We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and peaceful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Martin Lane Farm Holiday Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burscough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Martin Lane Farm Holiday Cottages
Save
You added Martin Lane Farm Holiday Cottages to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Cottage   |   5 Martin Lane | Lancashire, Burscough, Ormskirk L40 8JH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Derby
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable and peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

As a family of four adults, we found this accommodation very warm, comfortable and so peaceful. The beds were very comfortable, with crisp linen. Two of our company were involved in golfing activities, there being a plethora of renowned clubs in the area known as the 'English Golf Coast'. The two older members were entertained with a delightful visit to Rufford Old Hall and a very enjoyable day sunning ourselves on the beach at Formby Point - not what you expect in September!
The cottages proved to be an excellent centre from which to access these activities.
We plan to return for further golfing holidays.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
9
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Our family stayed in The Granary (5 adults) for a week over christmas and we had a lovely time. The cottage was decorated with tasteful christmas decorations inside and out. It was warm, clean, comfortable, well equipped and accommodated us all very well. We had visitors on christmas day and was able to cook for seven, Elaine and her husband were very helpful.
The cottage is in a quiet locaton with a nice pub just 10 minutes walk away. Burscough with its newly refurbished wharf is a short car ride away and the seaside town of Southport about a 10 minute ride.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Myself, my husband and 2 year old son stayed in "The Granary" in June 2011. The house was very spacious, and accommodated numerous visitors during the week of our stay. Unfortunately the weather was not great while we were in Burscough, however the living area was big enough to not feel cramped with a toddler to entertain.
When we did have good weather, the chickens, sheep and old farm equipment in the barn were great entertainment for our son. We also enjoyed the farm shop nearby, as well as food in the Farmers Arms, which was just around the corner.
We would also like to thank Elaine for returning "Cuddles" to us......our sons favourite bedtime toy was accidentally left behind, and Elaine ensured it was returned to us as quickly as possible.
We will definitely return to this area and hope to have many more family holidays in the Granary in the future,

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

Very well equipted, spotless, cosy, good layout, very comfortable bed and nice bed linen, ideal location for us.
The only extra thing that would have been of benifit for us would be a stair gate at the top of the stairs as we have a toddler, (but we did know that there was not one when we booked).

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

My collegues and I spent a week in 'The Shippon' - a lovely cottage that was very well - equipped and very comfortable. We were made to feel extremely welcome by the owners and were especially grateful that they accommodated our large company vehicle in an easy-access location. My collegues and I were working long hours and it was nice to return each evening to a warm, cosy environment.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

We used the cottage as a base for visiting excellent local nature reserves such as WWT Martin Mere and Mere Sands Wood that are a short distance away. The cottage (The Dairy) was one of 3 converted farm buildings around the farm's cobbled courtyard. Their barn had nesting Barn Owls and Little Owls and the owners Alan and Elaine were quite happy for us to wander about the orchard and paddock and see the pigs, sheep and other farm animals. They were very friendly and welcoming.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

Our 10-day stay in the Dairy Cottage at the Martin Lane Farmhouse Holiday Cottages was excellent. The cottage itself had all the amenities that we needed and then some. The value-to-price ratio was strongly positive.

The location is a bit out of the way in relation to major roads. You will need a car. But the A59 is a ten minute drive away and the railway station in Ormskirk only about fifteen minutes away (and from there a half hour train ride into Liverpool). The compensation of being in the countryside is the rural quiet and charm--without (so far as we could tell in May) some of the usual rural nuisances and smells. We were surprised and pleased to find that there were so many respectable places to eat in the surrounding countryside. Our favorites were the canal-side pubs. The Leeds and Liverpool Canal is a five minute walk from the farm and once on the canal towpath you can walk for miles in either direction. Sublime!

The hosts, Elaine and Alan, could not have been more helpful--in fact, the way that they helped us to do the sorts of things that we wanted to do really enahnced the value of our trip significantly. We were especially impressed by their aesthetic sense and the way that they have creatively integrated the natural with the manmade. The entire farm really shows an expressive "love of place."

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Martin Lane Farm Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin Lane Farm Holiday Cottages

Address: 5 Martin Lane | Lancashire, Burscough, Ormskirk L40 8JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Ormskirk > Burscough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Burscough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Martin Lane Farm Holiday Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four delightful, award winning, country cottages in Lancashire. Nestling in the rich arable farmland of West Lancashire between the beautiful seaside resort of Southport and the bustling market town of Ormskirk.The cottages, ranging in size and character, have been expertly converted from former farm buildings. The Stable has been specially designed to be fully accessible for guests with all disabilities, it is bright and spacious. All the cottages are fully equipped with every modern convenience yet still retain lots of the original features.The area is ideal for walking & cycling and being only 2 miles from the Wildfowl & Wetlands Trust at Martin Mere, it's a bird watchers paradise. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martin Lane Farm Holiday Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.