We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place an lovley owners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heskin Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burscough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Heskin Farm
Save
You added Heskin Farm to your Saves list
School Lane, Burscough, Ormskirk, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Burscough B&B and Inns
liverpool
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great place an lovley owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

i stayed here last night what a lovley place an the owners were lovley i went on a night out an when i asked about taxis home charlotte (owner)said if you ring here my husband will come an get you they couldnt do enough!! breakfast was lovley the room was lovley bed was comfy will be taking my husband for a night there in the near future

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    10
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
17
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

The owners are great and the breakfast was excellent. The room was slightly odd, but the children loved being in under the eaves in their own little room off the main room. It's cheap and cheerful; pretty good value for a night or two.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

We stayed at heskin Farm for one night last weekend while visiting our daughter who now works in Ormskirk.The rooms are very nice and the Breakfast is really excellent-We will stay again soon.

Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

We were surprised to find we had a double with a twin off the side which was lovely and spacious. The bed was comfortable and the decor was nice enough. However, it was right next to the entrance so there was noise from people traipsing in and out all the time, and I mean every 5 mins! The other thing was, I recommend they put a no smoking sign outside the entrance as people were forever going out for a smoke, with the front entrance door propped open our room stank!

The other thing was the walls are paper thin, I could hear someone snoring from across the corridor, voices from the room below and the people in the adjacent room had their telly on ALL night! Despite the fact their were notices in the rooms to switch off after 11pm. I don't suppose it's the fault of the B&B but their were people parking up outside till the wee hours and drunk guests coming back at 1 in the morning. So I got very little sleep.

Breakfast is a strange arrangement, everyone in together with the hosts cooking breakfast, as a vegetarian I wasn't given any options at all, so I just had toast (although I did see someone else had a boiled egg I didn't like to ask, they should tell you what they have!) However, all that aside, it's a lovely looking place, the walk along the nearby canal is lovely and it was only £50 so can't expect 5*.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

We stayed at this wonderful B & B at the end of February. We were welcomed by the owners who could not do enough for us. Even to the extent where we had bought a takeaway and the owner made us a pot of tea. Breakfast too was fantastic. We would certainly return to this b & b without a doubt and have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

I visited Heskin Farm in the summer of 2009 and when we arrived i was impresssed with how beautiful the gardens and building was. It gave a very good first impression and we were welcomed by the owner in their very large kitchin. We where showed to our room and i was shocked at the size of it as i dont think the photo's on the website does it justice. The room was very large with 2 beds and bathroom, it was very clean and the bed was really soft. We only stayed there for the weekend but I would love to stay there again, we have plans to visit again this year because it's very close to liverpool and southport and i would like to spend a bit more time by the sea and escape from city life once more! :)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

I stayed at Heskin farm for 14 weeks during a summer placement with Pilkingtons Glass Plc. the guest house is family run and very friendly. check in ran quite smoothly and I was directed to a massive onsuite room. Throughout my stay here I did stay in different rooms, there is a mix of availability, single with shared bath room right through to family rooms. all the rooms were clean and were equipped with plenty of storage space and a TV. The rooms were tidied daily.
Breakfast at the guest house was fantastic, there was a choice of serials, fresh coffeee tea and juice. freshly cooked breakfasts were always available too, everything from beans on toast through to a full english breakfast. For pilkington employees there was also an evening home cooked meal, this was a range of traditional english meals and was always fantastic (usually this was only done in the summer months).
The location of the guest house was ideal for commute to the pilkington technology centre which was only a 10minute drive. The guest house is close to major cities such as manchester and liverpool (about 40mins) and is surrounded by beautiful countryside and great pubs.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heskin Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heskin Farm

Address: School Lane, Burscough, Ormskirk, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Ormskirk > Burscough
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Burscough
Number of rooms: 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heskin Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.