resort to your Saves list
Pine Lake Resort
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Dock Acres | Pine Lake, Carnforth LA6 1JZ, England   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2 Nights From Just £138
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Pine Lake - Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Totally fabulous log cabins set round a private lake. There is an indoor pool and pleanty of activities on the lake. Cabins are clean spacious and over all very well equipped. The restuarant is delightful with a good range of dishes to suit everyone.

Pine lake acts as a super base for touring the Lake District and surrounding areas. It is a short drive to Blackpool for example if the kids want to visit the Pleasure Beach.

All in all a great relaxing place to stay and beautiful to boot. :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Pine Lake Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
We’re really glad that you had a great time at Pine Lake – thank you for your review! We strive to provide our guests with an excellent holiday experience, and we’re delighted to read that your stay was an enjoyable one.

We hope that you’ll choose to come back here for another holiday, and we look forward to seeing you again!

Resort Manager
Louisa Herrero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    136
    39
    12
    8
See reviews for
150
148
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Comrie, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

As a member of Diamond Resorts we had read some of the bad reviews left by other folk and were somewhat nervous about our stay. We shouldn't have been, from our arrival to our last day we can't complain. The staff have been welcoming and friendly yet not intrusive. Our lodge very comfortable and clean. Claire the beautician was most accommodating changing my appointment last minute for me at my request. My treatments were enjoyable and Claire was very personable, helpful and gave good professional advice. Being owners in the US we aren't used to paying for electricity but found it to be very reasonable compared to some other UK resorts we have stayed at. We enjoyed the evening entertainment on a couple of nights. Despite being out of season the staff did a great job with a few laughs which was great. No complaints what so ever. We will definitely re-visit should availability come along. Many thanks to ALL the resort staff - Your doing a great job !!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Pine Lake Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for this review! We’re really glad that you chose to stay at Pine Lake, and we’re delighted that you had a great time here! We hold our staff to an extremely high standard of service, and we’re pleased to read that they were able to provide you with all the information and assistance you needed during your stay.

We understand the importance of highlighting any extra charges that our guests may incur, and details of the utility charges at Pine Lake can be found on the resort’s Fact Sheet on our website. We recommend that all guests check this prior to arrival, as it contains a lot of useful information about the resort and the surrounding area.

We hope that you’ll get the opportunity to return here for another holiday, and we look forward to being of service to you again!

Resort Manager
Louisa Herrero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Standish, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Just stayed this weekend for 3 nights with family. This is a very nice resort with lovely views of the lake (not all lodges have ) and a good quality lodge. Lodges are very good with fully equiped kitchen (dishwasher etc), ours had 2 bedrooms, bathroom ,patio doors and balcony.
Swimming pool on site plus clubhouse with bar /restaurant.
Independent water sports centre on lake with water skiing etc.
One question I would ask is why place rubbish bins in direct line of view of the lake, not many like that but does spoil the view.
A good place for a relaxing few days

Room Tip: Lodges on same side as water sports centre seem to have better views of lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Pine Lake Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your review – we’re really glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Pine Lake Resort!

We appreciate your concerns about the rubbish bins at Pine Lake – we’ll be reviewing the waste disposal service at the resort with an eye to providing more recycling facilities for our guests, and we’ll consider alternative locations for the bins at that point.

Resort Manager
Louisa Herrero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I have just visited pine lake resort using the groupon deal with my partner and our friends, another couple. I had seen a few photos online before we arrived and it looked lovely.We were all impressed with the standards of accommodation on arrival. The lodges were very modern and clean, very spacious and well equipped for self catering. Chocolates and champagne on arrival was a special touch. The view was amazing across the lake from our lodge. The motorway was close by but I didn't notice any noise at all. We saw a few people taking part in water sports on the lake but we didn't do this. We did use the tennis courts, swimming pool, crazy golf course (could do with updating but fine as an extra thing to do) and games room. Everything was free which made it a cheap weekend with lots to do. Drinks at the bar were not more expensive than anywhere else for drinks. There is a little shop onsite which was useful for milk and little things (although we were given tea, coffee and milk on arrival). Although we did not need disabled access to the lodge, I did notice how well equiped all the areas were for this, eg to the pool, parking, etc. We had lovely weather but would love to visit again in the winter, bet it would be beautiful there. Staff were very friendly and helpful, we asked the reception for a takeaway number and were given a list of different types of takeaway, phone numbers and details of which would deliver to our lodge. Amazing value for money, hopefully a simliar deal will come up again :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Pine Lake Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review! We’re really glad to read that you had a great time at Pine Lake, and that our staff were able to provide you with all the help and information you required during your stay.

We hope that you’ll come back to visit us again!

Resort Manager
Louisa Herrero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I arrived at Pine Lake yesterday for just 1 day. I was on an outdoor course with Outward Bound, which Rolls-Royce sent us on and Pine Lake was one of the places we visited. We visited the Lake for some water sports and teamwork activities.

The Canoeing instructors were very professional, relaxed and knowledgable.
We also did some raft building and then had a race in the water which was great fun...

We found all staff around to be friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I booked this through a groupon deal-I hadn't planned to go away but as the price was so cheap I decided I would go away with the girls for a girly weekend and to be honest didn't expect much. However....we arrived on Friday night to find a gorgeous lodge that looked like it had just been renovated-immaculately clean and freshly decorated. We went down to the main area and had a game of cash bingo which was good fun-4x 25 year old girls!

On the Saturday we went for a run around the lake and then headed down to the pool and used the steam room and sauna before going to the seaside festival in Morecambe. We took all of our food down and ate each day on the terrace which was nice with the view of the lake-the kitchen was well equipped (including bottle cooler and coffee maker).

On the Sunday we headed into Windemere for the day which was lovely and would highly recommend-gorgeous cafes/restaurants and individual shops.

Great fun was had by all and I would definately recommend pinelake resort!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Pine Lake Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your review – we’re really glad that you decided to visit the Pine Lake Resort, and we’re delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay!

We hope that you’ll choose to return here, and we look forward to being of service to you again.

Resort Manager
Louisa Herrero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is the second time we have visited Pine Lakes, and we will be visiting again in the future. The comments that people make about the M6 seem way over the top, as both times, we have been on the 'M6 side', and this was no bother whatsoever. Our children enjoyed the facilities on site, playing tennis, table tennis and enjoying the pool. We also took a couple of kayaks out onto the water via the water sports centre, and that was a good laugh! The break, both times, has been a good relax and we would recommend it to anyone...

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pine Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Lake Resort

Address: Dock Acres | Pine Lake, Carnforth LA6 1JZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Carnforth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Carnforth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pine Lake Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named after the lake around which your Scandinavian style lodge can be found, Pine Lake is ideal for water sports enthusiasts. But there is so much more. The recreation complex is a great place to unwind, and the restaurant serves a tempting range of dishes from around the world. Away from the resort the glorious scenery of the nearby Lune Valley and Lake District can hardly be matched anywhere in England, and the Victorian seaside village of Arnside is a wonderful place to wile away a few hours and enjoy a traditional bag of fish and chips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pine Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Lake Hotel Carnforth
Pine Lake Resort Carnforth, UK - United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pine Lake Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.